Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
stars
4,944 ratings
619 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with data. You will learn about location data and different location data providers, such as Foursquare. You will learn how to make RESTful API calls to the Foursquare API to retrieve data about venues in different neighborhoods around the world. You will also learn how to be creative in situations where data are not readily available by scraping web data and parsing HTML code. You will utilize Python and its pandas library to manipulate data, which will help you refine your skills for exploring and analyzing data. Finally, you will be required to use the Folium library to great maps of geospatial data and to communicate your results and findings. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

LD
Oct 23, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

SG
Mar 3, 2020

Very good capstone project. Learnt lot of insights on how to represent data through out this course.\n\nVery good starting point for ""Data Science" field. I would definitely recommend this course.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 616 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By Shane W

Nov 18, 2020

The capstone content needs to be thoroughly edited for clarity, especially in the instructions on what exactly the instructors are looking for in the final deliverables. Some of the peer-reviewers seem to be confused, and I'll admit I was a little confused myself reading through the instructions the first time.

By Bart F

Oct 9, 2020

The final capstone felt like a mis-match with the previous 3 courses of the specialization. The capstone was also the final project for other specialization which would explain the mis-match.

Even though I learned a lot, it wasn't entirely clear what was actually required from me.

By Isaac S

Jul 28, 2020

This course is ok. Not too challenging and not too easy. It definitely needs an update. Things have changed over the last couple of years and it appears that the course developers have not made an update since 2018. WIth a refresh this course will be a 5 star course for sure.

By Jennifer C N

Aug 16, 2020

Labs could be improved verifying all the commands work well. Videos could be improved make them more informative as in other Data Science courses part of the Specialization. Many things are left to the labs without sufficient previous explanation.

By Aman R

Jun 23, 2020

The challenges presented have been really good however I'd reccomend that the prceding modules be evaluated for the changes that have come in over the years,maybe lay more emphasis on 'what is used more frequently' in a real life situation !!

By Sokob C

Jul 28, 2020

This course was extremely difficult and it took me the longest. There were errors in the lab so I could not finish any of the labs, but I had asked for help and the response for help was very poor for the lab or for the assignment.

By Oliver E A B

Mar 25, 2020

It is good because you get to know many tools to get data and it has very good examples of how a project should look, but i think this is a project that must not be reviewed by other students, so we get useful feedback.

By Sisir K

Apr 21, 2019

Very challenging. A lot of the things you have to do in the final project are things you must figure out on your own, since they're not explained in any previous lessons.

By Anna K

Oct 8, 2020

A challenging Capstone project with many dimensions. The structure of the previous courses in the certification could have been improved to build up to this project.

By Mohammad Q

Sep 2, 2019

This course is about applying what you learn on a free form project.. but you should use Foursquare API which it might be challenging little bit to deal with..

By Oscar C C

Jun 15, 2020

There are some errors in the instructions labs, in forums is the way you can get help, but it it necessary to modify the code in the examples.

By Jianfeng Z

Nov 2, 2020

Good practical lesson. However the learning curve is too steep compare to the other courses in this certificate.

By Apurv G

Apr 5, 2020

Great capstone project. But forced to do the same project. It would be better to get more choices of projects.

By Piotr M

Jun 11, 2020

I didn't like that we had to use Foursquare — I could not come up with anything interesting.

By Siddhant S

Apr 1, 2020

The difficulty could be increased and the scope of topics covered could be wider.

By Mbongeni N M

Feb 13, 2019

The instructor of the capstone saved this specialization for me.

By Ozkan K

Sep 15, 2019

I did not find the project relevant to the rest of the course

By Rosana R

Nov 11, 2020

It is difficult. I will like more support from the teachers.

By Alberto I A

Dec 23, 2019

Broken links in samples and csv data files.

By Charles J

May 3, 2020

some lab codes cannot run smoothly

By Abdul M A

Sep 25, 2019

very vague with the information

By Amey S P

Feb 11, 2020

It is good for beginners.

By Akshay I

Jul 25, 2020

Hardness Level High

By 赵圆方

Mar 16, 2019

really difficult

By Pablo D B

Jul 30, 2019

It would have been better if the assignment were split on previous courses. IMHO, this course was way longer than the other courses of the specialization