Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
2,000 ratings
184 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with data. You will learn about location data and different location data providers, such as Foursquare. You will learn how to make RESTful API calls to the Foursquare API to retrieve data about venues in different neighborhoods around the world. You will also learn how to be creative in situations where data are not readily available by scraping web data and parsing HTML code. You will utilize Python and its pandas library to manipulate data, which will help you refine your skills for exploring and analyzing data. Finally, you will be required to use the Folium library to great maps of geospatial data and to communicate your results and findings. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

YS

Jul 10, 2019

This course is instructive and challenging at the same time. Now I do wish I know a bit more about python and pandas before I jump in this course. But in the end I managed to get through.

TH

Jul 10, 2019

This is a great course and lots of fun. But it is a big commitment and you need to take it seriously. To get the most out of this course you will need to spend at least 30 hours doing it.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 188 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By P M N

Jul 15, 2019

Thank You

By Чернова И Р

Jul 19, 2019

It was hard work but great experience

By Nur C N

Jul 23, 2019

This course is really good and give enough challenge on the final project, especially on how to get data from multiple sources: scraping data from web, call APIs, and visualize it on map after call the clustering algorithm. I like the way we should prepare all material to complete the course like visual presentation with slide/blog post, report, and share the code in GitHub. Really glad I take all these 9 courses, can't wait to take other specialization course.

By Arunjith M

Jul 28, 2019

This is where you apply what you learned. I must say it is challenging, interesting and absolutely great. !!

By Demetrius M

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great for testing all of the knowledge acquired throughout the Program and providing a good start to a professional portfolio of projects.

By Liliana R

Jul 31, 2019

the capstone depends of the person, for me was difficult but at the end I learned a lot

By Mostafa A A

Aug 01, 2019

Very professional

By Akshay B

Aug 03, 2019

Great course to get hands-on experience on complete data science methodology!

By Lipin A

Aug 03, 2019

I had to use almost all my skills I have obtained during IBM certification course. It was extremely useful and I feel now my skills enhanced.

By Chung-Han L

Aug 06, 2019

Good course. I learned much by running this project.

By Ankit M

Aug 07, 2019

completing the Capstone project makes you eligible to handle any data science project

By Farai M

Aug 07, 2019

Great hands on course which gives a solid foundation to enthusiastic data scientists

By Rohan B

Aug 08, 2019

Lets you do the actual work of working on something you like with all the tools this course has equipped you with in previous courses.

By Lam C V D

Aug 16, 2019

I considered the project Advanced level for a beginner in Data Science

By Alexey R

May 22, 2019

A worthy finale! The capstone problem statement encourages creativity and requires good understanding of various parts of the specialization.

By Dhananjay V

May 31, 2019

Very Good Course content

By Hadi S

Jun 14, 2019

This course gave me a great opportunity to work on a practical case study involving data wrangling and predictive modeling.

By Satya V P C

Aug 17, 2019

Very good that, This modules makes the preparer to learn and practically implement the concepts what is learned in the last 8 modules.

This is very helpful.

By Sheen D

Aug 18, 2019

It is nice to put all the learning into test, work on some creative project.

By Shirley C

Aug 17, 2019

Intense and very rewarding at the end of hard work :-)

By Phạm T S

Sep 11, 2019

This is the hardest course when getting the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate

By Maureen R

Sep 11, 2019

It was worth it!

By Rakesh P

Aug 23, 2019

Very engaging course

By OSF G S

Sep 13, 2019

Awesome!

By Hari K G

Sep 12, 2019

This is wonderful platform for enthusiastic Data Scientists aspirants to learn sophisticated empirical analysis to understand and make predictions about complex systems. Demonstrated methods and tooling from probability and statistics, mathematics, and computer science and primarily focus on extracting insights from data.

ThankYou

Hari Kumar G