Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
6,498 ratings

About the Course

This is the final course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate as well as the Applied Data Science with Python Specialization. This capstone project course will give you the chance to practice the work that data scientists do in real life when working with datasets. In this course you will assume the role of a Data Scientist working for a startup intending to compete with SpaceX, and in the process follow the Data Science methodology involving data collection, data wrangling, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, model development, model evaluation, and reporting your results to stakeholders. You will be tasked with predicting if the first stage of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will land successfully. With the help of your Data Science findings and models, the competing startup you have been hired by can make more informed bids against SpaceX for a rocket launch. In this course, there will not be much new learning, instead you’ll focus on hands-on work to demonstrate and apply what you have learnt in previous courses. By successfully completing this Capstone you will have added a project to your data science and machine learning portfolio to showcase to employers....

Top reviews

LD

Oct 23, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

OM

Feb 27, 2023

The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate is a very good course. lam glad to have covered the course with the help of Coursera. I will put to use all concepts learnt in this Data Science series.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 893 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By Brian B

Dec 30, 2020

Thorough exercising of everything learned in the courses that lead up to this final capstone project. Python data structures, absorbing files, machine learning, visualizations, and other essential aspects of data science.

By Rhisa A P

Mar 7, 2023

Dengan mengikuti kelas ini, saya mengerti tentang hal yang berkaitan dengan data science, dan menyelesaikan kasus yang nyata pada bidang ini. Tools yang digunakan juga bagus dan mudah dipelajari. Terima kasih Coursera <3

By Sergey Z

Sep 20, 2022

It was excellent learning experience, enjoyed all the challanges this cource provides. Hope to move forward with all the knowledge is gained through this cource. Thank you Courcera, IBM Data Science and all instructors.

By Shepherd M

Jul 12, 2020

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about data science or tools used in data science, it was easy to understand and follow while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

By Oliver L

Jan 22, 2022

Excellent introduction to methodolgy, tools, and technology. If you are considering a BSc or MSc you might want to take this course as a good preview to find out if the field of data science is the right thing for you.

By Xiaolin Z

Apr 28, 2019

This capstone project is challenge and fun. You are going to use what you have learned to complete an anlysis of a topic. What is more meaningful thing is that you can learn from others by reading their report and code.

By Luis A A

Aug 27, 2021

Very good module to put in practice everything that has been learned on the previous IBM Data Science courses by creating a custom project, developing a Python notebook and elaborating a report and presentation or blog

By Ka M W

May 3, 2020

Great course. Capstone project courses always sounds intimidating. Nevertheless with the first three weeks with some practices and guidance, it made the final project exercise very much enjoyable. Highly recommended

By Bhavesh G

Apr 9, 2020

I learn lot many new things during this course to complete my capstone project. I specially thanks to Instructor Alex Aklson, who taught location based API i.e. foursquare, neighborhood segmentation and clustering.

By Antonio S

Mar 30, 2020

Great course! A few suggestions to improve might be: make sure the labs.cognitiveclass notebook page work - it's had had problems for weeks; some of the exercise notebooks from the IBM authors have blatant typos.

By Mike B

Mar 4, 2023

Some of the deliverables were difficult to produce but overall the capstone project was very thorough, and satisfied a lot of the needed skills required to produce a full-stack data science project/presentation.

By Anson L

Nov 14, 2021

Very practical python coding task, the capstone project is fun and hard, the whole certificate is really tested us the required skill to be a data scientist, recommend to anyone want to challenge themselves.

By Amit A

Nov 18, 2019

I am glad to have taken up this course and it was very well crafted assignment that allows you to use your skills from pandas, data visualization, Foursquare API and machine learning algorithms to name a few.

By Sergei M

Jul 9, 2019

Excellent course that at the same time provides rich set of tools to get insights from raw data and also stimulate to learn a bunch of additional methods and techniques to make this capstone project perfect!

By Aastha M

Nov 22, 2020

This course helped me to apply the Data Science learnings which I learnt throughout the course. Thank you Coursera and IBM for providing such a wonderful opportunity and helping me enhance my skill set.

By Abhishek P G

Jul 7, 2020

Thank you for this course. I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks.

JR

By Overs M

Feb 28, 2023

The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate is a very good course. lam glad to have covered the course with the help of Coursera. I will put to use all concepts learnt in this Data Science series.

By JUAN S M P

Aug 23, 2020

Great course ! Although it was the most difficult one for me, I enjoyed to much putting all pieces together to solve a problem in the real world ! Thank you very much to the professor an to IBM !

By Franco M V

Jun 8, 2020

Incredible experience! It was a project where we were encourage to apply all the knowledge we learn through the entire programe. This kind of projects make the learning process so enjoyable!

By Aniruddh M

Aug 9, 2020

This course gives a good overall exposure, in terms of providing the freedom to choose your own set of tasks and explore things on your own, just like any real life projects. I enjoyed it!

By Tsungai J M

Jan 16, 2020

Very challenging but truly rewarding. I learnt a lot through the mistakes I made throughout the project but there is a lot of support on the forum and the internet to help with any issue.

By Ted H

Jul 9, 2019

This is a great course and lots of fun. But it is a big commitment and you need to take it seriously. To get the most out of this course you will need to spend at least 30 hours doing it.

By serge f

Aug 9, 2022

Cours très pratique. Il a fait une synthèse de tout ce que vous avez appris au cours de la formation Applied Data Science et vous montre comment présenter les résultats de vos analyses.

By AKPAN, G E

Feb 9, 2020

What a wonderful way to complete the '9 courses' IBM Data Science Professional Certificate training! Applied Data Science Capstone is the best way to delve into professional experience.

By Robert W

Mar 23, 2022

An excellent course! Requires you to bring together a large part of the material learned in previous courses.

Furthermore, adds new skills like creating a presentation using PowerPoint.