Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore by Google AR & VR

4.5
stars
2,681 ratings
803 reviews

About the Course

This class will teach you the fundamentals of augmented reality (AR), and how to build an AR experience using ARCore. Through the four week course, you'll learn: - How to identify different types of AR experiences - Tools and platforms used in the AR landscape - What makes AR feel "real" - Popular use cases for AR - How to create an AR use flow - How AR experiences work - Tools like Google Poly and Unity to build AR experiences - Next steps to start building an AR experience using ARCore and other tools This course will break down complex AR concepts to make them easy to understand, while also sharing expert tips and knowledge from Daydream's ARCore team. The course is great for beginners who are just getting started with AR or ARCore....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 27, 2020

This is a great course especially for a newbie to know the overview of AR and ARCore. This also can help expand the knowledge on how to use AR in better ways which are not solely for entertainment.

MM
May 5, 2020

It is a very good course for understanding the basics and fundamentals of AR and ARCore. It gives the learner a good knowledge about all Hardware and software, related to AR and its development.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 799 Reviews for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

By Ashok R

May 10, 2020

tq

By VIGNESH S

May 10, 2020

tq

By MD. R A

Oct 27, 2019

5*

By Peer M A

Oct 9, 2018

NA

By Arul M

Jun 29, 2020

N

By Cleo Q

Nov 8, 2018

G

By Preeti K

Oct 3, 2018

G

By Jiesang A

Aug 31, 2018

This is a very fast-paced course that leaves you no time at all to get bored. Most lectures are less than a minute long and gets directly to the point, and I feel that I have gotten a great idea of the theory and basics of Augmented Reality.

The only problem is the lecturer in module 4, who speaks very quickly with a heavy accent. I had to watch her videos over and over again as I had trouble understanding her, and it is evident I am not the only one because of the many captioning mistakes made by the subtitler.

The other lecturers are very good at their jobs and know how to make a lecture interesting. I wish every lecturer were as cool and hip as they were.

By Arihant C

Aug 27, 2020

A good introductory level course into the field of AR. As a CS undergraduate already somewhat familiar with Machine Learning and Computer Graphics concepts, I was blown away by the inter-sectional use cases that I could dream up in the first couple of weeks other than what's already been done in the field. Could have been more hands-on, especially when talking about the unity pipeline, but again as an introductory course it was well above what I expected. I especially like how the videos were made short and concise as I was already familiar with most of the concepts and they were instrumental in livening up my experience.

By AYUSHMAN S

Apr 11, 2020

This course describes a fair approach to Augmented Reality and AR core with suitable one minute videos and conveniently placed subtitles to the bottom of each. The initial parts were perhaps more promising than the somewhat unevenly paced additions later on, particularly in week 4's content where the instructor's explanation wasn't nearly as effective in contrast to the rest. A particular SDK reading material felt a bit too heavily lined up compared to the smoother explanations of everything else. Introductory wise,it holds up the most part.

By Hrishikesh A

Jun 30, 2018

While the course gave a good overview about AR from a beginners perspective it seemed to become overly complex in Week 4. From someone who knows a bit about AR, this course was too simplistic till Week 3 and then did not give enough information in Week 4. A few practical examples would have helped here. A few videos about Blocks and Sceneform usage would have added much more value. Some of the transcript had very obvious errors. Week 4 seemed unplanned and repeated quite a few things from earlier weeks.

By Deepak R D

Sep 20, 2020

The course is a great beginning for anyone is interested in getting to know the AR technology and also for someone who wants to work in AR technology.

I personally was into know the AR technology and the course served its purpose, the content of the course was done well and the delivery of the lecture was also good by the presenter.

I would highly recommend this to people who want to begin with their career in AR.

By Daksh S

Jun 29, 2018

I was hoping for a more technical introduction to ARCore. Specially the differences between version 1 and 2. Albeit, this was clearly mentioned in the introduction. The course was a good insight into the technicalities and concepts for developing AR applications. It would serve as a guide for the first attempts at building AR applications. I'm ready to dive into more technical overviews now.

By Danella Y

Apr 22, 2019

For someone exploring the technology of augmented reality, this was a great introductory course. Everything from the segmentation of the weeks, breakdown of topics, the length of the videos, to the written material had just enough detail to give me a good foundation. I can now have an educated conversation with someone on the topic as I look into the business opportunities with AR.

By Aditya K

Nov 2, 2018

This is a perfect course for someone wanting to learn about the basics of Augmented Reality. It also includes design aspects, challenges, and points to remember while creating an AR app. Being a course from Google, it does showcase some apps that Google has in this sphere. Overall, time well spent and looking forward to learn more about this exciting field.

By Rhuta J

Jun 25, 2020

This is a great course to get introduced to AR and ARCore. While this is a good course, learners should be aware that it is theoretical and there is no hands-on project work included in this course. Understanding AR and ARCore would have been more interesting with a guided project or hands-on assignments in AR application development using Android Studio.

By Raghvendra J

Dec 25, 2018

This course is good to get an Intro to AR. The course does not review existing apps that have been popular, next steps in development of ARCore, other rival frameworks and learning resources. I am somewhat disappointed as I still have to figure out what to refer for developing an actual AR App. Can I use Flutter framework or not or how to etc.

By WAN N M W M

Sep 18, 2020

Pretty good for beginners who want to know more about Augmented Reality. The course is a bit too short for my liking but considering that AR is still pretty new in its technological advancements, I can see why that would be the case. More research needs to be done to improve this profound technology in order to optimize its capabilities.

By Aniket K

Sep 27, 2020

It would've been better if it included some Sceneform workflow, however, it is no longer in development, and the course includes an example of Sceneform version 1.15, which is having problems with Android studio versions 3.6+ And SFA and SFB workflow is deprecated. So, the only practical section given in week 4 is rendered useless.

By Damián F O

Sep 16, 2020

Como su título indica, es un curso introductorio a los conceptos básico sobre los que se fundamenta la realidad aumentada y te presenta lo que puedes llegar a hacer con ARCore de Google. Aunque hace poco acaban de lanzar la app "ARCore Elements" con la que puedes experimentar en AR todo lo que te puede aportar ARCore

By Sylvan S

Feb 22, 2021

This couse mainly introduces those techinical terms of AR technology and ARCore, it does not cover hands-on teaching of how to make AR. Overall I think it is a good course, it both expands and deepens my understanding to AR.

However, I hope the teaching material can be presented more than just in video format.

By Terry J

Oct 19, 2019

Very insightful, the information that was provided gave details that was easy to understand, however, through continuous repetitions it will become more easier in terms of creating files, the interface of ARcore , placing 3D objects in files to create AR. I look forward to using the software in the future !

By Daria K

Oct 8, 2018

Nice overview for beginners. I wish I've taken this course before diving into more technical ones. If you already tried writing an AR app this course would be too basic. But it still links great resources: I haven't known about Poly before and I watched several I/O talks linked here.

By Rosalyn B

Aug 10, 2018

I thought this course would include practice, not only concepts. But still, I learned that AR is more than displaying a simple object; it's a deeper concept that includes the knowledge of the surroundings and how to optimize it in a level to make it almost real. Thank you!

By ADITYA S K

Sep 25, 2020

The basics were explained well in this course. It's really helpful for the novices (Rather, even for people who don't have the slightest clue about AR).

The only complaint being that the syllabus could have been greater. That would provide one with a stronger base.