Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore by Google AR & VR

4.5
stars
2,638 ratings
792 reviews

About the Course

This class will teach you the fundamentals of augmented reality (AR), and how to build an AR experience using ARCore. Through the four week course, you'll learn: - How to identify different types of AR experiences - Tools and platforms used in the AR landscape - What makes AR feel "real" - Popular use cases for AR - How to create an AR use flow - How AR experiences work - Tools like Google Poly and Unity to build AR experiences - Next steps to start building an AR experience using ARCore and other tools This course will break down complex AR concepts to make them easy to understand, while also sharing expert tips and knowledge from Daydream's ARCore team. The course is great for beginners who are just getting started with AR or ARCore....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 27, 2020

This is a great course especially for a newbie to know the overview of AR and ARCore. This also can help expand the knowledge on how to use AR in better ways which are not solely for entertainment.

MM
May 5, 2020

It is a very good course for understanding the basics and fundamentals of AR and ARCore. It gives the learner a good knowledge about all Hardware and software, related to AR and its development.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 788 Reviews for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

By Chhail B D

May 18, 2020

need to convert theory into video

By Lampela J

Dec 26, 2019

Not as demanding as a hoped for.

By Bhond P

May 19, 2019

talk is cheap show me the code

By Mukul K S

Jul 21, 2019

No implementation is taught

By Antonio M J M

Jun 30, 2018

The course is very basic.

By Chandan N

May 20, 2019

too less information

By Sumit A

Jun 28, 2018

Very basic course.

By Giada B

Mar 11, 2019

Less practices.

By Patrick O

Jun 17, 2020

Bit light.

By Eugeny Y

Sep 11, 2018

too easy

By Andreas J

Aug 2, 2018

It is intended to be a basic course, but the actual contents are still underwhelming. The videos sum up to just a few minutes in total. A few paragraphs of text to read are indicated with 20 mins of required time. So in total, you won't need 4 weeks to complete the course, but rather 1h. The actual information is accurate and good, but should still go more into the depth for some topics. Also the video snippets that should showcase what the instructors are explaining are often not really accurate. They show a few generic ARCore apps over and over, and not always the specific issues or facts the instructor is explaining at that moment. So in general, the course is OK if you have never heard of AR before. But I doubt that purchasing a certificate is worth it for the tiny amount of content available.

By connie s

Apr 28, 2020

For a beginner, this was far too technical for me. However, I did get some things out of it. I was able to get some basic terminology of the industry out of this for one. I agree with some of the poor reviews in that if this was an ad for ARCore (and it was), they should have shown more of the code to operate ARCore. One very BIG problem I had with the course, on Week 4 of the program the video presenter accent was so heavy, I could not understand her in the video. You need to replace her. I'm not sure what her first language is, but she would be better served to you if you let her speak in her own language with a presentation meant for her native tongue.

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2018

This is ONLY useful for complete newbies to the field: it doesn't give any knowledge on how to program stuff or on the mathematics behind the extended reality, but it just presents on a high level which are the tools used (or recommended by Google). Unfortunately to me the course was useless, but this doesn't mean it's the same for other people so, again, follow it only if completely new to the topic.

By Hiromi K

Dec 23, 2020

This course does not take four weeks. It probably only takes more like 4 hours. This is just very basic concept about Augmented Reality, and there are no hands-on projects. You don't get to build an app or anything like that. I just audited the course and I am glad I didn't pay for this class. I almost gave 1 star, but maybe my expectation was too high for this class.

By Srijan V

Jul 21, 2020

this is just a course to get theoretical knowledge and nothing to learn skill wise, its just tell you some terminologies and names of some useful software but at the end of this course don't expect to learn even basics of those software just names and what they do, So it was not that useful plus the course was really easy and didn't pose a challenge

By Alexander L

Sep 16, 2019

This course introduce very basic terminology of AR, without deep dive in each topic. I suggest to add more details and examples in each topic, and even include some code samples.

Video sometimes not relevant to the discussed items, and same video examples repeated over and over again.

Too much focus and promotion of Google services in the course quiz.

By Megan P

Aug 31, 2018

This course really is just an introduction. I was expecting some tutorials for creating AR apps, but I'm no closer to knowing where to start than I was yesterday. Which brings me to my other point: there's only about an hour or so of material here. At least I didn't waste too much time. Maybe in the future there will be more added to this course?

By Wing N

Feb 27, 2019

Good intro to theories, but almost zero implementation. Great that it is in bite size chunks with quizzes to help retention of information. However, the Information is rather repetitive, transcript did not get QA'ed. Can be a lot shorter than the current length.

By Ravi B C

Aug 2, 2020

Although the course provides good introductory knowledge to the terminology and basic practices used in AR app development, the course never moves beyond a superficial discussion of AR and AR apps.

By Dimitrios K

Oct 17, 2020

Good introduction for the most basic concepts. However not really useful on how to start implementing an application. It would be more useful to add a simple application development example.

By Michael V

Jul 12, 2018

Not much information in here. Many videos about a topic are less than a minute long. Lots of Google promotion speak.

By julien s

Jun 29, 2018

This is really just a basic introduction to the AR concepts, if you really know nothing about it.

By Syed M H

May 26, 2020

the concepts are defined well, but I was looking forward to start learning to code using ARcore

By Mauricio F R

Oct 29, 2019

This course does not show you how to build one AR project. The videos were extremely short.