Chevron Left
Back to Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah by Yeshiva University

4.5
stars
107 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

The Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah explores one of the most significant Roman monuments to survive from antiquity, from the perspectives of Roman, Jewish and later Christian history and art. The Arch of Titus commemorates the destruction of Jerusalem by the emperor Titus in 70 CE, an event of pivotal importance for the history of the Roman Empire, of Judaism, of Christianity and of modern nationalism. Together with your guide, Professor Steven Fine, you will examine ancient texts and artifacts, gaining skills as a historian as you explore the continuing significance of the Arch of Titus from antiquity to the very present. Course members will accompany Professor Fine on virtual "fieldtrips" to museums and historical sites in Los Angeles and New York where you will "meet" curators, scholars and artists. You will attend an academic colloquium and even "participate" in office hours. Students will participate in the latest advancement in the study of the Arch - the restoration of its original colors. You will learn how color was used in Roman antiquity and apply that knowledge to complete your own 'color restoration' of the Arch of Titus menorah relief....

Top reviews

RS
Aug 22, 2016

I rate this course as excellent. It was fascinating and I enjoyed the detailed study. I also enjoyed the beautiful filming of the various locations and especially the Arch of Titus itself

DS
Feb 2, 2020

Arch of Titus give me deeper understanding about Roman architecture, Hebrew historical and sociological context after the destruction of Jerusalem circa 70 AD

Filter by:

26 - 36 of 36 Reviews for Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah

By Alison U

Feb 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. It both further my reading and knowledge in some areas, while introducing new topics to me that I'd not yet encountered.

My only problem was with the final assignment - it does not do justice to the topic of the final week, which is the issue of colour on ancient monuments (in particular the arch, of course) and the implications of colour on composition and on later perceptions of antiquity. The assignment itself did not give me an opportunity to really explore these issues.

By Michelle R

May 31, 2017

A brilliant and fantastic course for anyone who enjoys history.

Professor Steven Fines has a great teaching ability about him, I really enjoyed listening and watching his enthusiasm on the topic.

The reason I only gave 4 star instead of 5 is quite an insignificant reason really but it is because any close up camera action was not the best quality.

I can not fault any of Professor Fines work, he's ability to explain and capture the essence is refreshing. Thank you very much.

By Emily M

Jul 1, 2016

This wasn't quite what I expected. A lot of the "lectures" were very repetitive, which was annoying. However, I learned a lot and enjoyed the assignments. The Arch of Titus Project sounds really interesting and I'm looking forward to their next findings!

By Leonidas T

Feb 13, 2016

It was a very interesting, insightful and enjoyable course. A lesson of history which I wasn't consider like that before. The passion of Pr. Steven Fine was obvious and strong. Thank you for the opportunity to learn from you.

By Rahul R

Apr 22, 2016

Historically the basic background have been discussed. Effort was to make it nationalistic and emotional.

Significance of Menorah as a symbol is absolutely missing. All the emphasis was on the Arch but the Arch looses its very significance without the menorah. So this should be covered or shared properly. For example Questions like why 7 hands needs to be replied. Why 3 legs needs to be replied

Why painting ? This learning was not supposed to be in it. Someone might or might not like painting as a concept to learn and the course title also gave no indication towards that.. Wrong to make it a mandatory part as an assignment.

By Anne A

Aug 12, 2016

I didn't really feel that there was enough material here to make a six-week course, so that there was a great deal of repetition, and very little context of the Roman period.

By YURI D L P

Feb 21, 2016

The last assignment is a time-waster and really poorly designed. Not all adults are into coloring; this is not elementary school and what's the point of coloring a picture of the Arch for you? Frankly I can't be bothered to look up sources for the descriptions of Roman soldiers' attire, and especially to figure what each number is pointing to. It wasn't even always clear what the numbers on the template referred to and two of the numbers were missing. In addition, there were a lot of glitches with the grading software. Finally our questions were almost never answered. Otherwise I found this to be an interesting course and I learned quite a bit from it, although it could have been condensed into three or four classes at the very most. The video lectures were videotaped a bit strangely, with Professor Fine often seeming to talk to an invisible person on the right or the left of the camera, instead of at the viewer. The videos I liked were mostly the office hours ones and the one with the interview with Rabbi Elliot Cosgrove at Park Avenue Synagogue. I could have gotten a very good grade on this course, but the last assignment ruined that. No, I will not be recommending this course or any others by this Professor.

By Leticia L

Jul 11, 2017

too religiuos for me, but the same curse with another point of view would be perfect

By Cristina M i P

Jan 15, 2016

Too many generalities and roundabouts and little real detail.

By Kimiko G

Dec 10, 2016

Closed world view

By Robert K

Jan 7, 2017

Very disappointing course. Far too much repetition. A lot of opinion based on scant evidence. It would have been much better as a 30 minute video without all the fluff and unsubstantiated inferences. I would not recommend this course.