Chevron Left
Back to Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
478 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top reviews

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 107 Reviews for Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

By Inga B H

May 06, 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

By Mandy S

Jun 19, 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

By Chris P

May 22, 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

By Matthew A

Nov 27, 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

By Vangel V

Jul 27, 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

By Deleted A

Nov 01, 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

By Francisco J J

May 24, 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

By Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

By Linda

Apr 26, 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

By Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

By Camilo A G R

Mar 11, 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

By Хан Е И

Feb 27, 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

By Serena S

Jan 12, 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

By Olivia R

Jun 20, 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

By Antonia Y

Mar 07, 2016

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

By Dimitris S

Nov 30, 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

By Xuanyi L

Aug 04, 2019

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

By Kenny S

Feb 03, 2018

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

By Dimitris P

Oct 13, 2016

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

By Erica

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

By ABELARDO S B S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

By Felipe P d C R

Jun 14, 2016

A fantastic course, simple, high-level and didactic, rare thing to see. congratulations!

By Feng L Y

Jul 21, 2016

I like the quiz between subjects in every video courses. It is really interesting.

By Ravitte K

Nov 01, 2016

Well done and thought provoking. Only good things to say about the professor.

By Deleted A

Apr 16, 2016

This is one of my top three favorite courses I've taken on Coursera so far!