Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,353 ratings

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

DG

Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

RN

Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 308 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Emma P

Jul 21, 2020

Really interesting and accessible content, and the optional interviews with museum staff are so useful. The only barrier I faced in this course was the quality of English in quiz questions which made it difficult at times to understand what I was being asked.

By Gabriella A

Aug 15, 2021

it was really useful to repeat all the themes that i already studied during my master degree in this way, of course to be able to manage all of them u need to focus more on each but it was really really useful and rich of beautiful testimonials.

By veraliu1997@gmail.com

Apr 28, 2021

I think this course is a very good introductory course for beginners with no prior experience like me. I've learned many new concepts. I would like to know though how these management concepts may be applied in real life.

By kawah r

May 26, 2020

very condensed with useful information. But the content drew mostly on the cases in and around Europe or better to say in Italy. Wish there are more hands on case studies and examples from other part of the world.

By India S

May 14, 2017

This course gives a very interesting overview of art and heritage management. It is not necessary to have any knowledge on the subject before hand as everything is explained simply and many examples are provided.

By CAROLE M S

Mar 7, 2019

Je pense avoir acquis une vision pertinente de la fonction de manager en Institution Culturelle, ainsi que de nombreux outils et pistes de réflexion à mettre en pratique sur le terrain.

By Marcela S T

Jun 3, 2020

It is good for newbies... very basic stuff but gives you an overall of the challenges that cultural institutions face. Focused 90% on museums if you are interested in other arts.

By Kristen M

Oct 7, 2020

I have learned a lot from the discussions and essays by my coursemates. The videos and readings were very informative.

Quizzes were subjective so I will be giving 4 stars.

By Dina T

Aug 29, 2019

Very good course, gives a global understanding to the management of cultural heritage .

very much recommended for people working in the museums and heritage institutions.

By Sabrina S

May 12, 2017

Overall very helpful and interesting! Some lectures were a little brief, for example the whole CRM part, which seemed worth more attention. But as an overview, very good.

By Nicole T

Feb 3, 2021

It will be great if the course also provides topics financial management in arts like budgeting, phasing, compiling financial reports and fundraising report etc.

By maria s

Jan 16, 2021

This was a very good course that provides both the theory and the practice of cultural management. I have enjoyed the course very much.

By Laura P

Mar 18, 2022

Interesting course, a bit simplicistic sometimes but in a general way very useful for people that don't usually work with management

By Luv S

Aug 22, 2023

NICE COURSE BASICALLY TO UNDERSTAND THE BASIC WORKING OF MUSEUM, THE RELATION BETWEEN THE MUSEUM AND THE PUBLIC.

By Agnese N

Oct 14, 2021

Such an inspiring course! I enjoyed so much the interviews with experts in the cultural and heritage sector.

By Sohini G

Nov 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, as I learnt and explored new facets of Art and Heritage Management.

By Mirza M M

May 23, 2024

pudo haber sido menos repetitivo, pero me encanto todo el contenido, con ejemplos y de calidad

By Eva P

Jun 3, 2024

El curso está muy bien, pero como es de hace unos años, se ha quedado un poquito obsoleto

By Manya J

Sep 4, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, very informative . I loved solving the quiz.

By MS. S S

Aug 11, 2020

Its really great Experience with the Arts and Heritage Management Course

By Sandra D

Dec 2, 2022

Very good and informative, with plenty of examples! Really enjoyed it!

By Jake M V G

Aug 29, 2020

Very good, more related to the administration than to the art itself.

By Vaishnavi V G

Dec 27, 2020

The course was great and informative!

Thank you.

By Chan J

Jun 14, 2017

nil