Chevron Left
Back to Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions by Google

4.7
stars
30,768 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the first course of this certificate program. The material will help you learn how to ask effective questions, make data-driven decisions, and meet stakeholders’ needs. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analytics tasks. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Learn about effective questioning techniques that can help guide analysis. - Gain an understanding of data-driven decision-making and how data analysts present findings. - Explore a variety of real-world business scenarios as an example of questioning and decision-making. - Discover how and why spreadsheets are an important tool for data analysts. - Examine the key ideas associated with structured thinking and how they can help analysts better understand problems and develop solutions. - Learn strategies for managing the expectations of stakeholders while establishing clear communication with a data analytics team to achieve business objectives....

Top reviews

GP

Oct 10, 2022

Información muy útil, es muy importante educarnos en cuanto a saber como comunicarnos ya que muchas veces es lo que mas se nos llega a complicar, saber como cuestionar y como presentar la información.

SO

May 30, 2022

The Skill of asking the right questions is usually very underrated and many people just overlook it. That's why I'm appreciative of google for teaching this core skill and making it super interesting.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 4,807 Reviews for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

By Kevin S

Nov 3, 2021

Actually, i am a new to this sort of data analytics from the scratch. The reason for this courses was that i wanted to know a whole process from the start no matter what roles we are involved in the data analysis. I would say the "Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions" course is the most impressive and make me more robust before starting off projects moving forward. To be honest, i wasn't able to catch up with what context in a course mean and see a whole forests in the process of the course. However, i practiced what i had learned over and over so that as taking steps, i became as much understanding of context of ASK phase and importance of it in an initial state as repeated it.

Above all, for the instructors who lead us to the right direction, i appreciate them and many many thanks and back to them whenever i want to review or see them.

Bye,

Kevin Song

By Dinuka H

Nov 8, 2023

Asking questions is an essential part of making data-driven decisions. It's the process of inquiry that leads to a deeper understanding of the situation or problem at hand. Effective questions help define the scope of the issue, identify relevant data sources, and pinpoint key performance indicators (KPIs) that need measurement. They also guide the collection of data and shape the analysis process. The right questions, formulated thoughtfully, can uncover patterns, trends, and insights within the data, empowering decision-makers to make informed and strategic choices. In essence, questions drive the entire data analysis and decision-making process by ensuring that the right data is collected and interpreted to address the specific issue at hand. So I strongly recommend this course for people who with thirsty about data analytics !!

By Yahya M A S

Aug 7, 2022

This course hase changed my way of thinking about data, we used to deal with data as it ready in our hands but, we have never thought of asking questions to get the most out of the data in our hand, or asking questions to learn more about the conditions which may effect our data,questions to discover relationships and correlations in the data. my thought after I start the course was about questioning the data to get answers, but I found that, in real live the questioning start from asking the stakeholders and problem owners to understand the problem well and to meet the stakeholder expectations, and the asking habit keeps moving with you alonge side of all data analytics phases with different goals to be accomplished in each phase, Many thanks to Ximena for her simply way of teaching, which made it understood to me very well

By Manoj K M

Sep 7, 2022

Second course of the Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate. It was great for most parts, especially for the professional skills related to communication, conflict handling etc. Spreadsheets related course was basic and i guess it will be taught in future courses (as part of the certification), as far as i read. I would have preferred more videos on spreadsheets with examples of key functions used. As for this course, lot of links towards reading materials (a big thumbs up BUT should have been like a small chapter in this course - spreadsheets key functions, for example). The instructor, Ximena was great and videos were crisp and to the point. Cheers.

By Tracey

Jan 16, 2022

I absolutely love the diversity in the presenters for each of these courses in the program. The presenters were very knowledgeable but were excellent in breaking down the information in a beginner-friendly manner. There was so much content, but possible to learn and understand. I really loved the interactive lessons that gave the learner the plenty opportunity to practice the new content within each lesson. I really enjoyed this program that helped me to learn what I needed to learn without feeling overwhelmed. It was also extremely helpful that the design of the new information was always presented in a manner that real-world applications.

By Nolan D

Apr 3, 2021

I appreciated how this program walked you through the specifics of spreadsheets etc, but I wish, at some points during the spreadsheet learning, they would explain exactly what each aspect of functions do. For example there's was a qwiklab that had me enter something like =vlookup(h3,{A$1:A$20,F$1:F$20},2,0). After following instructions and getting the answer I still was confused how where got there, I didn't know what the "$" meant, and I had no clue where the 2, and 0 came from or what they meant. Overall I learned an INCREDIBLE amount from this course and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more about data analytics

By Kapil C

Jul 9, 2021

A great course to understand "how to ask a question?" Well I think the processes explained here about asking question is not limited for data analysis but I think these are equally important for resolving any issue in our professional as well as personal life. The way you ask the question will definitely help you to find a great solution for any of you problems. Team building, working under pressure, meeting deadlines all these aspects are beautifully explained which will be very useful once we start our real professional journey of data analysis, well again I think this aspects are equally important for any other professions.

By Amandeep S

Apr 22, 2024

This course clears the foundation , it is really beginner friendly and the instructors are really amazing , the in video questions as well as the reading material are the great source of learning , self reflection and discussion forums worked for me , i really enjoy to learn as well as reflect from what i have learned so far , completing this religiously gives me the sheer confidence while framing questions and understanding and identifying problem and solution for complicated business problems, thank you Ximena, for all your efforts to share such an amazing course module for us learners all over the globe.

By Amritha S

Dec 17, 2023

I enjoyed this course a lot. This course is giving a clear idea about how to ask right question , which is a very strong element in data analysis. The course also discuss about how to tackle and respond to various scenarios that might encounter in a real life analyst job. But i found its not only a scenario for analyst but also for every professionals in corporate. I really got excited when they suggested data set and various free softwires and tools to tryout and gain experience on data analysis . This course is not only teaching Data analysis but also providing insights to build a portfolio.

By Clint D

Aug 29, 2023

This 4-week course taught me a whole lot more than I expected to learn. From identifying effective questions using the SMART methodology to using spreadsheets. It taught me how to identify quantitative and qualitative data. How to identify stakeholders within a company and resolve and avoid conflicts. It provided insight into how to use practical tools such as a scope of work to effectively communicate and prevent misunderstandings with stakeholders and focus on the objective. Using structured thinking, the importance of context, problem domains and so much more!

I look forward to learning more!

By Marc G

Feb 2, 2024

Google's courses are superb! I have taken several on Coursera from IBM, especially in Data Science, and honestly, they are nothing compared to Google's. It's no wonder Google is the leader in their industry. All the content adds and builds on each other so you really understand the importance of asking good questions in order to begin your Data Analysis journey. They even give you questions to think about throughout the whole process. Also, every interview, every quiz, project, everything on this course really solidifies the understanding and learning. Great course! Thanks Google.

By Stephen L

Apr 12, 2023

i enjoyed the Analytical approach taken around this module and the best practices of getting the right answers. The pace is not too fast but one area of improvement is:

some of the learning points can be merged into one segment instead of breaking up too refinely. For example, I think the excel portion comprises of some basic 101 stuff (attributes adjustments etc.) which can be streamlined further into a "refresher" type of segment. More focus can then be on analyzing and focusing on the interpretation learning.

perhaps you can can gather more "data" to validate this suggestion?

=)

By Muhammad T K

Jul 1, 2023

Since this was a beginner's course, it was very beneficial to anyone who is just starting out in the professional world and data analysis altogether, but not for anyone who is in higher education and has a general sense of data analysis.

I would recommend to the higher education students to take the speed track right away (if you pass the Diagnostic Test), as this course covers introductory aspects of data analysis, spreadsheets and communication. Just doing the Practice Quizzes (based on Test your knowledge on...), the Weekly Challenges and the Course Challenge will suffice.

By Leonardo R C

Mar 10, 2022

I consider the theme of this second course "Ask questions to make decisions based on data" sufficiently complete, very well structured and deepening on the concepts of the program. Like the previous course, the participation of the facilitators is developed in a very pleasant and friendly way and the instruction aids used are very illustrative. I am also very grateful for the financial aid that they gave me to complete this second course and I would like it to be extended so that I can complete the next courses of the program. Sincerely, thank you very much.

By Oscar A

May 24, 2021

This course gives a very comprehensive foundation on the soft skills that are required to a Data Analyst. Quite frequently new learners focus only on the hard skills, how many softwares they know, level of fluency in programming languages, etc. However what really makes someone stands apart from the croud, is a very good set of soft skills. Improment on the communications skills, confict resolution (or avoidance), priorization of work are definitely must-have skills that every company values. This course gives a very good foundation on all these factors.

By Robert M

Jul 7, 2022

Since i already spent over 30 years as an analyst, a lot of this course was more of a review. However, it was a great to be reminded of all the basics and how they play a most important part in data analysis. I'm glad I took this course. I highly recommend it to anyone but especially those are looking to reinstate, or reinvent, their role(s) in data analysis.

I did get a little tripped up over qualitative versus quantitive, however, it was no fault of the course. It was just me switching the definitions of them when answering the course questions.

By Luis S

Feb 7, 2022

The course is intense, it prepares you to recognize problems, recognize the power and limits of data and see when data becomes significant. In addition, you learn data sheets, basics and develop metrics. With structured thinking, a scope of work is created, always trying to be objective with the data. In addition, we work with the parties interested in the project, we learn to generate trust and be able to communicate clearly. To finish the course, it prepares you to write emails and to attend face-to-face or virtual professional meetings.

By Michelle H

Jul 29, 2021

The instructor presents information in a well organized manner and her communication style is enjoyable. I value the organization of the course to rotate topics in a manner that engages alternative areas of the brain, such as a module focused on techical spreadsheets followed by a module focusing on team communication & collaboration skills. This allows me to utilize one type of left-side thinking, and then engage in another type of right-side creativity - which increases the ability to learn and absorb informaiton for myself.

By Ebenezer N M

Aug 25, 2022

I have really learned a lot about reframing questions and using quantitative and qualitative data. The most impressive part was the errors in excel, I have seen most of them all the time but never understood what they meant and this course has explained it and taught me how to deal with errors. I have also picked out the skill of reading aloud and it's helping me through this course.

Thanks to the Facilitator as well. Her clear speech and her excitement kept the class lively. Hope to enjoy the next lesson. Thank Google.

By Rafael G R

Sep 1, 2022

This course is very well structured, fully prepared for learning and also the explanations are quite clear and understandable. I mention the tests and readings are the best. It is evident that the preparation of all those involved is 1-A and has allowed me to explore a dimension that I had not known: that of asking meaningful and exploratory questions. I have been putting all the suggestions into practice and am making improvements in my daily decisions. Thanks to all that wonderful team at Coursera. Excellent work!

By Daniel H

Sep 21, 2021

Excellent beginners level introduction. Would be useful to add additional gates/fasttrack options for those who already have sufficient skills. I understand that there is a fast-track but even after scoring 90% on the screening test I still felt it was better to complete all aspects of the course as it didn't provide a personalised area for me to focus on. Could the learning objectives be broken down further to allow users to choose which sections to focus on if they don't get perfect score in the initial test?

By Ms. A

Aug 27, 2022

This course was very informative. I learned a lot of new skills such as tailoring my questions to find the data needed to solve the problem. Also, I learned about the expectations of stakeholders and how to identify the roles they play in the ask phase of data analysis. Though I work with spreadsheets everyday, there are many functions and formulas that I was unaware of and I learned how to use them in this course.

Lastly, the instructor was descriptive and clear. Her teaching methods made learning fun and easy.

By Anderson V

Jul 12, 2022

I believe the art of asking to get the right answers is the most crucial part of the analysis process. From there we will have a north of the remaining path to be covered. In this course I was able to understand questioning techniques, information bias, sharing with stakeholders, ethical ways to ask and answer and much more. The content is clear and objective, easy to understand, intuitive. I just loved all the content in this module, and I'm already moving on to the next module "Prepare Data for Exploration".

By Jennifer M

Oct 6, 2021

This course finally lets you dig more into spreadsheets and working with data than the previous course. Just like the first course, this is a gentle introduction to analytics and is designed for potential entry-level data analysts. That being said, there is a portion over how to conduct yourself in a meeting, etc. For those already experienced this is review. The lectures on tips and tricks with spreadsheets were great. Even if you've used Excel or Google Sheets before, you're likely to learn something new!

By Arslan Z

Jun 20, 2021

This Course is not only about Data. its about all we should have mange for a professional and personal life effectively by passing barriers and problems solving. Asking right questions and with right person in right context is a key to build a strong data base and then start to resolve your issue. Thanks Google and specially Ximena, course was perfectly designed and delivered. it reminds me my Bachelors education time. it has all to start with your Data and for me my routine day tasks in family or at Job.