Chevron Left
Back to Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.8
stars
245 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

Are you a teacher in higher education wanting to get the best out of your students and assessments? Then on behalf of Risbo, Erasmus University Rotterdam, we would like to welcome you to this MOOC on Assessment in Higher Education. In this MOOC we will guide you through the different phases of preparing, creating and evaluating the assessments in your course. After participating in this MOOC, you will be able to: 1. Design an assessment that is constructively aligned (content, level, methods) with the course objectives and activities 2. Apply the quality criteria with respect to validity, reliability and transparency for construction of assessments and assessment items 3. Analyze the assessment output and results, assess the quality of the assessment and make decisions about students’ grades accordingly 4. Formulate future improvements for an assessment For the assignments, you will be working with your own teaching materials. For example you will create your own assessment plan for your course. Next to that you will become part of a learning community with teachers from all over the world. We are offering you instructional videos, interviews, animations and checklists. In addition to these, there will be course activities, such as assessments, and discussion prompts. By participating in this MOOC, you will find answers to the following questions: • What is the role of assessment? • How can you select the right methods of assessment for your course? • What is constructive alignment? • How can an assessment plan and matrix help you in the construction of assessments? • Is it possible to make an absolute reliable and valid assessment? • How can the formulation of good assessment questions have an impact on that? • What is the role of feedback? • How can rubrics help with providing feedback? • What are the things to consider when performing an exam or item analysis? What aspects should you look out for? • How do you draw conclusions from an exam analysis and make plans for future improvements? • If good students fail on certain questions, what does this say about the question… or about your teaching? Are you ready for enhancing your teaching skills? Then take this journey with us....

Top reviews

AD
Oct 7, 2020

Very intriguing 5 weeks indeed. You need to literally spend at least 4 hours a day, otherwise, you will be staring at a backlog. Personal experience, but I managed to pass. Happy for that!!

SS
Sep 15, 2020

I had a great opportunity to learn more about the assessment and its structure. I am sure the skills that I have learnt in this course will be helpful for me in future. Thank you !!!!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 103 Reviews for Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers

By Sonali J

Jul 14, 2020

Grate Course

By Hugo F V C

Sep 27, 2018

Very helpful

By kim o

Jun 13, 2020

Thank you.

By Ann-May M

Jul 29, 2019

Excellent!

By Ana P C

Jul 7, 2020

Thanks!

By G. G P

Jun 26, 2020

super

By I P S A W

Oct 27, 2020

good

By Manimegalai

Jun 16, 2020

Good

By Mahesh B

Jun 9, 2020

Good

By Dr A S

Jun 8, 2020

Nice

By Бахметьева А А

Feb 4, 2021

-

By Josh C

Jun 29, 2020

Overall, this is a very well structured course insofar that it provides learners with a strong foundation in creating assessment plans. Learners who complete this course will walk away with the ability to create learning activities that are aligned with clear CABD learning objectives. Assignments are straight-forward and give ample opportunities for learners to apply the various knowledge and skills gained through the various modules in this course. One key drawback of this course is that it relies on a peer-reviewed system. In my experience, I saw a number of students who did not provide any feedback on my assignments. As such, I did not find the "peer-review" aspect of this course to be helpful at all. A second key drawback is that there appear to be a large number of students who will try to "cheese" their way through the course. I wanted to provide meaningful peer feedback for my fellow classmates. However, my ability to do so was limited by classmates who submitted blank assignments — as if expecting that no one would flag them. Thirdly and lastly, the final quiz in Module 5 is difficult in that several of the questions ask learners to judge the quality of multiple choice questions. I found the quiz itself to be a bit ironic, given that many of the educators leading the modules in this course stressed that it is important to issue assessments that accurately test what a learner learned during the course. There was minimal emphasis on how to evaluate multiple choice questions in this course, which was why I found the final quiz so difficult.

By Kevin F

Apr 20, 2020

This was my second online course and I found this course excellent. As a student I liked the step-by-step learnings and interactions, especially the videos where you can add your thoughts at certain stages on the videos. Some builds more actual case-studies to view to see rather than verbally discussed would have been useful for me personally. I also liked the interactions with my peers too. The platform is robust and clear with good nav UX (User Experience, Navigation) So important for the online student. A few glitches using from iPad to mobile but that's minor. Word of caution the final 25 multiple questions is hard even with studying and going over the content again, a few questions were tricky :) Overall very good and would recommend, so much so I'm now looking for another course. So thank you.

By Jacob F

Mar 4, 2019

A lot of this course was reviewing what I have already studied when I was in university. Since having been an educator for five years since having earned a Masters degree, and having worked with many talented people in the field, assessment makes a lot more sense. It seems like night and day, in terms of selecting the right answer, but there is so much more to it, especially with item analysis. I really enjoyed this course. I do wish there were more interaction with others also enrolled in the course.

By Barbro W

Jul 2, 2018

I liked the course very much, but some of the course materials where difficult to follow. The first half, on the assessment plan and constructive alignment were great. More examples would help, especially where we are supposed to learn "judgment calls" - this is difficult without a larger peer group to discuss with. If you can take the course at the same time as one or more colleagues, that would help. There is also a lot of focus on multiple choice questions, which may or may not be relevant to you.

By Aiden P

Jul 26, 2020

I accidentally signed up for this course however, I do not regret taking part as it has really deepened my cognitive development of how Assessments can be chosen and the different types of assessments one can choose from. I have learnt the do's and don'ts when creating multiple-choice questions and much more. I did this course in the "nick of time" as we will be dealing with Assessments within my course of study!

By Kathryn H

Feb 7, 2021

The course work is good and quite interesting, however the final exam is very challenging. It was noted the University stated a very high fail rate (84% of people on their first attempt at the exam) This should be reviewed, as suggested by the course content.

By Islam O A A

Sep 18, 2020

Thanks a lot, it was a good course and added a good value to my knowledge in my carrier field as a trainer and the progress and sequence of the material was helpful and was in good sequence.

By Abderrahmane L

Aug 8, 2020

the course was great and i did learn alot, but sometimes too much has been said just to give the core of the specific information, great overall grazieeee

By Peter A

Oct 18, 2019

Great course. The peer review assignments may take a while to complete, since you need to wait for other participants to review your submissions.

By David M

May 18, 2020

Good course but at times too theoretical. It would be better to have a single main instructor to guides us through the whole course.

By Kostas L

Jul 1, 2018

I would have liked more thorough examples on the analysis on the reliability of assessments

By Javier C

Jun 26, 2020

A very useful course for professors of higher education.

By Naresh V A

Jul 23, 2020

Challenging and fruitful.

By D. U

Jun 15, 2020

Useful Course. Thank You