Chevron Left
Back to Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
2,267 ratings
622 reviews

About the Course

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Top reviews

KG
Jul 24, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

VS
Sep 15, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 611 Reviews for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

By Carlos M

Jan 13, 2018

Excelente!

By Thilo H L

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent.

By שאול כ

Sep 7, 2015

Very Good!

By Anurup M (

Dec 30, 2018

Best ever

By Pablo A L

Nov 11, 2017

Superb!!!

By Anna-Maria Å

Jul 24, 2017

Loved it!

By M H A

May 19, 2016

Excelent!

By Dharmik P

Jul 16, 2017

Amazing.

By Juan A B G

Feb 6, 2017

Excelent

By Valentin K

Feb 7, 2020

génial!

By ANTO J D

Aug 18, 2020

Good.

By Rada P

Jul 26, 2017

Good!

By Edouard R

Oct 3, 2019

cool

By 聂进

Oct 25, 2015

good

By Iris B M

Aug 18, 2020

=)

By POLATO P

Jan 15, 2021

I

By Sujay C D

Jun 9, 2020

.

By John K H

Jun 3, 2017

H

By Greifell s d o

Sep 7, 2015

D

By Marcos P

Aug 30, 2015

G

By Efstathiou G

Jan 3, 2019

Very interesting and informative course, the instructor is actually really engaging. However, after week 3 it seems that the instructor just wanted to get it over with, having videos of 6-8 minutes covering topics that astrophysicists would need twice the time to comprehend (like the methods of searching for exoplanets). And the fact that after a 15-20 minute collection of videos you need to take a quiz of 20 questions, means that the instructor actually spent less than a minute explaining each one of these questions. Overall, it was a great course, which I totally recommend to anyone who is interested in learning a few basics in astrobiology, however, in my opinion, for those of us who have zero to limited knowledge of astrobiology, this introduction to astrobiology should have been a little more detailed, with longer videos explaining all these interesting topics with greater detail.

By Harry M

Feb 25, 2021

Astrobiology is a fascinating area and Professor Cockel clearly presents a well organized introduction to the subject. His presentations are clear, concise and enjoyable. As a scientist with little knowledge of astrobiology, I learned a lot and thought my course time was well spent. Having said that, I must add that the course is very dated. Professor Cockel's discussions are almost 10 years out of date. As I write this, the US has landed a spacecraft on Mars and I am astounded by the photographs that have been sent back to earth. This makes the course of ten years ago seem even more dated. Nevertheless, the course provides a solid foundation to the field. I thought that some the quiz questions were more than a bit tricky and picky. Who remembers how many countries were in the UN at a specific time in history?

By Bearely B

Sep 15, 2015

I love this course, it gave me the basic idea of how life could and couldn't start with one situation or another. The impact of some element in our life and how alternative elements have smaller chance to be the backbone of life is not a common thing to think in my everyday life (a fresh air for me)

I have difficulty to remember all the project that we all do to search the extraterrestrial life though XD...this course make me think that I now have a basic scientific facts to start build a new story about the early life in earth <3 oh my god, thanks a lot sir!! (^u^)v

By Suryendu S

May 30, 2020

The course has been very interesting and has motivated me to pursue this field further as a researcher. However, the pieces of information are really outdated, as old as of 2012, so I would like to request Prof. to update the course as much as possible. In the course certificate, the overall grade is not depicted, therefore, I request coursera to look into this matter. Nevertheless, it gives me immense pleasure to undergo this course and I thank whole-heartedly to Prof. Cockell and coursera as well.

By Carlos C R

Oct 21, 2015

About the contents, I was expecting maybe less biological charge and a bit more about astronomy, but maybe that was my mistake. The teacher makes a great job, and I have been learning both astrobiology and English. About practicing English while studying another subject, I would like to appreciate the synchronizing of the subtitles, that were perfect.

I totally recommend this course to anyone interesting in solar system, astronomy, biology and the search for extraterrestrial inteligence.