Chevron Left
Back to Auditing I: Conceptual Foundations of Auditing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Auditing I: Conceptual Foundations of Auditing by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
478 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an intensive conceptual and applied introduction to auditing in society. It focuses on concepts and applications related to financial-statement auditors’ professional responsibilities as well as major facets of the audit process including risk assessment and audit reporting. In the U.S. financial-statement audits and related services generally are provided by Certified Public Accountants (CPAs). To succeed in this course, you should anticipate engaging in critical thinking and thoughtful communication about audit professionals' decision environments, decision processes, and deliverables. Additionally, you should understand the macro-level learning objectives in each of the course's weekly modules....

Top reviews

MI

Sep 8, 2020

Excellent course! I learnt a lot in relation to practical issues that are extremely important in modern day auditing. I recommend the course strongly for both academics and practitioners. Thank you.

S

Apr 30, 2020

Prof. Mark was indeed great at his job. The course briefed out every concept so clear. It is a best course to go ahead with, if your really want to know about audit from scratch.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 142 Reviews for Auditing I: Conceptual Foundations of Auditing

By sanjeet k

Jun 8, 2020

I have just completed this course this was amazing.

By OJO Q A

Aug 26, 2019

Very Educating

By sindhuja.L

Jun 17, 2020

This course is very useful and I learn knowledge of auditing

By ADELORE J J

Aug 18, 2020

The course does not allow you to be able to get your hard earned certificate easily

By AHMED J A A M

Aug 8, 2021

A true foundational-experience, with numerous thanks to Dr. Mark for his passion, putting in together such a great learning-material and his effective induction. Thanks are extended to the classmates for their interactions and discussions.

This Course is a 'must attend one', even for those who are not performing audit, as it is believed to enhance the understanding and inject a structured-sense of appreciation of the value-additions that this Profession (Auditing) brings forward for all sectors and users.

By Emmanuel A

Feb 25, 2022

My experience with the course was excellent. The Lecturer (Prof. Mark Peecher) did fantastic work at breaking down the enitre course into littles pieces that aided understanding. I am really glad I knew him through this course. I look forward to working with him some day in the future. I am grateful to the University of Illinois and Coursera for making this course available for students outside of United States. Thank you very much and keep up the good work.

By Norawit C (

Dec 9, 2022

I had auditing course in school before but it was nowhere near this course. The overall quality and the explanation from the basic of why auditing exists to what value it proposes and to many more which could be applied in real life, i.e., I'm working as an auditor, haha. I believe the value of this course goes beyond the career as an auditor. Thanks Mark!

By Brian H

Dec 30, 2022

This was a very informative course and I was very pleased with Professor Peecher. My formal education and experience is in criminal justice, but with his informative and guided instruction, I was able to navigate an accounting topic considered somewhat advanced. I recommend this course for anyone interesting in accounting and/or auditing.

By Nicole E H

Feb 15, 2021

This course was awesome! Mark is an incredible lecturer and makes the topics easy to understand. I ordered an audit textbook, and the basis that Mark laid in this course has made it so much easier to understand the more in-depth learnings in the book. I've already signed up to take the Audit II course!

By X Y

Nov 20, 2021

A great course with a lot of theoretical knowledge, just as the title implies. The instructor explains many concepts in auditing clearly with examples. Most importantly, the instructor focuses on why audit and assurance is a meaningful career, which has inspired me in some way.

By Eugenio J F P

Oct 26, 2022

This course is greatly developed and nicely put together. It provides very useful information in plain language and also supporting documents and reading material, to expand the comprehension of the subject. Loved the professor's way of teaching which keeps you engaged.

By Hisham A

Jun 18, 2021

Great instructor that has the experiance as auditor and has the deep knowledge that he gained through his academic studies and academic researching. Very well presented materials that walk you in very organized way on the terminologies and practices.

By Thái H ( U

Dec 3, 2021

I'm a sixteen-year-old student. I haven't even graduated yet, but thanks to this course. I've broadened my mind. Now I have the confidence to pursue my Audit career. Thanks a lot to all people who build this course.

By Alexandra K

Jan 7, 2021

Professor Peecher is very engaging. He intelligently guides you through what it means to be an auditor. I quite enjoyed this course and learned a great deal. Thank you!

By MR N M

Feb 27, 2021

Today, Coursera is doing a great job of learning. I invite everyone to take these courses to add value to their competencies.

Thans a lot.

Nizami Mazgarov

By LEONE M

Apr 26, 2022

The perfect journey for IA starters. Very pleased to attend this beautiful course. Will attend the Auditing II soon. THanks, ML

By Tamojit K

Nov 2, 2020

Basic Knowledge regarding Audit was good, though more Situation based discussion needed for better understanding on Audit

By Nguyen N T

Jun 30, 2022

Great course. Suitable for beginners who want to learn about auditing. Excellent video lessons quality

By Lauralee J

Jan 5, 2021

This course has helped me widen my perspective about Auditing. Very clear and concise. Thank you again

By guesmia m

Dec 5, 2021

The course was very interesting and thank you to Professor Mark peecher for all the effort. Thank you

By Warley S

Aug 30, 2021

Very helpful for young auditors. It will guide you the basics in learning auditing standards.

By Sharika V

Dec 15, 2021

Very informative. The professor tries to make everything understandable.

By EK G

May 22, 2022

Great to understand the foundations of auditing! Excellent lecturer!

By Marni B H

Aug 4, 2021

Big help specially like me that there is no knowledge in accounting

By Amrita G

Mar 14, 2022

u feel like offline learning exp, and at the ease of ur schedule.