Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to battery-management systems by University of Colorado System

4.8
226 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

RS

Jan 24, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

SC

Apr 15, 2019

This course is really interesting .This includes the basic information of battery working which was very helpful for me as I am from Mechanical Engineering Background

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 57 Reviews for Introduction to battery-management systems

By Wreeju B

Nov 24, 2018

GOOD : The course material has been well thought out, is well organized and is quite comprehensive as far as an introduction to BMS goes.

BAD : There is no participation from the professor or his research assistants in the forum at all. Questions that are unanswered by other students just languish without response. The quizzes don't provide any solutions after submission for wrong answers leaving one to wonder what the correct answer is. I paid for this course but had zero forum support from the teaching staff versus other unpaid courses that I attended at Coursera which had far better support from professor and staff.

By Kyuhwan Y

Jul 23, 2019

I think, after the test passed, the answer should be prepared for students. By the way, It was a great opportunity for learning the function of BMS

By Asad I

Dec 08, 2018

It is just amazing.

By Sixto C

Dec 26, 2018

Excellent course, well organized!

By Xu H

Dec 31, 2018

Helpful for me to understand what I am doing during battery cycle test

By Md T H

Dec 30, 2018

The course is well defined and provides the basic knowledge about manufacturing , working and management of lithium cells n battery.

By Mrunal N G

Jan 28, 2019

Should add some more practice numerical with answers.

By Lovisolo C

Jan 04, 2019

very good starting point or Li ion battery and BMS understanding

By Asitha S

Nov 11, 2018

Excellent course. Very in-depth and clearly presented by Professor Plett.

By saurabh k

Nov 12, 2018

I Got overview of BMS design and function related to Battery management system. waiting for next course to complete

By Tejas

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent teaching and design of the course. Thank you very much.

By Reddy P s s

Jan 24, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

By Ashok P

Feb 26, 2019

Really good course. It's very thorough course and makes you ready for BMS engineer.

By Sumukh S

Mar 07, 2019

Great course! It would be really great if you discuss few problems in the lectures

By Pranav M

Mar 20, 2019

Professor clears all basic concepts of Li-ion batteries very well. It focuses on cell manufacturing, it's working and basic calculations of SOC, power and remaining energy.

It creates a good base for amateurs and even for those who have prior knowledge of Li-ion batteries.

By PREYAS D B

Oct 07, 2018

Hi, this course is a novel of it's type and really a new paradigm to BMS. I am a proud member of this course and eager to meet professor and discuss it's more abstruse points in future. Thanks Coursera also to provide this unmatchable platform for vivid learners.

By Richard V

Oct 23, 2018

Great lessons, great professor.

Thank you!

By Max C

Apr 02, 2019

Highly recommended.

The material is very interesting. The presentation is super clear and logical.

Although I have experience in the field (of energy storage) I've learned a lot from Prof Plett lectures.

Thank you.

By Albert S

Apr 02, 2019

Introduction to battery-management systems is a fantastic course. It provides excellent introduction to the world of batteries, electric vehicle batteries and electric vehicles themselves. It emphasizes the importance of designing a good BMS. The lecturer is excellent and the lectures can be easily understood by both a layman and an engineer in the field. I would recommend it to anyone interested in electric vehicles.

By shabaz

Apr 23, 2019

Nice course. Instructor is superb. Highly recommended.

By Sandesh C

Apr 15, 2019

This course is really interesting .This includes the basic information of battery working which was very helpful for me as I am from Mechanical Engineering Background

By Uddhav S

Apr 11, 2019

Awesome

By Nitin

May 17, 2019

Nice course for beginners.

By Wilson L

May 18, 2019

Very relatable for those working in EV industry

By Marc R

May 27, 2019

Very well taught course, excellent and knowledgeable instructor, didactically well structured and interesting content. Quite challenging though!