Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to battery-management systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
1,401 ratings
376 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5730, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

RS
Jan 23, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

VS
Jun 10, 2020

I must say, the instructor is extremely humble and very experienced. It has been an honour to learn from him. Some solved examples during the lectures might add to the already excellent experience.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 379 Reviews for Introduction to battery-management systems

By Tanmay s K

Apr 24, 2020

I enjoyed a lot studying on this online course platform. The course is really good for beginners who are desiring to gain knowledge of BMS and want to enter Electric vehicle field for work.The quizzes at th end of each lesson make you more strong in this topic. Thank you for offering such a great course.

By Ashwin S

Feb 10, 2020

Once again thanks to the amazing platform of coursera and with the help of Professor Gregory Plett i was able to understand the fundamental principles behind the working of a Battery Management System which i todays time has become one of the most important aspect of the ever increasing lithium ion race.

By Saad A

Apr 28, 2021

I have never felt more confident about how Li-Ion batteries and their BMS systems work (at least on a broader overview level) than after having studied this course. The instructor's teaching methods, the quizzes after each lesson were very well planned and executed. I would highly recommend this course.

By Karkuzhali V

Dec 6, 2020

This course on introduction to Battery Management systems created an interest in my research work.THANKS and the credit goes to Mr.Gregory plett for his clear way of explanation and his in depth knowledge of sharing the minute details created a passion for me to keep learning..THANK YOU SIR

By stephane m

Oct 25, 2020

Very good course, interesting for someone who needs to have a global overview, understanding of the problematics related to batteries and BMS.

Good balance between theorical principles and mathematics exercices

Clear explanations, good exercices which required an accurrate attention !

By 21PGDM-IB87

Mar 20, 2019

Professor clears all basic concepts of Li-ion batteries very well. It focuses on cell manufacturing, it's working and basic calculations of SOC, power and remaining energy.

It creates a good base for amateurs and even for those who have prior knowledge of Li-ion batteries.

By Piyush D

Apr 20, 2020

Gregory Plett teaches very difficult topics quite easily and that certainly piques your interest in the subject and a great course overall. Knowledgeable and helpful are the two perfect words for me with which I can describe this course. Great work overall!

Cheers!

By aswin m

May 9, 2021

Dr. Plett is excellent. He knows his subject matter very well and is able to present with right amount of details and develops the lessons very well. The quiz are very nice and supplants the lessons. Looking forward to remaining courses in this specialization.

By Preyas D B

Oct 7, 2018

Hi, this course is a novel of it's type and really a new paradigm to BMS. I am a proud member of this course and eager to meet professor and discuss it's more abstruse points in future. Thanks Coursera also to provide this unmatchable platform for vivid learners.

By Ketan K

Feb 6, 2021

Very good course to get introduced to the concepts of Battery management systems. Includes fundamentals of how a cell works, to expanding that knowledge to battery system. Week 3 and week 4 are intensive in terms of requiring learner to solve some math problems.

By Adnan F Y

Dec 3, 2020

The course covers lots of excellent information from basic to intermediate level for the people who intend to improve themselves on the battery applications like me. I suggest you to take this course if you want to start or continue your career on the batteries.

By Pramod V

Jul 26, 2021

It was really excellent course for me at least. Everything has been covered from very basics to advance so that any field of people can understand very easily . Thank you very much Sir for such wonderful course. Hoping to learnt more in this knowledge of domain

By kartik s

Sep 27, 2019

Dr. Gregory Plett is an amazing teacher. He makes the most complicated concepts simple to understand and it is an honor to be taught by him. This course has certainly helped me in building a strong foundation for my thesis project. So, thank you!

By Parth P

May 14, 2020

PROF. GREGORY PLETT HAVE A AWESOME METHOD OF TEACHING, AND THE USER INTERFACE OF THE COURCEERA IS VERY USER FRIENDLY, I AM VERY THANKFUL TO THE SIR AND COURCEERA TEAM TO PUBLISH THIS AWESOME COURSE FOR THE STUDENTS WHO HAS INTERESTED INTO BMS.

By Cristian Z

May 12, 2020

This course gives a complete and coherent introduction to battery operation and battery management systems, providing information on the most important concepts and giving solid bases to continue with further study of batteries and BMS systems

By Carlos F H P

Mar 26, 2020

This an excellent introductory course to BMS systems greatly instructed by Professor Plett. You are not only learn about the key concepts on a BMS system but you are also going to learn about how Li-ion cells works and how they are fabricated.

By Shubham R

Aug 28, 2019

I found this course to be very helpful. Although this course is recommended for Graduates, the simplicity of this course enabled undergraduate students like me to understand the terminologies of a battery and also the fundamentals of a BMS.

By Deleted A

Aug 4, 2020

Who am I to review? I learned alot for my Phd topi

However, i have few suggestions

1. They should give solutions to exercises because this course considers only precise answers

2. Professor style is unique but I think he should be interactive

By Ritvik R K

Jul 3, 2019

This course might just be the first course for the specialisation but the amount of information and knowledge it has imparted onto me is immense. And the metaphors given by sir are so good that I don't think I'll forget the concepts.

By varun k

Mar 31, 2020

Superb course. The instructor has really deep understanding of topics and has explained in great depth. I got full understanding of basics required to move ahead. This a great way to start a specialization. Excited for next course!!

By Rajat M

Dec 22, 2020

Being in the field of Battery systems a basic understanding of BMS is very important. This is what this course helps develop, the basic understanding. I found this introduction it to be very interesting and may get into depth soon.

By Kranthi K B

May 23, 2021

excellent course with great slides with problems as well. Somewhere I felt bit hard with 1.4.8 quiz but its not that hard when you read every slide and concentrate every equation given in the course. You can complete easily.

By Bharadwaz B

Apr 8, 2020

Sir course was great and I am delighted by the amount of information you are giving to students and telling students to avoid common mistakes and myths.

Some lectures subtitles timing isn't synced, please correct.

Thank You.

By Parth P

Aug 11, 2019

This is a well-designed course on battery management systems. Topics are clearly explained with the examples of the real world. Concept through visualization and market scenarios are worth the appreciation for this course.

By Maidul I

Apr 25, 2020

I really encourage to take this course in order to have a basic understanding of Electrochemical battery working principle and construction factors, and to get introduced with basic components and functionalities of BMS.