Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to battery-management systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
1,365 ratings
370 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5730, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

RS
Jan 23, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

VS
Jun 10, 2020

I must say, the instructor is extremely humble and very experienced. It has been an honour to learn from him. Some solved examples during the lectures might add to the already excellent experience.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 373 Reviews for Introduction to battery-management systems

By Juan J d A

Feb 13, 2020

Great course, but having problems to continue with course 2, as the system ask me to wait for two months to log-in. , on April 12th.

By maruthi s

Feb 16, 2020

It is a very Good course, who wants to explore the field of the Battery Management system and Electric Vehicle Technological space.

By Ankit R T

Oct 11, 2020

It covers all basic and important aspects of the manufacturing of cells and types of cells that are used in an electric vehicle.

By Tahoora Q

Aug 14, 2020

Mr Plett is simply awesome! I thoroughly enjoyed the course! Looking forward to start the next course in this specialization.

By Joe S

Apr 10, 2021

There's a good amount of material here delivered at a good, accessible pace with only a small amount of background required.

By Raman L

May 16, 2020

Got to learn a lot about BMS and batteries in general, thanks professor and coursera for this wonderful learning experience.

By Luca A

Jan 17, 2021

A deep, complete, exhaustive analysis of the battery world! I look forward to complete this specialization. Very well done!

By Nagaraj K P

Jun 27, 2021

This course helped me in understanding basic concepts of BMS which will help me in designing the software for BMS control.

By Sajid

Jun 3, 2020

Really awesome. Worth learning, highly indepth and appropriate for students learning Electric vehicles and battery systems

By B C

Apr 15, 2020

A very good intoductory course to learn about Battery Management Systems from the scratch.Concepts were clearly explained.

By SarathReghunath

Oct 27, 2020

As the name suggests, it gives a good introduction to battery-management systems for those with no previous experience

By DHRUVANG R G

Jun 12, 2020

Very useful course. Explanation is also in a good manner. One can develop interest in Electric Vehicle battery design.

By SRIKRISHNA.Y.HUNSWADKAR

May 25, 2020

The Course gave Very Good Overview on BMS and its requirements. The Mentor was teaching the Course with Good Command.

By Antonio M R

Aug 10, 2020

Really useful with a very well-explained and presented introduction to key Lib concepts and industry details. Thanks

By Samuel A

Dec 3, 2020

Excellent course for introducing Battery Management System. The battery pack capacity estimation section was great.

By GUDLA S K

May 23, 2020

A very fundamental course for anyone willing to learn about BMS. A kick-starter. Very Informative and up to mark..!

By Gabe G b

Nov 1, 2019

I am an Electrical Engineer focusing on Utility Scale Energy Storage. This is a great course for understanding BMS.

By saurabh k

Nov 12, 2018

I Got overview of BMS design and function related to Battery management system. waiting for next course to complete

By HAFIZ A A

Jul 30, 2020

The course is result oriented and very helpful. Coursera platform is really good in online learning point of view.

By Kharan S

Jul 24, 2020

Clear and precise. To the point. The flow of the course is good. I would recommend to beginners to do this course.

By B-53 P N R

May 14, 2020

Great Experience on getting introduced to World of Batteries ! Moving forward for more experience and knowledge...

By Jaideep G

Aug 27, 2021

Excellent methodology of teaching followed by quality quizzes. This course surely generates interest in Batteries

By Amogh C

Jan 13, 2020

The introductory concepts covered were excellent and motivates me to take further courses in the specialization!

By Mark U

Jan 25, 2021

Great Intro and overview of fundamentals providing a good breadth of information. Looking forward to the next.

By Shiv P S R

Mar 21, 2021

The Course was very good. It helped me a lot in defining my own BMS specifications and drawing its schematics.