Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,754 ratings
721 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 713 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Salaheldin G

Dec 26, 2017

Very useful crash course in Bayesian Statistics. It requires some basic knowledge in statistics and probability as stated.

By Miles D R

Aug 15, 2019

This course was dense, concise, and yet easy to follow for individuals that are fairly comfortable with basic statistics.

By Francisco J S G

Aug 26, 2018

A really hard course but useful for those who want to know more about statistics and how it is related to Bayes' theorem.

By Álvaro C Q A

Mar 27, 2018

It's a good introductory course to Bayesian statistics, a second part with Gibbs Sampling, Markov and MCMC would be nice.

By Jack

May 17, 2018

The teacher is excellent and charming and the course is also easy to follow. However, with more exercise will be better!

By Georgios P

Feb 24, 2017

Very good introduction to baysian concepts and very helpful in understanding the difference with frequentist statistics.

By Shakir B

Aug 3, 2020

Initially I was a bit put off. But what a compilation of well thought set of lectures and quizzes! Thoroughly enjoyed.

By Бызов А

May 27, 2018

Marvellous course! Thank you very much! I would really appreciate, if you'll create an advanced version of this course

By Flavio P

Aug 10, 2017

Very interesting. It can help taking notes during the course... to avoid going again through it and take them ex-post.

By kacl780tr

Jul 6, 2017

Excellent course, although it would have been nice to get more content on uninformative priors and Fisher information.

By 张宁

Sep 24, 2016

This course are excellent and Thanks for Prof for offering the course. I've learned a lot from the course. Thank you.

By 郭冰

Mar 10, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course. As there is not course like this one in my univeristy, I really appreiate it.

By Zach K

Aug 3, 2020

I learned a ton about statistics and probability distributions. It was great prep for my machine learning classes.

By Xilu W

Nov 19, 2016

I'm a graduate student in mechanical engineering. Thanks for the open course, it is really convenient and helpful!

By Artur A B

Aug 21, 2019

Very useful course, described a basic understanding behind Bayesian theory and sequential updating of posteriors.

By Harsh V D

Aug 6, 2017

A very well designed and productive course for anyone looking to brush up his/her concepts on Bayesian Statistics

By Andrew N

Oct 22, 2016

wrote in my comment.

The course is extremely well presented and the difficulty level of the excercises is perfect.

By Stephen H

Mar 17, 2019

A very nice introduction to Bayesian Statistics in a couple of hours. The course is quite intuitive and concise.

By Travis J M

Dec 27, 2020

4.6 Stars. Thank you Dr. Lee for taking the time to provide this class for the World for free, I learned a lot.

By Erkan

Dec 17, 2019

A very nice brief overview of the concept. Good for beginners and for people who want to refresh their memory.

By Maojie T

Dec 2, 2019

A good course, even it's not very deep, it still can teach people something fresh and comprehensive knowledge.

By Adam B

Jun 4, 2017

Great course as an introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Interesting material and the pace was very reasonable.

By Zoylo M R

Jun 24, 2021

It was an excellent course, I understood Bayesian statistics and will continue to delve into this vast field.

By Mrinal

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent material, examples, and quizzes. Does not trade technicality for practicality, both being abundant.

By NoneLand

Feb 6, 2018

Very good! Going through this course, one would get basic idea about Bayesian Statistics and conjugate prior.