Chevron Left
Back to From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
3,476 ratings

About the Course

We have learned a lot recently about how the Universe evolved in 13.8 billion years since the Big Bang. More than 80% of matter in the Universe is mysterious Dark Matter, which made stars and galaxies to form. The newly discovered Higgs-boson became frozen into the Universe a trillionth of a second after the Big Bang and brought order to the Universe. Yet we still do not know how ordinary matter (atoms) survived against total annihilation by Anti-Matter. The expansion of the Universe started acceleration about 7 billion years ago and the Universe is being ripped apart. The culprit is Dark Energy, a mysterious energy multiplying in vacuum. I will present evidence behind these startling discoveries and discuss what we may learn in the near future. This course is offered in English....

Top reviews

DC

Dec 5, 2019

Professor Hitoshi Murayama is a great lecturer. His passion for the research conducted and explained in the lectures is evident and helped motivate me to complete the course. Absolutely brilliant man!

AA

Apr 17, 2020

I really liked the method of teaching the professor follows.The course helped me to gain insights on the universe. I really liked and hopes that professor would do more online courses in the future.:)

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 943 Reviews for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

By Claudio M

Jun 15, 2018

I approached this course with great interest and high expectations and I was totally satisfied. Prof. Murayama chosed a very nice path to show and bring together all the key elements of the evolving Universe. Slowly andf effectively the couse covers many key questions without the need of an advanced physics knowledge. The subjects are "complicated" but I've found Prof. Murayama always very clear and that he also covered the new frontiers of studies.If you want to know more about the origins of the Universe, its key elements and evolution this is course that I really recomended.

By George A

May 15, 2020

This was both a detailed and an interesting course, outlining the greatest news stories of the last hundred years and showing what is to come. Professor Murayama made the information digestible and fun to learn, in short 5-15 minute snippets of information. The information developed the understanding of the universe and its many wonders with graphs, videos, photos and equations, targeted at all people from A-level (end of Sixth form/High School) and beyond. Only a small amount of astronomical and mathematical knowledge required to complete this comprehensive course.

By Jwalya O

Mar 6, 2021

The course was indeed very much useful yet informative, especially to those who happen to be very curious about knowing as well as understanding the universe and many of its yet unfolded secrets. thanks for giving the privilege of making myself know more about the origins of the universe and showing me some of absolutely magnificent facts about the big bang, dark energy, our solar system and much more. this course would surely remain of my favorites, and i hope i'll keep on learning further in order to be upgrade my knowledge regarding this subject. thank you!

By Nithish S

Sep 22, 2017

I am really thankful to the University of Tokyo for helping me with financial aid to pursue this online course. I was indeed a very interesting course which was properly designed and organized in an effective way. The concepts discussed by Prof. Murayama were easily understandable and increased our perception and knowledge of the universe to a great extent. The practice questions provided at the end of each module involved critical thinking and sharpened my analytical and problem solving techniques. It was a very useful course for my career and education.

By Gaetano B G D

Sep 10, 2023

It's a course complete and satisfying, enriched with extra lectures of up to date to make it mostly suitable as well as the advancement technological and the new discoveries require. I personally write on Alien themes (other too) and should be fascinated if would come in the next extra lectures taken in consideration new living worlds as also new dimensions. It's also extremely important to seek though philosophically any explanation for earlier the struggle between matter and anti-matter , what was there before of this.................Thank you

By joseph s

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent introductory course on various topics including the expansion of space, dark matter, dark energy, how the Universe was created and much more. Professor Murayama used a very clever approach to teach this course. By introducing the student to basic concepts ellipses and gravity, and gradually progressing to more difficult topics such as Higgs-Boson and anti-matter, the course was fun and easy to follow and understand. After completing this course, I now have a very good understanding of how the Universe was created.

By Cristian B

Aug 22, 2021

This course is amazing. I have come to understand mostly all of the things that I had wondered about and I can now envision the inner mechanisms of the universe in my head. Obviously there is so much more to learn but I do think this course will give you what you need to strat things off. I want to give special props to Mr. Murayama for his exceptional skills as a teacher. I think it is quite remarkable how he manages to explain the greatest discoveries on the field while conveying how genius and important they were.

By Pablo

Dec 31, 2015

very good course, although the very beginning is very basic. exceeded expectations. I would have liked it to have the video transcripts, as i like to have another source for learning and understanding the contents. i liked the professor and his attitude. i think some things are left kind of unanswered or implicit, which for someone who is not directly involved with the subject confuse me. maybe Q&A sessions with the professor would also be a good idea besides the recommended transcripts. overall it was very good

By Ben F

Aug 6, 2022

Great course! I am a high school student with minimal knowledge of mathmatics, physics, and astronomy. The professor was able to clearly explain all of the topics, so that even someone like me could understand. My only criticism is that some of the graded quizes (although you recieve many attempts) are very unfair, and do not refer to the content of the lectures. Additionally, some fairly complex math is often required for these quizes. Otherwise, this course is great for anyone who is interested in astronomy.

By Suraj K

Apr 19, 2020

This course helped me a lot understanding the origin of universe and thought me that there is a lot to understand about the nature of universe.It gave me a lot of insight on the cosmological backgroud emmision,WIMPs,Higgs boson and a lot more.My knowledge about the universe and the methodology about the study of universe has been far increased with the help of this course.

I personally feel a little more mathematics would be more helpful.I would like to thank the coursera team for this wonderful work.

By Deepanshu d

May 7, 2016

The course is for a novice. There are some mathematical treatments which need understanding of physics and mathematics of 12th standard in India. But they are in small parts and can very well be skipped.

I would advise any curious person who wants to know what's going on in the frontiers of physics esp cosmology to take this course.

I would love to see a Hindi translated version of this course or some similar course which will be very beneficial for Indians with little or no expertise in English.

By Laura A R

Jul 14, 2020

Aprendí mucho sobre el Universo, cómo funciona, de qué esta hecho, cómo eso influye en nosotros y en nuestra vida diaria. Fue un curso en el que disfruté cada una de las lecciones, incluso me da un poco de tristeza haberlo terminado porque quería seguir aprendiendo. Pero agradezco mucho la labor de Coursera y la labor del profesor Murayama, que incluso hasta con momentos de gracia, pone su amplio conocimiento al servicio de muchas personas alrededor del mundo. Nuevamente muchas gracias !

By Eila

Mar 11, 2022

hello Everyone, I totally rate this course A1, I have and still am enjoying it. Looking forward to the extra videos Professor Hitoshi Murayama has added. Thank you. I have learnt so much. The course has underpinned and drawn together alot of stuff I have learned/picked up in the past from reading and You Tiube videos. Once again thank you. By the way this is my fifth short free Coursera course. I always buy the certificates though, as momentos of a good time. Bye Eila

By Sara S

Jul 31, 2020

Simply Amazing. I am still surprised at how efficiently the course has been wrapped up within a short and effective time span of four weeks. I love reading about Astronomy and Universe in general and out of all the stuff I've come across till date, this course gave me a lot more than previous sources. The Professor explained concepts in simple and clear language, the quizzes were excellent and the matter was precise, besides covering a lot of topics quite effectively.

By Antonia T B

May 16, 2018

A fascinating course. The teacher is amazing. Some lectures are a bit difficult, but that's exciting. The Quizs are super difficult (at least for me -I come from Philosophy and Music) but that's challenging and exciting too. You can repeat the Quizzes as many times as you want, so, don't worry, at the end you pass and learn a lot. A super interesting course about the origins of the Universe, dark matter, anti-matter, energy, stars, planets, and life. Thanks a lot!

By Rachel A

Dec 29, 2019

I have a learning disability in Maths, but absolutely LOVE quantum and astro physics and am very excited to be alive in a time where we are approaching greater understanding of the 'life' and mechanics of our universe. I feel like we're so close to understanding Blackhole/Whitehole entropy between our 'mirror' universe(s), scaled/planked right back to plasma particles, getting closer to a cohesive String Theorum. Very exciting course, indeed! ♥

By Rushi S

Apr 26, 2016

It was the best course I have ever come across about universe. The course is divided into four lectures of increasing complexity. It begins with every day phenomena like day and nights, seasons and takes you to solar system, galaxies, stars, particle accelerators, Higgs boson, dark matter, dark energy to big bang and inflation theory.

I would recommend this course to anyone who is curious to know about origin and possible fate of our universe.

By Răzvan M

Dec 16, 2015

An exciting adventure through the most recent discoveries in the worlds of astronomy, astrophysics and related sciences. Without requiring any mathematics or physics skills, the course is useful for amateurs like myself trying to understand the fundamental questions and possible answers about the origin of our universe, its laws and structure as well as its fate. It is a pleasure to follow professor Murayama clarify these wonderful subjects.

By Marly A

Mar 11, 2023

Para una persona que no es experta en matemática o física, algunas lecciones pueden resultar difíciles de comprender, como sucedió en mi caso. Sin embargo, recomiendo mucho este curso porque te explica también en un lenguaje muy común todos los avances que los científicos han descubierto sobre el origen de nuestro universo y la vida humana. Además, el profesor mantiene el curso actualizado con los últimos descubrimientos, lo cual es genial.

By Vishal

Sep 1, 2020

Firstly I'ld like thank to coursera community/platform that bring experienced and talented teacher/professor on a single platform @ its a great initiative by this unique platform we can learn the things we want, appreciate the methodology that Professor have used , Just because of his way of teaching and interacting i able to gain the knowledge of the most mysterious matter and energy of the universe.

Thank you professor and coursera

By DHRUV S N

Aug 22, 2020

Its a brilliant course for those interested in learning more about past, present and future of our universe, and in the process learn more about fascinating topics like dark matter and dark energy.

It has been structured quite well to correspond the actual life of universe and the use of adequate mathematical tools and physics formulas, makes this an ideal course for amateur cosmologists wanting to know more about where we come from.

By Joem D P

Dec 19, 2015

This was one of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. The professor was articulate, the material was organized, and the graphics were clear and helpful. I completed all the quizzes and completed the course. I do not want a certificate as I am well past the employment phase of my life. I enjoy the courses to help keep my brain's neurons connected. I would enjoy any other courses that Prof. Marayama teaches.

Joem D. Phillips

By Amaan N

Jul 25, 2023

It was a very insightful course. My ProfessorI taught very clearly, and his words allowed me as a younger student to understand this high-level information very well. I really enjoy the order the course went in, and how every bit of old information was useful for new concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in Astronomy, Physics, Cosmology, and the Science of the Universe! Thank you, Professor!

By David T K R

Dec 5, 2022

I recommend this course for any novice like myself. Professor Maruyama presents a well structured course in a precise, informative and sometimes humorous way that makes the course thoroughly enjoyable. Calculus and physics! Don't fear them as Professor Maruyama offers clear explanations and demonstrations of the related concepts. If you want to gain an insight in to this field, try this course! You will enjoy it.

By MIAN S S

Nov 11, 2022

First, I want to express my gratitude to Professor Hitoshi Murayama, his team, The UTokyo Coursera Team, University of Tokyo, and Coursera for creating such a wonderful course. The course material was very clearly described by professor Hitoshi Murayama. Additionally, they responded to my questions extremely fast, which is excellent. It's perfect in terms of the course material, videos, and presentations.