Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Integration and Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Integration and Processing by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,177 ratings
468 reviews

About the Course

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

SB
Oct 21, 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

FC
Sep 24, 2016

Best course taking into account the first three. Good material, more in depth than the other ones. Very well explained. Useful to get a sense of various interesting topics and orientative.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 454 Reviews for Big Data Integration and Processing

By Mark F

Apr 16, 2017

I think the last project was very badly positioned and explained. First the Coursera is using Cloudera VM, but if you execute and run the Cloudera Express to set the Cloundera environment up the Coursea exercises do not run There should be a warning!. If you do then the simplest Jupyter exercise it fails - this took me about 10 hours to figure out.

Then for the final Project, technically to succeed you must miss country names in all lower case and you cannot match with countries with a 'space' e.g. 'Cape Verdi' and if you try to take any of this into account you do not get the same numbers to pass the test. There needs to be some warning on how to interpret and manage the files so that you get the same numbers being asked for in the test. Again this too me about 10 hours to resolve. Both resolutions ONLY because another colleague is doing the same course and we problem solved together. THIS IS AN AWFUL EXERCISE in frustration due to incomplete details. Not a learning exercise. Just AWFUL....

By César G M

Jul 16, 2017

In week 3 I was asked to give up my personal information to a 3rd party in order to complete this course, including full name, email, telephone, zip code and permission to send spam to my email. This is not acceptable.

As I used a fake telephone number they denied my registration:

"Denied Person

Thank you for your interest in Splunk.

Please be patient as we assess your registration at Splunk.com. This process may take a few days. If you do not receive a welcome email from Splunk after 2 business days, feel free to contact support@splunk.com. Be sure to provide your full name, complete mailing address, email, and the Splunk.com username you created during your registration. We will respond as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience and understanding."

I'm pretty sure you can work something with Splunk to provide a direct link for future editions of this course so your students don't have to give up their privacy in order to complete it, as you're giving that company the publicity anyways.

By Sun W

Sep 21, 2019

Content-wise is okay.

Hands on material is not properly prepared. Software installation has some many errors, even the course is using a standard VM. This shows the provider paying little attention to prepare the course material. Very disappointing attitude.

Another error spotted, mongoexport give wrong instructions.. using the instruction, there is no way to extract just the tweets column. I really doubt if the instructors have ever tested on whatever they have provided to the students lol

I dont know how can i express my disappointment to this course. Quiz instructions are very unclear as well. If the instructors have ever tried their own instructions, they would discover these naive mistakes. Please be responsible when selling knowledge

By Reeja R G

May 24, 2020

The contents are too old, its time to upgrade. And it only has very less basic theory with lots of unnecessary theory part which dont even explains anything useful. In spark only wordcount example, nothing else. Not even efficient or useful even for a beginner. I will never recommend this course. Its better to choose free on very cheap courses in Udemy which have good content, practicals and examples. Or even youtube free courses are far better. Here they have included splunk, after going through the course I googled to understand what actually splunk is. Total waste. I am cancelling my subscription today.

By Laurent C S

Jun 22, 2019

While the teacher are excellent and the course enjoyable, the instructions are simply not working (especially week 6). Just check on the forums, the instructions are so outdated. The Internet changed. Many script must be debugged to add parameters like --no-check-ssl and add classpathes and without this, the test on week 6 is too hard without guessing and retrying. This a shame to sell courses that no longer work.

The whole course would need a serious refresh to get it working with some recent version. Remember, it is based on outdated software from 2014 or 2015.

Please update ! Thanks

By Wojciech H

Dec 13, 2020

This course falls down a cliff almost instantly. The quizzes are based on terminology that is not yet introduced, the exercises barely scratch the surface of what is needed on the assignments. Reading in between the lines and hours of experimentation and trial and error are needed for the assignments and quizzes. That is not a way to learn. If you like to have the instructor just read off the slides and tell you to copy this, and run that, and not really understand what you are doing, then I guess this course is for you. I got nothing out of this course.

By Spencer

Nov 16, 2017

This course was absolutely terrible. You spend 2 hours per assignment troubleshooting the install of the various tools used and literally no time do the assignments and experiments. Its like no one at the University even tried the steps that they published, they were simply incorrect. I am lucky to have a background using some of these tools. Course should be removed until content is corrected.

By Ruben M

Jul 15, 2018

To many wrong subtitles, to little explanation for people who wouldnt know how to find stuff out for them selves. I have been working on the week 2 exam for 2 hours because my downloadfile was in the wrong directory.... you should make ik way more easy for students to learn and not fix your faulty explanations in the downloading and installing part of the course. The theory part is great.

By Gary V

Sep 11, 2019

The course was informative but some of the scripts in the exercises were wrong. Example is WGET for example has to be changed to CURL. I spent countless hours just on figuring out what is wrong. There is no support to ask about the any issues with the lab except for the coursera community. The community is supportive, it's just that they dont give the best answers at times.

By Rahul B

Jun 16, 2020

I would not recommend this course to beginners as youtube courses are better because of the fact that they are not teaching the basics at all, also there is a significant gap between what they should tell and what should be told. I would rather learn on my own. They do not know how to teach at all.

By NG S T

Dec 6, 2020

While the concepts and materials are good in general, the final project quiz is terrible. It has outdated guides, unclear instructions and out-of-sync hints.

If you want to torture yourself, feel free to try it. If you know nothing about linux or coding, forget about completing this course.

By William R

Oct 5, 2016

I tried giving zero stars. This course is very poor. In particular the last portion of the class wherein you are tested on things that were not taught. If I had wanted to spend hours in google trying to learn this stuff I would not have spent money on this course.

By Ievgenii M

Feb 7, 2019

Final assignment is not working properly. Whatever you choose - you are right.

There is no enough information how to dump tweets into file and how to use that in assignment.

This course doesn't worth any cent and should be either reworked or excluded.

By Felix

Sep 2, 2016

Forcing users to install demo software which requires a registration is just too lame.

Other than that, courser is very boring, introductory, jumps constantly between things and doesn't explain much. Stack overflow and 2 hours would do a better job.

By Deleted A

Feb 23, 2017

I have enrolled in this twice but can't see the course content. Every time I click "go to course" I get directed to the description of the course. Where are the lecture videos and other course content?

By Sayandeep A

Jun 23, 2017

Instructors were not responsive at all. Many of the participants faced technical issues in the hands-on exercises involving Spark. Questions in the discussion boards were never answered.

By Kivan I

Jul 14, 2017

No followup from course mentors and admin. A lot of the software also had bugs and caused errors, which is why there was a need for mentors assistance.

By Avishai G

Mar 30, 2019

The course is ok until the final project which is totally not compatible with the level of the hands on during the course ,the final project is a mess

By Abdelali E M

Mar 10, 2019

Les fonctions ne fonctionnent pas sur Jupyter. Il faut revoir ces TP !! j'ai perdu beaucoup de temps à chercher sur internet les bonnes fonctions.

By Manuel M B

Oct 22, 2020

It's a good course but sadly there is no support from TA. Cloudera Virtual Machine Does not work well. I have to use a Docker image of pyspark.

By Shubhradeep B

Aug 25, 2019

anaconda file not working when bigdata3 file is extracted. Very bad experience in doing the project. Local host 8889 not opeening. Dont know why

By Kjell L

Sep 12, 2016

The course cost too much for the gain of knowledge. Feels like this course could be merge with the first or the third course.

By KOSURU V R S

May 15, 2020

the programming assignments are designed very poorly. it takes lot of time to install and trouble shoot the installation.

By claudio f

Nov 30, 2016

Poorly designed, no help whatsoever from the staff, Forum is totally worthless. Worst course I ever had on Coursera.

By KAY A

May 7, 2019

It is very difficult when the environments don't work. This course has been very difficult to navigate