Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
8,216 ratings
1,953 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG

Jul 14, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,896 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Basil C

Jan 11, 2020

Like to thank Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta. I am grateful to have learned so much in so little time. Look forward to the next few courses.

By Ryan C

Oct 05, 2017

Great introduction to the tools used in big data analysis. Focuses on useful tasks such as downloading and using Hadoop in various scenarios.

By 187Y5A0530

Jun 19, 2020

i have learned lot of things this classes ,gained knowledge about the big data,it is necessary to students

thank u for giving this oppurtinity

By Tahir C A

Jun 03, 2020

This course is amazing. If you have no prior knowledge about big data you should definitely take the course. It will probably a great start.

By Shravya S R

May 14, 2020

Collated so well and every instruction is crystal clear! The instructor is absolutely amazing with her articulate way of teaching. Loved it!

By Bako M E

Mar 24, 2020

It was an amazing experience taking this course and I must say I'll love to take more.

Coursera is indeed a nice platform for online classes.

By Nandita G

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent course on Big Data. I now have a hold on various Big Data terms and basic understanding of Big Data Hadoop map reduce programming.

By Sachin S

Nov 02, 2018

Introduction To Big DATA is a very nice course for those who want to learn the basics of Big Data and are interested in Data Science domain.

By Mary A

Jul 22, 2020

It took great commitment and motivation to keep going, but was worth it in the end. I have a greater understanding of Big Data and Hadoop.

By Mic T

Dec 11, 2018

This is an excellent course! The teachers are wonderful and the course design is very good! Highly recommended if you are new to Big Data!

By Hans E

Sep 24, 2017

Gives a good back ground on the basic Data Science items and ends with a hands-on installation and use of Hadoop, so not only theoretical.

By Rahulraj E

May 10, 2020

From start to beginning the course was well structured and delivered very effectively. I'd love to take other courses at this university.

By lakshmi m

Jul 07, 2017

Course content is really good and commands given in video lectures gave hands on experience for beginners to work on Hadoop. Thanks team

By Breno O d S

Aug 09, 2016

I really enjoyed the course Big Data !!! excellent!!! I will continue showing it to everyone at the university.

Gratitude!!!

Thank you!!!

By Nilesh N M

Jun 01, 2020

This course motivates learning big data technology. The way instructors demonstrated big data concepts and their application is amazing.

By Gaetjens L

Oct 18, 2018

Excellent. This is a perfect introduction to the vast world of big data and the tools that are used to get the job done. Great course.

By PRAJJAWAL S

Oct 18, 2018

explained through simple and clear words with lots of real life examples which helped to understand the impact of big data in real life.

By Md. I A

Jun 15, 2020

This course is really helpful to understand and gain knowledge about Big Data. I recommend for those who wants to learn about Big Data.

By Eduardo A

May 25, 2017

The first course in Big Data Specialization, You must need to know the basics but it's very practical and simple to get inside Big Data

By Raghavendra J

Mar 20, 2017

A fantastic course. However, I feel that probably its important to finish the 6 course specialization to have a good working knowledge

By Evila L S O

Jul 19, 2017

It is a great course to start with foundations of Big Data, good examples and easy material for whom are not familiar with the subject

By Pablo A

Oct 20, 2016

If you do not have any Idea of what big data means but you heard to talk about that a lot and you are interested, this is your course.

By Diego S

Oct 16, 2016

This course is perfect for Big Data beginers. I loved how they explained haoop's architecture and big data principles in a simple way.

By oussema h

Oct 09, 2016

This course will go through all the definitions and the core concepts of Big Data.

It is a great introductory course.

Thank you so much.

By Selim K

Apr 01, 2020

with her simple in terminology-compact in content explanations, Ilkay Hoca was a great tutor to step inside the door of data science.