Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,591 ratings
2,260 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG
Jul 13, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,193 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Alice V

Apr 11, 2017

Very helpful overview of all major topics around big data. Engaging, never boring. A couple of good framework to structure the various information around the topic

By Álvaro D

Jul 6, 2020

Very nice introductory course to some of the concepts reltaed to Big Data. The course was very clear, the instructors were good at explaining each of the lessons.

By Sebastian W

Aug 15, 2016

I feel that the course helped me a lot in understanding what Big Data actually means and gave me an idea of how it's being handled. Well structured and explained.

By Rashad H N

Dec 20, 2020

I have no background in computers. I am an accountant. This course helps you start learning from the basics. Wonderful course. Thank you so much for creating it

By Rahul G

Jul 14, 2017

This course provides an excellent opportunity for those seeking to learn about Big Data. The content is really good and helpful to understand the basic concepts.

By KIVANÇ Ö

Sep 22, 2020

Skilled academicians, high quality contents, easy to understand. Thank you very much. İlkay Hanım harikasınız, çalışmalarınızda bol şans ve başarılar diliyorum.

By Sarah A

Aug 22, 2020

I can say that I am more than overwhelmed by this course. Although it is a lot of information, it certainly was well thought out to help you start in Big Data.

By Alan I P T

Jul 15, 2020

The course really helps to understand the foundations. Nevertheless, it is desirable to have more activities. Also, certain things need to be better explained.

By HARMANDEEP S H S

Jun 19, 2020

very basic course but very important as it helps to understand the flavor of Bigdata, Mapreduce and it introduces to cloudera and some real hands on sessions.

By Deepak G

Aug 18, 2016

excellent course, very easy to understand,

Hats off to Madam Ilkay Altintas and Sir Amarnath Gupta for explaining the big data concepts in such a simple way .

By Solangaarachchige M

May 2, 2020

Thank you very much for conducting this course in a descriptive and understandable way. I have learnt new concepts in big data. Practical sessions were great.

By Jonathan J A A

Oct 9, 2016

this course provides with a very good Introduction to Big data, concepts are clear and the detail provided is a good start point to continue learning about it

By Mohit P L

Sep 28, 2020

A really good course , we learn from the basics . Its tells us about data, its types and how they can be utilized to get insights . Various ways and tools .

By M A p

Jun 7, 2020

its very interesting to learn,and i learn more topics in big data, thanks for the beginners and your teaching way is very easily to understand thanking you.

By Ben S

Jun 9, 2018

Great course. Slides need a lot of work. I had the professor at 1.25 to 1.5 speed cause she talk so slow. Besides the speed of talking...course was awesome!

By Kondaveti S p

Aug 9, 2020

The course is good and content is fine the videos are understandable

topics in course also ok, I find course is challenging.

but over all the course is good!

By Renjit K S

Jun 3, 2020

Wonderful explanation of concepts, simple, precise and effective. Looking forward to other courses in the curriculum of Big Data Specialization. Thanks!!!

By Tarun K

Feb 10, 2018

Its a new technology for me to learn. Try my best to pursue my career in this field. Course Contents are good, Instructors explain the contents very well.

By Santiago S V

Aug 24, 2020

It's a great way to start to get into the Big Data world. It let you to understand how the things happen and they have been include in hour daily basics.

By Raghava P

May 3, 2020

It has set a proper foundation for me into Big data, The last course was just stepping into real work and made me curious to continue the course further.

By Waqas R

Oct 27, 2018

Very good course and contents designed. Gives you a head start towards learning big data technologies. Instructors are way too good. Highly recommended.

By Abhilash A

Sep 30, 2017

Great course! Learnt a lot of new things, improved my knowledge on fundamentals that I already knew. Got practical knowledge as well doing this course.

By Sri H Y

Feb 11, 2019

Excellent explanation with examples. I however think this course is like 4 years old to date and needs to include any recent changes in big data scope

By John C

Jul 27, 2018

Very educational. Good pace. The same material is presented in different ways to achieve best learning results. Can not wait to start the next course.

By IBRAHIM A A

Jul 9, 2018

an interesting course with excellent and experienced lecturers. Suitable for beginners who wish to pursue a carrier in Big Data analytics(or Engineer)