Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
8,133 ratings
1,933 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG

Jul 14, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,873 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Naveen S

Aug 19, 2016

The course was in he sense truly introduction to Big data Domain and discusses the origin and reason Big Data technologies are required.

The only improvement, I would like to suggest is raise the difficulty level of quiz,so that they motivate student to review and understand the key points discussed during tutorial.

By Jordi C

Jul 12, 2016

Much better than the previous version (2015) with all concepts very well explained, using examples to clarify them when necessary.

I would have liked to go deeper with Hadoop (in last version of the specialization, Hadoop was a separate course), but anyway, as an Introduction to Big Data, this is an excellent course.

By Prospero-Martin R

Jan 31, 2018

I really liked this course! It take you from the ground up and smoothly ramps up little bit into more detail. Big Data is a vast area and I am aware that there's lots to learn, but now I have a better understanding of what Big Data is. Definitely I am taking the other 5 courses in the "Big Data Specialization".

By Pankaj K M

Jul 04, 2020

The course was really helpful to boost knowledge abt the Apache Hadoop Ecosystem. The overall course provides the better environment to learn abt various programming model working over big data & makes skilled abt the work with MapReduce for Hadoop 2.0 😇😇 Thank you Coursera for being our learning partner ✌✌

By Ananthakrishnan T M

Apr 08, 2018

It was a great introduction. The slides are packed with a lot of information, so do take copious notes if you are like me :). This does not delve too much into programming, but do remember you need a computer with 8 GB RAM, quad core processor, etc for the introductions to Hadoop implementation in Cloudera.

By Swetha M K

Jun 25, 2018

Very detailed explanation of concepts, which though might be common but in the context of Big Data is good to go over. The course naturally transits over tops and finally leads you into the main Hadoop , MadReduce concepts which becomes very easy to understand thanks to all the explanation provided earlier

By roman b

Nov 15, 2019

Great introduction to Big Data concept - just right pace, course design, and most importantly, very clear explanation of the ideas, with relevant examples. It appears that both instructors really love this field and doing their best to induce an interest in learners (they succeeded in my case, for sure:)

By Tejal G B

Jul 01, 2020

It was an amazing experience. I got to learn a lot of new things including big data concepts like where it is used, who uses it, why is it important. Along with this also got to learn about data science concepts. Thank you, sir and ma'am, for sharing your practical experience. It was of a lot of help.

By Saeed Z G

Jun 07, 2020

As an introduction course is sufficient to learn the basic concepts. I have hands on Big Data for several years and liked to get certified. This course professionally provides concepts. A Data Scientist and Big Data Engineer, I believe that we have a long journey to go and this journey will never end.

By Sukanta M

Oct 25, 2017

I was looking for this type of course of BigData. I have spent hours to read through different blogs and articles. But couldn't get better idea/direction how to start or where to start. This is ideal course for getting started on Big Data. I enjoyed all the slides and hands on very much. Thank you.

By Steve S

Apr 13, 2018

Based on a previous course I took, I didn't think that this course would be as informative and practical. As it turned out, this was a great introduction to big data along with a practical exercise using hadoop. Very well organized and professionally done. I will take other courses from UC San

By MATHUMITHA .

Dec 04, 2018

Everything was explained in brief manner with day to day examples . Thanks to Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta for their clear cut explanations and also my reviewers for my assignments . Such an awesome course for beginners. Ample amount of time was given to finish this course successfully

By Anton V

Jun 20, 2017

For me this is my first online course and I am flabbergasted by the quality and comfort of studying online. I think the course is well structured, very knowledge intensive, but well balanced. You learn a lot in a relatively short time frame. Thank you very much for this fantastic course.

By Maninder S

Jul 30, 2020

As the data has been growing rapidly day by day, the major challenge is not only to process the big data efficiently in a cost effective way but also to produce the meaningful results that can add values to the business. It was indeed a great learning experience. Highly recommended.

By Subhrajit R C

Oct 10, 2017

This course lays a good foundation for understanding what Big Data is, what it is good for, and also what it is not good for. The course is well structured and the quizzes and hands-on material test you and also and allow you to practice and get a taste of what lies ahead.

By King W N

Oct 09, 2017

This is a terrific intro into what Big Data is for those who are interested but aren't sure if they want to dive into the technology behind how Google, Amazon or internet search engines market what you might be interested in. This course will definitely wet you appetite.

By Pamela O

Apr 18, 2020

Muy bien realizado el curso aborda todos los temas importantes , las presentaciones en video son realmente buenos, las diapositivas interesantes y a la vez llaman la atención. La voz de la presentadora a veces se hacia aburrida pero la información que daba muy relevante.

By Parth S

Apr 07, 2017

Very useful course to start one's journey into the world of Big Data. Concepts were explained thoroughly and in a very easy-to-understand manner. The quizzes and assignment help in evaluating one's own progress. Must-do course for anyone wanting to learn about Big Data.

By Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

This is a very good course which provides a good overview of the big data domain. It provides an introduction to the various Hadoop components and gives a flavour of big data computing using Cloudera. Overall, a very good introduction to the six course specialization.

By Ishan S

May 22, 2017

This course is really helpful for understanding the basics of Big Data. As they say, if the foundation of something is strong, it lasts forever. This course really helped me in laying down that strong foundation,which will be helpful in the future courses.

Thanks.

By Ramon P S T S

Jun 15, 2020

Except for the section where I had to run Hadoop through my laptop computer and had trouble loading the disk image into the VirtualBox environment and therefore had to test it using another computer, the pacing of the course seemed appropriate for a beginner.

By Christopher R

Jul 26, 2017

Great short intro course. The work load was a little high but I believe it was pretty thorough to get a basic understanding. I also loved the pre-built cloud environment built for us! The exercises were pretty intuitive. I'm excited for the next course :)

By Ahmed M S

Jan 01, 2020

Excellent Course. It provides essential fundamentals for big data, Hadoop and map reduce applications. I do recommend this course for anyone interested in this line of study. Language, videos, slides, and quizzes are very clear and interesting to follow.

By Govardhan H

Sep 26, 2016

I would like to enroll many such courses . Excellent Teaching . Thanks to teachers who spent their precious time in preparing slides and delivering quality teaching.. Hats off to Coursera. I recommend my friends too , to enroll such a wonderful course.

By Bak J H

Sep 25, 2017

Very helpful for me to learn Concept of Big Data.

Specially, every class in the course are related to each other very well.

I could review many times in this class and learn new stuffs, too.

I was really happy to learning Big data, because of this class.