Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
8,166 ratings
1,940 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG

Jul 14, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,880 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Renjit K S

Jun 03, 2020

Wonderful explanation of concepts, simple, precise and effective. Looking forward to other courses in the curriculum of Big Data Specialization. Thanks!!!

By Tarun K

Feb 10, 2018

Its a new technology for me to learn. Try my best to pursue my career in this field. Course Contents are good, Instructors explain the contents very well.

By Raghava P

May 04, 2020

It has set a proper foundation for me into Big data, The last course was just stepping into real work and made me curious to continue the course further.

By Waqas R

Oct 27, 2018

Very good course and contents designed. Gives you a head start towards learning big data technologies. Instructors are way too good. Highly recommended.

By Abhilash A

Sep 30, 2017

Great course! Learnt a lot of new things, improved my knowledge on fundamentals that I already knew. Got practical knowledge as well doing this course.

By Sri H Y

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent explanation with examples. I however think this course is like 4 years old to date and needs to include any recent changes in big data scope

By John C

Jul 27, 2018

Very educational. Good pace. The same material is presented in different ways to achieve best learning results. Can not wait to start the next course.

By IBRAHIM A A

Jul 09, 2018

an interesting course with excellent and experienced lecturers. Suitable for beginners who wish to pursue a carrier in Big Data analytics(or Engineer)

By Jose L G G

May 17, 2020

Interesante curso, con mucha teoría y ejercicios para practicar. No tenía un concepto claro de que era Big Data y ahora conozco más sobre la materia

By Sunny N

May 16, 2020

I Loved the course and Expecting a much more detailed course with hadoop specially and spark as well ,both the instructors were very well thank you

By Ritesh B

Apr 19, 2019

In the beginning, I thought the course was a bit boring but with time I realized the importance of fundamentals. It was a great leaning experience.

By Yan L C

Sep 14, 2018

i'm impressed the power of big data. It seems like you can make any high level decision making by using this technique, no longer need experience.

By Matthew A C

Feb 26, 2018

The basis to most of the concepts given were very informational and each lesson was well developed. The hands on activities truly made it worth it!

By Ahmad N A

May 21, 2020

This course is introducing an excellent concept for understanding the importance of big data and provide a good exerciser at the end of the course

By Amit P

Apr 23, 2019

Excellent course. I got a very good overview of big data and hadoop. I can now take more advance courses in this topic to deepen my understanding.

By Deleted A

Jan 05, 2018

I have learned the basic of big data and got interest to learn more about this infrastructure. Both Sir and Madam learnt this topics elaborately..

By Hua W

Dec 23, 2017

This series of courses cover both big picture and technical details of big data application, which is really helpful to me to go into this field.

By Klevi M

May 26, 2017

I recommend to everyone this course. Professors are very brave and make the course easy to understand even though it is a bit hard. Great course.

By Pedro M

Dec 12, 2016

Very complete as an Introduction, the tutors have deep knowledge of the subject and it has even a practical session. Indeed is a valuable source.

By Kamrul A C

Sep 12, 2016

I found the course is detailed and explained nicely to start as a beginner. The quiz helps to understand and learned the subject matter properly.

By Roshan P

May 13, 2020

A very crisp and clear course highlighting the concepts of Big Data. The nice part is that they also provided handson excersises and assignments

By Ahmad-Hilman N

Apr 30, 2018

For an Introduction, this course is good place to start. Giving explanation about what and why big data is important without going too technical

By DADI M

Jun 04, 2020

It's a Great course that explains the basic knowledge of what actually Big data is with real-life examples. Looking forward to the next course!

By Basil C

Jan 11, 2020

Like to thank Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta. I am grateful to have learned so much in so little time. Look forward to the next few courses.

By Ryan C

Oct 05, 2017

Great introduction to the tools used in big data analysis. Focuses on useful tasks such as downloading and using Hadoop in various scenarios.