Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,449 ratings
2,244 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG
Jul 13, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,175 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Guilherme D C T

Apr 22, 2019

A comprehensive overview of key concepts concerning Big Data. A good starting point for the remainder of the specialization.

By Ajit G

Apr 14, 2018

Excellent course which expalins all the basics and complete handson for the hadoop.All concepts are very clearly explained.

By Rajesh N P

Dec 15, 2017

very helpful for beginners. sufficient theory for better

understanding . loved it. looking forward to the second course :)

By Siti M B A M

Jun 19, 2020

I enjoyed the class very much. But before you enroll make sure your PC/laptop has the needed specification to run cloudera

By Harry F

Sep 23, 2018

Found this to be an excellent introductory course on big data, even for those well versed in traditional data warehousing.

By Mukul P S

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you so much for providing this course.Before completing this course i was not able describe big data but now i can.

By Mukesh S

Nov 4, 2017

This is the first time I sincerely used Hadoop and learnt it. The professors are very thorough. Heartfelt thanks to both.

By David C

Jul 17, 2017

Good overview of the key concepts, techniques, and technologies involved in using and/or implementing a big data program.

By Nora I B

Mar 22, 2017

This course gave me a very clear idea about why big data came out. big data applications, and the dimensions of big data.

By KEITH P A B

Jun 24, 2020

I really like the teaching style, how the professors are providing concrete examples which everyone can understand well.

By Ramashesh

Nov 19, 2019

Super Course from Super team. It was very easy and interesting to understand for non technical people. Loved the course.

By Hamad A

May 31, 2019

Very good for people who needs an introduction and with no background on deep technical knowledge of data and computers.

By Vivek T

Apr 8, 2019

this is really a fantastic course in Big data and data science. the instructor is so nice and the content is quite good.

By Christopher P

Aug 28, 2017

The beginning was a little too basic but it was the best explanation of Hadoop and Map-Reduce that I have gotten so far.

By Rajshree

Jun 24, 2017

This is a great course material for start to learning Big Data . There is good description with example for every topic.

By Luqman F

Nov 8, 2020

Great as a basic introduction, and produces a nice landscape of various big data frameworks and the basics of the HDFS.

By Shah F H

May 21, 2020

This course is the basic of big data.So if anyone is interested in the big data field can do this course as a beginner.

By Mohini S U

May 10, 2020

want to know how to work with hadoop in real life by creating master node and data nodes in a cluster for data analysis

By Lucas V S

Apr 29, 2018

Impeccable course. Helped a lot on introducing myself into the Big Data field. Thanks to all developers of this course.

By Federico S

Jan 27, 2018

I'd say it's an excellent first serious approach to Big Data. It has been great to do some hands-on MapReduce exercises

By Sam M

Nov 9, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to Hadoop system and Big Data concepts. I am glad to have taken it. Thank you!

By Lalitkumar O

May 12, 2020

It was very meaningful and learningful experience with live project example. Thank you Ilkay Madam and Amarnath Sir...

By Anjali P

Apr 6, 2020

I have gone through the whole course and delighted to share my feedback as positive.

Whole course was very interactive.

By André G P

Nov 1, 2018

I really enjoyed the course, the classes are very well structured and the instructors have excellent teaching methods.

By Dwarika D M

Jul 21, 2017

this is one of the best tutorial to start from scratch...I really enjoyed this tutorial too much and have learn a lot.