Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,605 ratings
2,264 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB
May 24, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,198 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Andre O V

Sep 17, 2019

The course provides a great holistic view about big data while offers a good techincal presentation about Hadoop

By Riccardo P

Apr 9, 2018

Being bored by 60 minutes free videos on YouTube, that's what I really want as an introduction course, thank you

By Shantinath C

Nov 2, 2017

Very nice. Taught from beginner level, very detailed, and easy to understand. Great for new learners of Bigdata.

By Guven Y

Oct 9, 2017

Thnak you very much for putting this course together. I enjoyed a lot. Looking forward for the upcoming courses.

By Khwla

Oct 1, 2017

it is an awesome course. I suggest everyone interst about data take this course which has a garet information .

By Nishanth C

Sep 20, 2020

The hands on examples and exercises are useful.

The instructors are engaging and respected veterans of industry.

By MANEESH K 2 C A

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course. I would like to get more knowledge on big data. Thank you for giving me a very useful course.

By SIDDHANT S

Aug 6, 2020

For someone who wants to start a learning about Big Data from scratch, this is the best course. Just go for it.

By Isam I

Apr 24, 2020

This is a great introduction to the world of Big Data. I enjoyed taking it. A big thank you to the instructors.

By SUSMITA D

Oct 21, 2019

the assignment is time consuming for the mapreduce kindly change the assignment

the drawing isnt worth the time

By Karstein H

Dec 14, 2017

Very good introduction. With doing an actual installation of Hadoop we got valuable practical training as well.

By U P K

Apr 2, 2021

its a very good course the flow of the course is good and the guidance is very good to understand the concepts

By Wong H C

Jan 30, 2021

Course is well-paced and have assessment to reinforce the learning.

Overall very good introduction to Big Data.

By Deleted A

May 19, 2020

It is a very nice course.From this course I have learned about introduction to big data.Thanks to instructors.

By Sam P P

May 4, 2020

It's really a useful and highly informative platform that I've came across yet. Thank you to the Coursera team

By Alonso S

Jan 21, 2019

Great introduction to the topic. Look forward to more hands on, technical skill building in the next chapters.

By Ablajan S

Feb 19, 2018

Great big data introduction course . It includes theoretical and some practical knowledge. Highly recommended.

By Swapnil B

Apr 21, 2017

Excellent course for a new comer to Big Data. Helped me understand the basics of it before i can delve deeper.

By Sayed A A

Sep 11, 2020

Great introductory course on the fundamentals of Big Data. The quizzes and hands on labs were fun to work on!

By Shawn J

Jul 9, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. It was thought-provoking and practical enough to run 'Map Reduce' samples on VM!

By Johannes V

Apr 2, 2017

Great introductory course teaching the basics of Big Data and having some hands-on applications to work with.

By Nakul V

Oct 9, 2020

Well structured, thought-provoking and with great labs. Made me want to learn BigData in detail. Keep it up!

By Dr. R R R

Aug 16, 2020

Course Content is precise and neatly presented. Thank you Instructor's. Learned many things about big data.

By Satwinder S

Mar 28, 2019

A very good informative course.

All the Basics concepts are represented very well. Like this course too much.

By HARISH A

Sep 25, 2018

A nice well paced introduction to Big Data. Lays out the foundations and then gets to some basic programming