Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,647 ratings
2,276 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB
May 24, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,207 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Ms. S P W

Jun 7, 2020

The course was good.The explanation was fine and study materials were also good.A little bit difficulty I felt in hands on session.That is s/w installation.It could be more better if more guidelines were provided in that session for windows.

By Siddesha S

Jul 13, 2020

Wonderful course, Very well delivered, Covered most of the basics of Big Data. Quizzes are well framed, Programming assignment helped in understanding basics of Hadoop and Map-Reduce concepts, Thanks to the resource persons and coursera team.

By Martin O

Jun 1, 2018

I think this is a very good Introduction course. It begins with the basics but at the end of it you already know how to run a program in Hadoop. The lectures were so clearly explained and easy to follow, even if you are not english (my case).

By Sarsiz C

Mar 26, 2017

This course is amazing. For the beginners it will be really helpful for them and they can understand better what big data is and how it works. Exercise , assignments will require pure understanding of the concepts taught to you in the videos.

By Eishita Y

Jul 16, 2020

This course is well structured and clearly explained. All the assignments in the course solidified my understanding of the concepts taught in the lectures. The hands-on tutorial on running a simple map-reduce job in Hadoop was very engaging!

By Lukus B

Apr 15, 2017

Im familiar with programming, and some languages. But have 0 experience with hadoop and other programs pertaining, So i very much appreciated with thorough back ground information that was provided with the course. Very well done. Thank you.

By Arihant J

Apr 22, 2020

This course was well planned and the two professors also made sure to cover it in a way so that the interest in the learning was always there. The real life practical case studies is what helped the student understand the worth of Big Data.

By John V

Apr 6, 2021

Great introduction. It was quick and easy, yet I feel very empowered to dive even deeper into the big data landscape. Downloading the VirtualBox and Cloudera software was straightforward and easy to set up. I was up and running in no time.

By Elvismary M d A

Jul 5, 2017

I understand every think that was exposed in thiscourse. I think the organization of this was very difficult because the huge materials that data science and big data are related. Thanks the professors to organize well all these ideas.

By Sherif E

Sep 22, 2016

Very good course as an introduction to Big Data, It will give you all the needed info to get around and understand what is Big Data and what is Hadoop

I highly recommend this course for the people who want to have information on Big Data

By Oguzhan B

Aug 23, 2020

It's a great course. It explains to you the introductory level information you should definitely know about big data with many examples. Moreover, there are exercises in the last chapters. In this way, you can train for a small start.

By Joseph B

Jul 7, 2016

Really interesting course! Just dipping your toes into Big Data, and running some extremely basic operations, shows you how powerful Hadoop can be, and the potential for it :)

Coming from someone with no experience in computer science.

By Kalman E

Dec 25, 2020

A good introduction! I gave me an overall impression of the topic. As I work with BD technologies after the course it's possible to orient in diverse tools and choose what will be usefull for me to study next. Thanks to the creators!

By Odenna S

Feb 15, 2020

I have found the course very well organized, the material is understandable, the teachers are very professional. Since I am new in this topic, I have learnt a lot, and was able to understand everything what was covered in the course.

By Wathek L

Jan 30, 2018

I love how this course was organised, I had an idea about big data but I never had a whole over view about the bigger picture, I feel I am ready for more specialisation and read to take an Entry level interview for a BigData company.

By Phoebe J G

Feb 24, 2021

This is very informative and detailed. It actually guides me given that I'm zero knowledge about Big Data and Hadoop. This is a wonderful course that equips people with practical and theoretical knowledge regarding the subject.

By Gunjan S

Sep 23, 2019

Awesome course!

Loved the explanations and quizzes. Moreover, the hands-on-experience provided by doing the labwork really excited me and kept me on the edge of my chair to do more!

Thanks a lot.

Alright, moving on to course 2. :)

By Tarun K

Jun 13, 2019

the course is in detailed and structured. I will recommend this course to the other beginners. It helps me a lot in understanding big data concepts from the scratch. Thank you to my trainer and Coursera team. I'm highly obliged

By Leonardo R d A

Jul 9, 2017

An excellent introductory course on Big Data addressing its application in current and practical subjects, with a good method of evaluation besides providing the necessary tools to apply all the theoretical content in practice.

By Nwogbo b C

Apr 30, 2020

The whole course centers on giving the fundamentals of big data in relation to the Hadoop framework which actually opens up a whole list of opportunities to solving bigdata problems with hands-on tutorials and practical videos

By Крюков А В

Apr 26, 2020

This course give clear introduction to BigData. It is well-structured and detailed. It is intentionally a bit shallow like all other overview courses. You probably need to attend other courses if you are interested in BigData.

By Cyprien H

Nov 26, 2017

Very good introduction to big data with both a high level perspective, with strategic considerations to more practical stuffs.

Hadoop introduction is good. I'll move on to the next courses of the specialization to learn more.

By Deva D

Jan 25, 2017

The Big Data Analysis is one of the emerging topic. The course provides the detailed information about various concepts that can be easily understood by learners. Thanks to the faculty members who are handling the course.

By Magnus O

Aug 19, 2020

Great quality on the material. The lectures and slides are good, quiz is relevant to the content in the videos. I really like the assignment and the you have to correct other students assignments as well. Great course!

By DHANUSH A

May 31, 2020

It was a great experience learning about Big Data. after this introductory course, I'm very eager to learn the latter courses. Thanks to Ilkay Altintas.

it's a must-learn course for CS students I would highly recommend.