Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,133 ratings
2,376 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
Aug 11, 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filter by:

2151 - 2175 of 2,322 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Edwin J A A

Oct 9, 2021

(1). No está actualizado, Oracle VM virtualbox está en la versión 6.1.26. (2). la explicación de la ejecución de los hadoop-examples.jar no fue clara en el sentido que hay que aclarar que cada programa o salida del mismo debe tener un directorio independiente o pueden estar varias salidas en un mismo directorio.

By Sudipta m

Aug 9, 2017

The course is well structured with relevant theories & definitions. However, my opinion there was too much stress upon theory and less focus on practical. It didn't cover all possibilities where Hadoop Code might not run, given the fact that almost most of the learners were using Hadoop for the first time.

By Rebecca C

Jan 9, 2017

I little slow to start but the pace picks up nicely. Content is generally easy to follow. Some differences between spoken and voice recognition subtitled text. Practical tests were interesting but not particularly well explained for the MapReduce shapes task, which seemed to leave a few puzzled.

By Jefferson B

Aug 27, 2019

Bom curso, por ser um inicio ao haddop e nao informar que é direcionado para pessoas que tenham um conhecimento prévio, precisa procurar na internet comandos e dicas sobre como atuar em algumas situações que nao ão discutidas em aula, mas no geral material muito bom.

By Наталия В О

Jul 15, 2020

The lectures are a bit boring and it seems like lecturers only approve of their own point of view, so the quizzes require precise answers as in the lecture. Also don't enrol if you don't have 8gb of RAM :) But overall I guess I did learn some new useful stuff.

By Jorge L

Aug 29, 2016

I believe this course can be performed much faster, beware that it is really an introduction, and IT professionals persons may feel it slow, in addition the presenter speaks English very slowly, good for non English proficient persons, but bad for the others.

By Palash V S

Oct 23, 2017

Better content needed. While I understand this was an introductory course, it was challenging only in semantics (remembering exactly what subjective thing Ilkay mentioned/ selecting one of two partially correct options etc.) and not in concepts

By ABHISHEK D

May 4, 2020

Very informative, and I've learned a lot. But I felt it a little bit slow and boring. There are so many ways to make it so much interesting, and it's important too. I think that's why I took a long time to finish this course.

By Miriam F

Aug 10, 2017

The course is nice for people without any background. With some background in physics/math/computer science it moves very slowly and doesn't provide much technical details. I wouldn't call it a specialization though.

By María C

Oct 21, 2020

In my opinion it is a little difficult for somebody who is not related to this world to make the exercises of the practice area. More information on the websites about downloading the programs must be implemented .

By Rohit

Mar 22, 2020

Very Basic course. Don't expect in depth expectations. Inadequate hands on exercises in the course. You will get 10,000 ft view of Big Data after completing this course. Don't expect much from this course.

By David W S

Sep 14, 2016

An introductory course that seems like it should have been the first week of a more in-depth course instead of being a stand-alone course. The cost vs benefit of this particular course is questionable.

By Fernando R

May 11, 2020

The content is good, but the VM is bad, slow, and old version of everything. I have downloaded a Docker Container to continue with the program. They should update the VM or provide a Docker link.

By Murray S

Jan 10, 2017

I'm not sure who the target audience is for this course. The level of presentation seems rudimentary to me. I had a hard time sustaining interest in the course and did not finish.

By prashant

Nov 20, 2020

Content and questions were good in this course but I feel like there was no need to show instructors in the video, only voice playing in the background would have been much better.

By Tianchun H

Sep 10, 2020

The lectures in the first two weeks are not practical at all. The only practical content in this course is the MapReduce and Hadoop part, which can be finished in one or two days.

By Dmitry S

Dec 18, 2016

The time / usefulness rate of this course is very low. Most of the stuff they teach (at least in introduction) is very basic theory that's presented in not really interesting way.

By Matej F

Nov 14, 2016

The course is a lot about talking and theory which is not very interesting. Final part of course is trying to work with hadoop using virtualbox and provided virtual image.

By Txerra P

Nov 30, 2017

De momento he aprendido conceptos nuevos e interesantes, pero todavía no entiendo las herramientas utilizadas. Hadoop me parece muy confuso y dificil de utilizar

By IMAD E M

Feb 14, 2017

An amazing course to get a brief understading about Big Data, the course needs an improvement in the slides, and additional resources for better understading.

By Robert L

Aug 15, 2016

Very informative but the structure is a lecture where the concepts are basically read from a paragraph. Perhaps I'd give more stars if I only saw diagrams.

By Yanpei L

Mar 11, 2017

Was expecting more hands on stuffs, the class is too conceptual. The sound volume of the videos is not consistent, hope Coursera can improve a bit on this.

By Marta L M

Oct 30, 2017

Interesting concepts and basics about Big Data. However, it could include more practical exercises or quiz to continuously learn and evaluate the student.

By Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

A little bit too conceptual and very basic. Hadoop hands on and HDFS should be much more intensive. However, good material, well presented and explained.

By Akash C

Nov 20, 2018

The Content of the Course is Very Good.But the examples are very Outdated. And the English Slang they Spoke is Difficult for an Indian to Understand.