Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,670 ratings
441 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 433 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Nikhil C

Jul 26, 2020

Overall a good course to get the basics of what the difference is between managing Big Data system, versus your more traditional systems. I really like both instructors.

I took one star off because one of the twitter API assignments that we were supposed to do in the VM didn't work. Plus there's no one to support you in case an issue like this occurs.

By Don M

Oct 10, 2016

This course is a valuable introduction to Big Data Models and Management Systems for a variety of data types. The hands on exercises and company use case examples provide helpful context and application of the concepts. This knowledge also provides the learner with more confidence in navigating big data conversations in a professional environment.

By Siphephelo B G

Jul 08, 2018

I loved how it built on knowledge obtained from the previous course and even had a recap video as a reminder of what was covered then. My only real gripe is how the felt like a bit of a curved ball - it was tricky to understand what was required of us. Overall, the course content is solid and I would recommend it to anyone

By Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

By Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

By Carsten K

Aug 26, 2020

The course is great, but the peer review assignment at the end needs a lot of polishing, as the instructions are unclear and way to vague. Furthermore, the answers are not very specific, making grading difficult at best. Despite the peer review assignment, I can fully recommend the course.

By Koyel G

Jan 13, 2017

This course captures the overview of Big data modelling concept in a very simple way. I found this course very useful. Instructors are good to explain the concepts. Though it would be good to add one or two (add-on or optional hands on exercises) handson for graph and tree data modelling.

By Harshan J

Aug 02, 2017

Excellent intro to the subject. The instructors explain the material well. I deducted one star for the grading treatment of the Peer-Graded Assignment (Catch the Pink Flamingo). It's understood that there is no one "right" answer, but peers should be given a range of possible answers.

By Devon E

Aug 10, 2018

Another excellent course.

The only thing I would have liked (and maybe this comes later in the upcoming courses) is for the course to take a look inside the python and Lucence scripts so that we could be talked through how these are actually processing the data with guidance.

By Vinod S

Jan 19, 2018

Great course on concepts of Big data modelling.

Great opportunity to learn from 2 people who are actually working on Big data issues in the Live world.

The assignment in week 6 can be improved in terms of more objective questions and the spaces provided to write the answers.

By Dhairya T

Jul 28, 2020

Pretty good course with deep learning methods and detailed hands on experience except the Gephi one where they could have mentioned better about the downloaded gephi icon on desktop wont work. But overall an excellent course ..worth your time

By Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

By Snehal B

Sep 08, 2018

I would rate it 4/5.

First 4 weeks, we can still relate and keep up to pace with context. But week 5 onwards it becomes difficult to understand. Please come up with more real life scenarios to explain different BDMS models.

By Apurva T

Feb 03, 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

By Xing Z

Jul 09, 2018

The content is good overall, but the final project assignment is awful. It's not about whether the questions are too easy or too hard, it is the way in which the assignment is organized that seems confusing.

By Putcha L N R

Mar 07, 2018

Pretty good course. The peer corrected assignment is avoidable. Instead, a little bit of programming may be introduced! The course becomes extremely boring due to only theoretical aspects and quizzes.

By David R D N

Nov 23, 2016

Pretty good overall, although some exercises are a bit difficult to understand from the descriptions and instructions given, some graphs and initial reference documentation for exercises might help

By Yaniv G

Oct 31, 2016

Overall relevant and clear presentations. Course material quite general, but I guess this is expected from an introductory-level course.

Peer-reviewed assignment's instructions can be clearer.

By Bhola N R

Oct 11, 2018

It was a difficult module, although trainer tried to convey but seems it is more complex it took time for me to understand the concept and apply the same while doing my assignment.

By CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

By Ruben

Oct 17, 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

By piaoyang

Mar 15, 2020

If you have the fundamental knowledge of database and json, the only valuable videos for you are in week 5. As it says in next course(course 3), the course 2 is not required.

By Vidal A C L

Sep 18, 2017

The course provided me a good understanding of the tools and insights on how data could be modeled and managed. I feel confident that I can use the knowledge at work.

By Amol G

Oct 09, 2017

Lot of new information, excellent delivery. Given 4 as I feel real-use case flavor is inadequate -exercises could be more intensive, real case studies can be added.

By Priyadarshi V

Nov 20, 2019

The content is really good and informative. More hands-on would be helpful. Extending the tree structure problem in the pink flamingo exercise was bit confusing.