Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
2,199 ratings
361 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 352 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Ismail A I

Feb 20, 2017

Very well explained

By Amr A

May 10, 2017

My only comment is that sometimes I feel that the speaker is talking quickly and the information is not clear

By Vidal A C L

Sep 18, 2017

The course provided me a good understanding of the tools and insights on how data could be modeled and managed. I feel confident that I can use the knowledge at work.

By Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

Very good material and overview. However, still a little bit too basic. Fundamental management systems hands on should be much more intensive.

By Sabarish S

Nov 28, 2016

Some concepts can be simplified by using comprehensive examples.

The course is overall great!

By Cecilia T

Mar 27, 2018

Great course! I got a very good general idea/concepts about BDMS

By Kshitij V

Nov 20, 2016

Great course which gives you insights into Big Data Management and various product differentiation used for Big Data

By Putcha L N R

Mar 07, 2018

Pretty good course. The peer corrected assignment is avoidable. Instead, a little bit of programming may be introduced! The course becomes extremely boring due to only theoretical aspects and quizzes.

By Lei M

Aug 18, 2016

it's pretty good. I learn a lot, but some information is not enough, for example TF-IDF, and vector model

By Bhola N R

Oct 11, 2018

It was a difficult module, although trainer tried to convey but seems it is more complex it took time for me to understand the concept and apply the same while doing my assignment.

By Oscar J M T

Sep 23, 2018

I enjoyed this course, the topics was more clear and deep in contrast with level 1.

By Antonia I

Jul 24, 2018

It was fine.

By Xing Z

Jul 09, 2018

The content is good overall, but the final project assignment is awful. It's not about whether the questions are too easy or too hard, it is the way in which the assignment is organized that seems confusing.

By Javed A

Apr 24, 2019

Very good Instructors. I have learnt a lot. Thanks to COURSERA.

By Brian S

Apr 15, 2019

Expected more hands-on activities and more advanced tasks

By Wayne S

Apr 06, 2019

This material in this course seems to be based on a belief that the student has significantly more knowledge than assumed for the first course in the Big Data series. Because of this unfounded assumption, without regard to explanation, I have marked it down to four stars vice the five for the first course.

I think by providing the student with an adequate background, or additional resources, this course could easily be ranked as a five-star course.

In short, for no apparent reason, it quickly becomes more difficult than the first course; and instead, I wish it had been more of a natural transition from the first course.

By HEMANT K D

Jul 12, 2019

peer review is not good for any assignment.unnecessary delay and of no use.

By Viraj D

Aug 13, 2019

The explanation is very clear. More hands-on coding and practicing should have helped in learning the concept more profoundly.

By Marco A G O

Sep 10, 2019

More focus on theory than practice, but a nice course.

By Kamlesh K

Oct 27, 2019

Good Course! Explain a lot about the Modeling and Management System in Big Data. Also, give practical experience in Big Data Management and play around models

By Priyadarshi V

Nov 20, 2019

The content is really good and informative. More hands-on would be helpful. Extending the tree structure problem in the pink flamingo exercise was bit confusing.

By Iskan S

Nov 28, 2019

it is very helpful

By Sayed M

Oct 28, 2019

Excellently designed course content and organized topics. I like very much the way Ilkay and Amarnath explains on various subjects.

By Bhanu H

Oct 17, 2019

Course material is very good. Instructors are great and talk clearly and explain well.

My only difficulty is with peer reviewed assignments. There is no answer key. So how one grades depends on what he/she thinks is the right answer. I understand there is no easy solution to this problem for online courses. It is not a show stopper though since you can submit multiple times. But why not just grade using Assistant or by instructor themselves.

By Mujtaba A

Oct 20, 2019

It was a good course for beginners of big data modeling. I benefited much from it from the theoretical perspectives.