Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,282 ratings
374 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 363 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Naveen S

Aug 19, 2016

Although Content quality was good, the content is too much less and could have been easily integrated to first course or other course in specialisation.

Secondly Quiz were not challenging ,it was just too easy to pass, and this actually takes away the very reason they were employed in this course.

By David P

Aug 01, 2017

The course is great. The final peer-reviewed project is interesting, but very badly designed. The explanations are fairly confusing, and the peer-reviewed format really doesn't fit this assignement, as modeling can be performed in many different ways, that untrained peers might not recognize.

By Yanpei L

May 03, 2017

Expecting more hands on experience with big data frameworks like Hadoop or Spark. Instructions of the final assignment is very confusing, you don't actually know what it really want you to do until you go through all the Q&As in the discussion forum, which is really wasting time.

By Kivan I

Jul 05, 2017

I felt there was very little continuity between each of the 6 weeks of this course. Especially in week 1, where I noticed a significant jump in the level of the content and I found the lectures quite vague and ambiguous. But overall I am satisfied. Looking forward to course 3.

By Clemens W

Nov 20, 2016

The course takes a broad approach to the subject.

What I miss: the study material should provide more and better organized (theoretical) information (e.g. on topcis like database design, data structures, etc.)

What I like: presenting of current software projects around big data

By Henrique S C

Apr 26, 2018

The content is good, but the final assignment is ridiculous. The instructions are horrible, the peer reviewers are a joke (there are many people there with 0 experience with databases giving wrong feedback), and you don't get the answers for reviewing other people's works.

By Tariq A

Dec 27, 2019

Very well organized and conceived. By following the course, I was able to learn and build on the concepts with minimal questions or frustration. It taught me what I was looking to learn, was well organized, and well paced. I’m already applying what I learned at work.

By Nicolás J C

Sep 21, 2017

The course has a lot of information that is completely useful for BD, I feel that it needs more hand-on exercises. For example, all those BDMS they listed are very useful, but it would have been more practical and fun to teach with an exercise, rather than 50+ slides.

By Josep M

Nov 21, 2016

There has been very few on-hands training. It's still very very at an introductory level. At some points it goes very deep, for example with the vectors for a document, but with the rest stay at a very high level. Open an excel sheet can not be considered training ...

By Francisco J H

Oct 06, 2019

It was useful but I was expecting more specific exercies and practices with state of the art tools, instead of only a very high level conceptual resume of the frameworks and data types. I hope that in next specialization courses will go deeper into the specific uses.

By Norman L

Aug 12, 2018

The material does not delve into enough depth. The syllabus often moves into the next topic just as it begins to break the surface of the current topic. I want more details about the architecture and implementation of each NoSQL database

By Saulet Y

Jan 11, 2019

Very boring and not interesting course. The slides are just tedious. Additionally, there are some mistakes in week 4 if I'm not mistaken with evaluating weights and coSim(). Many users mentioned in the forums, but nothing has done.

By Kim U

Jan 17, 2018

Unfortunately, some of the videos are boring and difficult to understand, mostly because they fail to present the bigger picture, and through a lack of enthusiasm on behalf of the presenter.

By Sergey K

Sep 09, 2016

Peer-graded assignments are bad for multiple reasons. Most important one -- If I'm paying for this course I expect my work will be verified by skilled people, not by other "students".

By Paul F

May 03, 2018

Good ogeneric versight, the excercise of week 6 is not very well elaborated and the peer review instructions/scoring possibilities are not adequate (mostly all or nothing scoring).

By Sai L K

Oct 17, 2018

The course could have mentioned technologies which are more into the market currently and also it would have been better if there were some hands-on exercises on them as well.

By Fanny S

Oct 03, 2016

This was my second course of six. It was so theoretical but at the final exam it required so much exercises. I propose enrich the course with exercises and hands on

By Johan S H A

Jun 11, 2019

It was very theorical and not too much practical course, so there are not exercises to understand the BDMS like Redis, AsterixDB, Solr, and the others.

By Aude M

Jan 05, 2018

Very interesting but I struggled with some of the content: the level jumps suddenly, and the course lacks some clear examples of application.

By Konstantin K

Feb 14, 2018

I'm not sure I got the topic Big Data Modeling and Management Systems from material of the course. Quite redundant and dissimilar lectures

By ammar a m a

Dec 30, 2017

Homework's and Assignments are really harder than the course material it self, you need to go to other sources to keep up in my opinion...

By Abhinav S

Jul 04, 2017

The course is not very detailed and misses to explain key concepts. Terminology is used extensively without much explanation.

By Cédric L

Oct 21, 2016

Reasonably good, but less structured and organized that the first course.

I hope the next one will be better on this aspect.

By Ivan S

Feb 13, 2017

IMHO it's better to reduce the scope but provide more details of key technologies. Final assignment is not well explained.

By Shahrin B S

Apr 12, 2018

i think the depth and how it is taught can be worked on. Theres insuffucient coverage to enable us to do the assignment.