Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
2,133 ratings
347 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 337 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Seyyed E S

Jan 23, 2017

1. The course is very general and high level introduction.

2. During the lectures there are some examples that in some cases are presented as very small images and briefly. I personally could not understand some examples presented in week 5.

3. I found the hands-on lectures very helpful. I wish there was more that would delve into more examples in more details.

4. The course was very overpriced given the amount of information offered compared to other courses I have taken at coursera.

Thanks.

By Jorge F d l V G

Oct 23, 2016

The level of the exercises and quizzes don't reflect the content of the course.

By Marco F

Apr 24, 2018

Final assignemet is too hard.

By Waldo U

Dec 31, 2017

The last assignment is really vague and poorly written.

By Dan K

May 08, 2017

This is ok. There is some light theory and application of it, but even less hands-on. There is also too much of an emphasis on different big data systems and each brands specific uses. This is good information, but I think it could have been presented on a two page comparison chart. The next course is supposed to be more more hands-on, so I am looking forward to that

By David T

Oct 28, 2016

I really wish I could give this course more stars, the content is great and well delivered and at a perfect level for someone like me who last worked with big data sets when 20Mb was absolutely enormous and Windows 3.1 was cutting edge technology. But and this seems to run across the whole specialisation, support from the course team varies between very patchy and none at all. Technical questions aren't answered for days if at all.

By Tushar S

Oct 04, 2016

Just about okay. Wouldn't recommend to pay for this.

By Konstantin K

Feb 14, 2018

I'm not sure I got the topic Big Data Modeling and Management Systems from material of the course. Quite redundant and dissimilar lectures

By Fanny S

Oct 03, 2016

This was my second course of six. It was so theoretical but at the final exam it required so much exercises. I propose enrich the course with exercises and hands on

By Nicolás J C

Sep 21, 2017

The course has a lot of information that is completely useful for BD, I feel that it needs more hand-on exercises. For example, all those BDMS they listed are very useful, but it would have been more practical and fun to teach with an exercise, rather than 50+ slides.

By Ali R

Jun 24, 2016

3.5+ star course. I hope by studying the following courses, contents of this course prove to be more practical.

By Cédric L

Oct 21, 2016

Reasonably good, but less structured and organized that the first course.

I hope the next one will be better on this aspect.

By Aude M

Jan 05, 2018

Very interesting but I struggled with some of the content: the level jumps suddenly, and the course lacks some clear examples of application.

By Yanpei L

May 03, 2017

Expecting more hands on experience with big data frameworks like Hadoop or Spark. Instructions of the final assignment is very confusing, you don't actually know what it really want you to do until you go through all the Q&As in the discussion forum, which is really wasting time.

By Congcong Z

Nov 07, 2017

it would be better if there is person to person explanation of homework

By Gustavo S

Aug 08, 2016

More practical exercises should be recommended.

By Cyprien H

Dec 25, 2017

The course in itself is quite good, although there are many concepts presented in a few videos only.

The bug flaw is the final peer review assignment. Questions are unclear; It is a pain to complete. When reviewing your peers, expect the same issues: you are left alone to interpret if what was done corresponds to what is expected. I guess instructors intended to make something simple but it is definitely not.

And the most frustrating thing is that this has been a recurring complain (see the forum), and nothing has changed so far.

By Sai L K

Oct 17, 2018

The course could have mentioned technologies which are more into the market currently and also it would have been better if there were some hands-on exercises on them as well.

By Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

As far as the content is concerned, this is a very good course. Concepts are explained well.

What I disliked about the course is the final peer-reviewed problem.

1. The instructions were unclear about what was needed to be done.

2. When submitting, the HTML of the problem got badly garbled.

3. When reviewing peer submissions, for the first part nobody could read their submission because of the garbled format.

4. Most people did not get the second and third questions right but instead of there being a way to evaluate how much they understood, it was a yes/no option to grade them (which amount to either them passing or failing).

I think this is a promising specialization but the instructors need to pay heed to the bevy of complaints in the various forums.

By Johan S H A

Jun 11, 2019

It was very theorical and not too much practical course, so there are not exercises to understand the BDMS like Redis, AsterixDB, Solr, and the others.

By Rahul P

Jul 14, 2019

The practical contents were too less. Too much of theory does tend to make the course a little bit boring...

By Manik S

Aug 11, 2019

LOW QUALITY VIDEOS, OBSOLETE RESOURCES, VIRTUALLY NO TECH SUPPORT

By Ra'ed A

May 07, 2019

Fix the mistakes!

By Diwen

Aug 19, 2019

Peer-graded assignment is very badly described.

By Andrew C

Dec 11, 2018

Level of content between week four and five is vastly gapped. Too big of a jump. No explanation of BDMS and DBMS in between