Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,928 ratings
502 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 16, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 27, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 493 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Nick G

Mar 10, 2020

This course is SERIOUSLY out dated and hasn't been updated in several years.

By Qian H

Jul 10, 2017

Bad course without many useful info

By andreh m

Nov 6, 2016

The course gives an extensive overview of the topic. I have particularly appreciated the hands on section.

My recommendation to all the students is to not overlook the hands on and create some personal notes and code archive to quickly review those topics.

Some particular good learning for myself: lucene. I have used lucene at work both directly and wrapped within elastic search: in both cases I was not going deep in understanding the data model behind lucene and concepts like similarity. You can leave like that in the vast majority of the current jobs where lucene is a third party system invoked upon needs but understanding the model behind was simply much more easy than I expected.

By Joydeep S

Jul 18, 2017

This course was really nice and very well put together. I learned a lot and more so, learned in a structured manner. For people like me who come from traditional data background and new to big data concepts this way of presenting the course is very important and fruitful. I hoping to complete the rest of the courses in this series and end up with a good depth in knowledge of big data

By José A R N

Sep 13, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

By Sarsiz C

May 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was good and it definitely needs some changes. You should explain according to me in more detail about how using a particular method of data structure you can structure the data. The exercise was easy. And please add some more exercise so that learners need to work little harder to pass the quiz.

By Sukanta M

Nov 15, 2017

I was looking for this type of course of BigData. I have spent hours to read through different blogs and articles. But couldn't get better idea/direction how to start or where to start. This is ideal course for getting started on Big Data. I enjoyed all the slides and hands on very much. Thank you.

By Sita R P G

Oct 23, 2016

Modeling is the start and gives an insight how to choose the correct model for a big data project. The correct choice of the model spells success for the project. Many data models were introduced and the hands-on exercises were helpful in better understanding of the concepts.

By Mohamad K

Aug 20, 2019

Its extremely an important course to understand the different between DBMS and BIG data and why DBMS changed to BDMS. Its also give nice intro to unstructured data process such images and graph Nodes. Study this course will remove many questions in your mind.

By Misty S

Aug 28, 2019

While the course content is very good, I feel this is not for beginners as one needs a basic knowledge of traditional relational databases for starters. The assignment helps clear the concepts and makes it understandable enough to work on it.

By John C

Aug 19, 2018

A very nice introduction to the subject. Like in any other discipline one needs to practice in order to verify that you know the theory. Will continue signing up for more courses and specialitations. Very happy with the way things are going.

By Glenn B

Feb 5, 2017

I thought this course was great. It gave a phenomenal overview of the tool sets out there and some good practical hands on with them. This series of course is a must for anyone wanting an overview and some hands on in the big data world

By Basil C

Jan 19, 2020

This is a great crash course for beginners to get up to speed. Would be great to cover more modelling techniques and real-world case studies. Thank you - I've learned much from both Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta. Congratulations.

By Vincent R

Feb 5, 2018

Great course for the beginner I am! The short video concept is a good and convenient learning tool. The final capstone exercise was challenging. Really enjoy it. I look forward to begin the next course of the specialization.

By Ali S

Sep 21, 2019

The course was great I learned basics of different big data visualizations. Sources of big data and different tools introduced which can be very helpful. The quizes and assignments helped me to better understand the course.

By loveneet k

Aug 21, 2017

Wonderful experience with you guys. Crisp overview about Big Data management. Decisions we should consider before taking Big data approaches. What are the available state of art exposure. It was great learning experience

By Nikola M

Nov 1, 2021

​The course gives a great combination of: presentations (videos and readings), quizzes and hands-on exercises. It lays out a great theoretical base on top of which big data applications can be designed.

By MOTHUKURI S K P

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

By Vikas G

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

By Mohammad M

Sep 30, 2019

Big Data modeling is important consideration while designing big data solution. Most of other online courses lacks this module. Thanks to coursera for bringing this course. Five star.

By Ankit C

Mar 24, 2020

It's a good course to get an overview of different technologies that are out there. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to build a foundation for big data.

By Oguzhan B

Oct 6, 2020

After the first course, I both refreshed and improved my knowledge. Thank you very much for bringing this course together with many examples, tutorials and a great narration.

By Routhana L

Apr 10, 2019

As a undergraduate data analytics student, this course was an enlightening experience that complemented my more theoretical, less-applicational on campus course very well.

By Saju T M

Apr 13, 2020

Gives us a very good understanding on Big data modeling and various data models like Graph Data model, Vector Space model (TF-IDF), Vertica, AsterixDB, Aerospike etc.

By Luis R

Dec 4, 2019

Great course to learn and also practice how data can be visualized and how to model data, formats and how important is to choose appropriate data format and model