Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.4
2,158 ratings
352 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 342 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Ruben

Oct 17, 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

By Wentao Z

Aug 18, 2016

Not too much useful and practical knowledge. full of basic concepts

By leila M

Aug 27, 2016

it was nice but a bit complicated for beginner though i like it

By Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

By Sreedhar K

Sep 22, 2017

The spread of the info is good but I think it could need a little more depth.

By Marc-André S

Nov 30, 2017

Very Good course with rich content - I feel the final assignment could have been better structured.

By Yogesh P

Mar 17, 2018

Good Course covering Modelling systems

By Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

By Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

By Aleksandar R

Jul 02, 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

By Alireza A B

Aug 07, 2017

Lectures where good but some effort is needed to have more practical assignments

By Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

By CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

By Remco W

Jul 30, 2017

Thx for this course. It helped me in preliminary understanding of the big data modelling world. Fascinating, and intriguing.

By Johannes V

Dec 10, 2017

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

By Rita P

Aug 13, 2017

Informative course and video lectures, but final peer graded assignment was lacking clear instructions.

By Vinod S

Jan 19, 2018

Great course on concepts of Big data modelling.

Great opportunity to learn from 2 people who are actually working on Big data issues in the Live world.

The assignment in week 6 can be improved in terms of more objective questions and the spaces provided to write the answers.

By Christoph R

Feb 13, 2018

Well presented course providing a wide overview of methods, tools and techniques to collect, analyze, manage and visualize data in big data scenarios.

By Dixit R

Dec 18, 2017

Great coverage on data models, however the online scenario was little too extreme for me - esp. not coming gaming or digital background.

By ahmedossama.201461

Apr 23, 2017

Tool !

By SONJA A

Aug 20, 2017

I felt the assignment was a bit confusing, however, it was good to see how others responded to the same questions.

By Narjes M

Sep 11, 2017

some courses lacked a clear explanation. It would be better if the professor talked a bit slower in the videos and had there been more hands-on activities

By Vladimir A

Feb 02, 2017

Course is very good, and highly recommended.

More practice on this course will be appreciated

By Irsan K

Jun 19, 2017

Great course where I was introduced to lots of new technologies, would like to apply them in practice. Would be nice if there were more hands-on exercises.

By Robert S

Dec 27, 2017

Nice diversed lecture, only the slides could be more visually appealing and the maths involved could be deeper. Gives good overview on the subject.