Chevron Left
Back to Astro 101: Black Holes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astro 101: Black Holes by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
786 ratings
268 reviews

About the Course

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Top reviews

SK
Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 271 Reviews for Astro 101: Black Holes

By Niranjana C

Jul 3, 2020

The instructors are amazing and explain everything in a concise manner while fully engaging with the content with enthusiasm. It was an informative course, not too technical and provide a better insight to particularly tough topics. I'm even more eager to learn more and maybe research black holes myself someday.

By Giapitzoglou M

Nov 29, 2019

A very well structured course. The videos are funny, well thought and explanatory. The illustrations and examples make it easy even for a beginner to understand what is being explained. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would recommend this course to everyone who has an interest in astrophysics!! Thank you, guys!

By Denise H

Apr 13, 2019

Watching this course was a lot of fun. I was able to repeat things I already knew and learned even more new things. Because the way things are explained I was able to keep up until the end even if I didn't understand every single detail yet. This course is a really great way of learning about Black Holes.

By Daniel C

Dec 20, 2020

This course had a plethora of information, condensed and explained thoroughly (and clearly) enough for someone with limited scientific background to understand. It was very well put together and a pleasure to work through. It is a very good introduction for someone with a curiosity for black holes.

By ava

Dec 17, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I'm a bit on the younger side, and I was still able to thoroughly grasp the concept of black holes and their nature throughout this course. The professors in this course did an excellent job of using models and explaining. I would recommend this course!

By Amanda A

Mar 16, 2021

A really enjoyable and engaging course about black holes, astrophysics and the methods currently available to study the universe. Definitely a course well suited to a beginner, as the high level math and physics is broken down into easily understandable concepts. Highly recommended!

By Sakshi K

Apr 20, 2020

Amazing, wonderful & exploratory course on bizzare black holes. The animation used to explain the concepts are very interesting. Also reading sections consists of interesting activities explaining time dilation in easiest way. Thank you all the instructors for such a wonderful course.

By Sasha B

Oct 18, 2019

I loved every minute of this course. It's gotten me developing my own theory about black holes and I am so sad that it's over. It's also made me seriously consider a minor or double major in astrophysics, something I may genuinely pursue. Thank you so much for this amazing journey.

By Arun G

Apr 3, 2020

I really loved the way you guys were able to present such a vast and complex topic in a very simple format for beginners such as myself.Although i still have doubts regarding certain concepts i was able to get an overall superficial knowledge necessary for an indepth further study

By Muhammad A N

Apr 30, 2019

I have just completed one module and besides black holes I have also learned other concepts for my general knowledge as to refresh concepts before proceeding to black hole. Way of delivering of instructors is very good as I thought I have known everything about respective topic.

By Shivani R

Aug 28, 2021

This course covers all the aspects of an introduction to black holes. It is informative and sneaks in some joke bits as well, making the learner interested. It enhances the creativity of the learner and who knows? one the the next astronomy legends might be from this course!

By Malekith-Erik H

Sep 22, 2019

I have gained more insight into the physics of black holes, stars and galaxies alike. This class was my favourite class and I can't wait to enroll into more of this university. Special thanks to the amazing and charismatic teachers, I especially like the many food analogies!

By SAAKSHI V P

Nov 23, 2020

Thank you so much to the University of Alberta for making such an amazing course. I enjoyed a lot during this course. It is a very good course for the beginners to know basic knowledge about the Black Holes. I request you to prepare a part 2 of this course.

Thank you.

By Ramon M

Apr 2, 2021

Very happy with the course. A lot of information well presented, in an interesting way, by very knowledgeable professors. One observation, maybe one of them could make his presentations talking a little slower? I don´t think I have to give name? Thank you all!!!

By Priscila C I C

Aug 11, 2020

I loved this course. It was quite challenging since some of the topics were complex but the professors did their best to explain them as easy as possible. I learned a lot of new information about black holes and find them even more interesting than before.

By Michel A

Nov 29, 2019

The complex almost irrational circumstances around black holes brought in a manner that is surprisingly clear and digestible. The world of black holes is after the course even more intriguing and fascinating. Triple A without a doubt.

By CRAN

Sep 8, 2018

Excellent cours. Clair, pédagogique. Les modules sont très bien structurés, en couvrant toute la matière des trous noirs. Félicitations à l'équipe de l'université d'Alberta. J'espère que cette équipe puisse présenter un autre projet !

By Patricia H

Jun 18, 2021

T​his course does a fine job of explaining what was known of black hole physics thru 2017. Ligo information was not complete, with 4 years of observation missing. The staff was easy to understand and definitely knew their subject

By Albert E

Sep 8, 2020

This course is a very good course. I recomend it to everyone who is interested in physics. It has no locked assignments and is also at a beginner level. The content and interaction between the student and teacher is incredible.

By Pauline K

Jan 21, 2021

Very interesting videos in the right pace, easy to understand language of difficult concepts, the right amount of equations, good mix of instructors. I have learned a lot about black holes. It was an interesting experience!

By Monet D

Jan 20, 2021

The content was explained in an understandable manner and the demonstations and animations made easier to learn everything. The course was amazing! Thank you for providing it - especially all the food analogies.

By Gaureesh C

Aug 4, 2020

Fantastic course, loved spending time to study the course content which was very diverse and detailed regarding black holes. Highly recommend everyone to enrol in this course for physics and astronomy knowledge.

By Rajesh K T

May 27, 2020

Excellent mentors and I am going to publish a paper with knowledge I recieved by lectures . Great to be part of this course. Kindly suggest me some good Astrophysics journals where I can send my paper/ article.

By Harshil k

Apr 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course . Stars are one of the things that fascinate in my childhood . That leads my interest toward Astronomy . Attending this course is indeed a unforgettable joy for which I was looking.

By S. P

Aug 25, 2020

It's a great privilege to learn about black holes.It is the only course available in coursera purely about black holes.So my dear friends please have this course,if you are really have interest in black holes.