Chevron Left
Back to Astro 101: Black Holes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astro 101: Black Holes by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
786 ratings
268 reviews

About the Course

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Top reviews

SK
Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 271 Reviews for Astro 101: Black Holes

By EDM18B044 S N D B

Jun 2, 2020

AMAZING COURSE.

HIGHLY INSPIRATIONAL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING.

THANKS A LOT.

REALLY USEFUL TO LIVE MY PASSION

By MASON, D K

Oct 22, 2021

Really loved this course - very inspiring and interesting and taught by an amazing team - thank you!

By Aditi S

Jul 26, 2021

very informative and it made me think about the various mysteries still prevelant around blackholes

By John R

Nov 29, 2018

Excellent course providing a great high level overview of the current science of black hole physics.

By Pamela M

Dec 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I look forward to taking my studies further in the field of astronomy.

By Rohit K

Aug 26, 2021

Amazing course ! Simple explanation with great animation visuals. Recommend to every science lover

By Marek W

Jan 6, 2019

Very simple course, but in not mathematical words explain, how to born, live and died Black Holes.

By Dishari R

Jul 29, 2020

Very helpful . Thanks for this wonderful course. Helped me a lot to gather about the black holes.

By Aniket K S

May 25, 2020

The Course is very informative and interesting. It's a very joyful way of teaching from you guys.

By Hatish G

Apr 9, 2019

Very good content and helpful in understanding the concepts of black hole without any confusion.

By SWASTIK P

Jul 27, 2020

An awesome course. it was a lot of fun, was very informative. Loved this course, enjoyed a lot.

By Francis C

Jun 16, 2020

Really enjoyed the course , excellent presentations and very well explained by all presenters !

By H. R K R

Aug 16, 2021

A​wesome course! The presentation, the graphics, the visuals and the humor! Loved it all!

By Shyamkant A

Aug 28, 2020

It was a awesome course and wonderful learning experience. The quiz was also well designed.

By Sadat I P

Sep 19, 2020

One of the best courses on Astronomy that starts from the basics and builds up incredibly

By ATAL A

Oct 14, 2021

Very nice course and anyone can take it to learn something about black holes and stars.

By Michael L

Jun 5, 2018

Cogratulations!!!! Excelent course!!! Very informative and well done video lectures!!!

By Willem M

Jan 15, 2021

A clear update on recent discoveries on black holes and underlying principles, thanks

By Akshay S

Dec 30, 2018

A great course and want to make some more of these courses for other areas or fields

By Coreen M

Aug 24, 2018

An engaging and highly entertaining course with excellent animation and presentation

By Parth G

Oct 2, 2021

perfect course for beginners, iIenjoy thank you all profs and university of ALBERTA

By Abhishek K S

Jun 12, 2021

Super fun course with amazing animations, pop-culture references and explanations!

By ABHIJEET N

Feb 18, 2019

This is the best course for Astrophysics lovers and it clears all my basic doubts.

By Alberto A

Jul 22, 2020

Perfect to introduce, with a simple planification but really easy to get involved

By Andy E

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent introduction to some astrophysics basics & black holes in particular