Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
5,601 ratings
1,422 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,435 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Tejasvi S

Jun 23, 2020

I have learned a lot from your amazing course,at first i was so confuse and unclear ,but now i have basic fundamental knowledge .

Thank you so much!!!!

By kapil c

Sep 24, 2018

It was great course and I learned lot about blockchain and how it works internally and it was totally different from the way I was thinking blockchain

By Harsh S

Aug 30, 2020

Had great Quizzes , but please dear coursera respond to feedbacks, issues from students isn't handled within minimum time please do take care of it

By PRAFUL P P

Jul 18, 2020

Very well explained by the Prof Bina Ramamurthy. It is recommend for everyone to have a basic knowledge of Blockchain through this valuable course.

By Bharath K

Jun 3, 2020

Coolest Course,The references were just Awesome!!!

If you have to rate the references my score would be 11/10.

Great work by University of Buffalo!!!

By Jayashree A V

May 7, 2020

This course is very helpful for beginner and to understand the basic concepts of Blockchain. The project was interactive and easily understandable.

By Anant S

Apr 24, 2020

Indeed a great course! It would have been better if there were more in the last assignment and we knew what we were doing instead of just clicking.

By Omkar H

Mar 4, 2020

Great course !!!

This is my first course on coursera and I learned a lot during this course. Once again thank you Bina Ramamurthy and team coursera.

By Kyle S

Aug 20, 2021

I have been involved with various block chain technologies and this really helped me confirm existing knowledge and even learn new things. Thanks!

By Mallicka G

Jul 20, 2020

Very nice course to learn the basics of Cryptocurrency. Those who don't have any idea, can start with this course. This will be very much helpful.

By Jay C

Nov 19, 2018

Easy to follow material, clearly presented, logical layout of the study concepts. I would recommend to anyone interested in blockchain technology.

By SENTHILKUMAR C

May 31, 2020

This course provides the fundamental concepts involved in the Bloc chain with real-time examples. I really liked the way the course is organised.

By Diogo S M

Jul 26, 2018

Great Course with clear and concise videos and many interesting links for reading. The Project at the end of course is interesting and practical.

By Nathchaya W

Aug 3, 2019

It's the best of my oppotunity to learn about this course because it's adventage to me and also the future carreer of my life.

thank you so much

By Heather M

Oct 1, 2018

Excellent comprehensive review of blockchain structure. Clear definition of key concepts. Thorough resources included in instruction modules.

By Iftekhar A

Jul 31, 2021

request you to upload the file with multiple language like Bangla, French , Arabic . it will easy to understand for all student more clearly .

By Javier P

Jun 29, 2021

Great course to grasp the basics of the Blockchain and top cryptocurrencies and also to have an idea on how cryptography works in this aspect.

By Luis G L G

Sep 3, 2018

Excellent course. If you want to learn about blockchain in a very easy way to understand, with practical exercises this is the course for you.

By Siddhant G

Jun 25, 2020

This is a great course and you can fairly have a nice idea of how the blockchain technology works and how you can use it for future purposes.

By Gabriel M

Sep 4, 2018

Excellent course, great material and resources to learn about different blockchains (ETH & BTC) ,you get to learn a lot. Highly recommended!.

By Shashank K

Jun 28, 2018

Really good!!!! I now feel very confident with blockchain basic. Thx to the expert faculty in this course. Highly recommend this to everyone.

By Apoorv C

Jun 12, 2020

People having no background in this filed can also learn lots of things. This introduction course gives you an idea of how blockchain works.

By Patrizio G

Aug 6, 2020

detailed topics. I am a developer and I had already studied many things on my own, but I must say that coursera managed to fortify my bases

By Clovis D C

Sep 3, 2019

I liked of explanation about previous technologies wich lead to incredible blockchain and that Blockchain word not was mention by Nakamoto.

By Duddu S

Jan 21, 2019

Very good Naration, i have got clear understadning about Block chain, infact examples and the Ref project is very helpfull. thankyou-Team.