Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,065 ratings
1,035 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 19, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS

Jul 28, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,032 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Balaji C

Aug 24, 2019

So nice overall course experience especially program assignment its like a spoon feed of block chain beginners.

By SANKARA M

Feb 25, 2019

Teaching such complex subject at a lesser period of time requires great skillset.

I Thank Ms.Bina for the course

By Pranav P

Sep 24, 2018

The course content and instructor was really great. Will continue taking other courses from the series as well

By Diane H

Sep 14, 2019

An excellent intro course with substance. Will be useful and will not waste your time. Worth the commitment.

By John D T

Feb 12, 2020

Very informational beginning blockchain course. Great resources are provided as well to help with learning.

By seyyed M H M

Feb 11, 2020

thanks for your great course... I really enjoyed it .... thancks for helping me pass it as a financial aid

By Angel

Mar 22, 2019

Great introduction, and the final project is a profitable way to understand some of the blockchain elements

By Todd N

Jul 09, 2018

Very good overview of the basic concepts around Blockchain and how it is used in both bitcoin and ethereum.

By Rui V

May 12, 2020

Great course! Mrs. Ramamurthy explains the themes very well, and the lectures are challenging. Thanks all.

By Aadesh J B

May 26, 2020

Very well structured quiz and assignments . Had great learning and understanding of Basics of Blockchain.

By DEVRISHI D

May 09, 2020

Excellent Course for beginners and for anyone who's looking forward to exploring the world of blockchain.

By Amey K

May 02, 2020

A very gentle, but thorough introduction to Blockchains.

Programming assignment could be more challenging.

By Muhammad M

Dec 13, 2019

It's an amazing course which helps me to understand the working of blockchain and etherum.thanks COURSERA

By Shanmuka A P

May 01, 2020

I got the best explanation from this instructor and I recommend every enthusiast to take up this course.

By Daniel G B

Apr 17, 2020

Thank's a million, crystal clear explanations, very useful graphical presentations. Bina is the best :-)

By Deepanjan D

Apr 11, 2020

Amazing course! Learned a lot about blockchain technology and about bitcoin network and ethereum network

By Amr M E

Aug 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the simplified approach of learning and mostly hands-on project @ the end of the course

By sanju a

Mar 04, 2020

Perfect course to learn blockchain concepts and get experience of creating a new blockchain transaction

By Narsinh

Oct 10, 2018

Perhaps a small issue but more clarity in setting up the environment in the last assignment would help.

By ARGHYADIP G

May 04, 2020

the instructor is too good she had cleared each and every concepts and the contents are also very good

By Yogesh S

Apr 24, 2020

Enjoyed the course thoroughly

Look forward to learn a lot more & build my expertise- one step at a time

By Sameer M

Oct 13, 2019

This course is easy to understand basics of blockchain.. One should definitely learn from this course.

By DHVANI F

Aug 10, 2020

Helped me to understand basic concepts of blockchain. Thanks to coursera for providing such courses!!

By Ashwin S

Jun 09, 2020

Professor Bina Ma'am and the proper guidance by the coursera made it possible to complete this course

By Nileen C G

Aug 29, 2019

This was very good content. I loved the programming assignment. it helped understand how things work