Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,611 ratings
1,147 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

LM
Jul 29, 2019

Comprehensive and clear course that summarize the basic concepts to understand the blockchain technology. Also the resources and contents included are very valuables. I totally recommend this course.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,144 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Prakash C S

May 13, 2020

This is very very good for me and all the students and teachers like me thank you so much all the team of Coursera !

By Anand

Nov 16, 2018

Very informative for a beginner, Thank You @Bina and the University at Buffalo team for offering this on Coursera

By Lagadic A

Oct 30, 2019

Thanks !

The videos are clear, the sites given to explore are really useful to make sure we understood the concepts.

By Sameer G N

Jun 22, 2019

Gives good information on Blockchain and is a starting point for people who want to start their blockchain journey.

By Aman K G

Aug 22, 2020

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. You will learn the basics of the Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum.

By Gregory K

Sep 14, 2019

Very good introduction to blockchain technology. Perfect for the person with basic computer operations knowledge.

By Muthukumaran A

May 3, 2020

Condensed education content by Professor and team. Also liked the additional resources to read after each lesson.

By Arun K D

Jul 31, 2018

Good one. Gives you an detailed overview. Trainer was good with the content, however, the videos are not so good.

By Rijeen A M

Jun 19, 2020

Loved the way the course instructor simplified complex topic in a simple fashion (short video sessions/lessons)

By Ebin M

May 22, 2020

It is very helpful for beginners and the lectures was very interesting. Thank you Bina madame for the lectures.

By Ramakrishna R K

Mar 6, 2020

I had a good experience in this course. There was self check quiz which made me evaluate myself and work on it.

By Balaji C

Aug 24, 2019

So nice overall course experience especially program assignment its like a spoon feed of block chain beginners.

By SANKARA M

Feb 24, 2019

Teaching such complex subject at a lesser period of time requires great skillset.

I Thank Ms.Bina for the course

By Pranav P

Sep 24, 2018

The course content and instructor was really great. Will continue taking other courses from the series as well

By Diane H

Sep 14, 2019

An excellent intro course with substance. Will be useful and will not waste your time. Worth the commitment.

By Prasana R

Oct 11, 2020

One of the best sites and courses. I enjoyed learning the new tech. I am hoping to complete all the courses

By John D T

Feb 12, 2020

Very informational beginning blockchain course. Great resources are provided as well to help with learning.

By seyyed M H M

Feb 11, 2020

thanks for your great course... I really enjoyed it .... thancks for helping me pass it as a financial aid

By Angel

Mar 22, 2019

Great introduction, and the final project is a profitable way to understand some of the blockchain elements

By Todd N

Jul 9, 2018

Very good overview of the basic concepts around Blockchain and how it is used in both bitcoin and ethereum.

By Darla H K

Oct 17, 2020

The new technology blockchain is something that is interesting and the learning process. thank you cousera

By Rui V

May 12, 2020

Great course! Mrs. Ramamurthy explains the themes very well, and the lectures are challenging. Thanks all.

By Aadesh J B

May 26, 2020

Very well structured quiz and assignments . Had great learning and understanding of Basics of Blockchain.

By DEVRISHI D

May 9, 2020

Excellent Course for beginners and for anyone who's looking forward to exploring the world of blockchain.

By Amey K

May 1, 2020

A very gentle, but thorough introduction to Blockchains.

Programming assignment could be more challenging.