Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,619 ratings
1,148 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,144 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Muhammad M

Dec 13, 2019

It's an amazing course which helps me to understand the working of blockchain and etherum.thanks COURSERA

By Shanmuka A P

May 1, 2020

I got the best explanation from this instructor and I recommend every enthusiast to take up this course.

By Daniel G B

Apr 17, 2020

Thank's a million, crystal clear explanations, very useful graphical presentations. Bina is the best :-)

By Deepanjan D

Apr 11, 2020

Amazing course! Learned a lot about blockchain technology and about bitcoin network and ethereum network

By Amr M E

Aug 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the simplified approach of learning and mostly hands-on project @ the end of the course

By sanju a

Mar 4, 2020

Perfect course to learn blockchain concepts and get experience of creating a new blockchain transaction

By Narsinh

Oct 9, 2018

Perhaps a small issue but more clarity in setting up the environment in the last assignment would help.

By ARGHYADIP G

May 4, 2020

the instructor is too good she had cleared each and every concepts and the contents are also very good

By Yogesh S

Apr 24, 2020

Enjoyed the course thoroughly

Look forward to learn a lot more & build my expertise- one step at a time

By Sameer M

Oct 13, 2019

This course is easy to understand basics of blockchain.. One should definitely learn from this course.

By DHVANI F

Aug 10, 2020

Helped me to understand basic concepts of blockchain. Thanks to coursera for providing such courses!!

By Ashwin S

Jun 9, 2020

Professor Bina Ma'am and the proper guidance by the coursera made it possible to complete this course

By Nileen G

Aug 29, 2019

This was very good content. I loved the programming assignment. it helped understand how things work

By ESSO D

Jan 13, 2019

C'est un très bon cours qui nous permet d'avoir les notions de base sur la Blockchain!! Je suis ravi.

By Dipak G

Aug 31, 2020

Blockchain basics has a clear objective of what needs to be taught to make this technology relevant.

By OSIMOKUN E O

Oct 11, 2020

I'm really happy to be having such an amazing experience with the service rendered by the platform.

By Urvashi K

Sep 2, 2018

Great course for getting started with the basics of blockchain and understanding its core concepts.

By Abhishek J G

Apr 28, 2020

Great learning experience. I had no prior knowledge about Blockchain and it was really insightful.

By Hritika K

Aug 30, 2020

As I operate from windows, the assignment was too tough. Leaving that part everything was perfect

By Rodrigo T B

Aug 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, the explanations are remarkable and everything is interesting 10/10

By Muhammad A M

Apr 28, 2020

Very nice explanation ... Step by Step briefing .. seems like very easy way to explain.. Loved it

By Sandra L L G

Jan 18, 2019

Explains very well the basics of blockchain and their 2 main implementations. I've learned a lot.

By Mohamed S

Sep 23, 2018

A very helpful course. I recommend it to anyone seeking a good Blockchain background information.

By monika t

Oct 28, 2020

undoubtedly ...this is the best course for beginners to learn and implement things without fail.

By Kevin N

Jul 29, 2020

Very high level lecture on blockchain basics. I now have a broader idea on how blockchain works.