Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,621 ratings
1,148 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,145 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Adri J J J

May 29, 2020

This course helped me understand the basic concepts of Blockchains. Moreover, the analogies expressed are really interesting and tend to in pull our interest towards the course. Thank you, Prof. and team!

By James B

Oct 29, 2019

Great course for learning the basics of protocol and how this technology functions. Gives tangible insight into why this technology is so innovative and set to restructure much of our existing systems.

By Sahil S

Jul 28, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

By Slavoljub P

Jul 16, 2018

Amazing Course , easy to follow , in depth explanation, easy to understand , I have was amazing Experience, still learning a lot ... and for me this was the best way to start learn about blockchain

By Ronak L

Jul 15, 2019

A comprehensive course covering everything related to Blockchain Basics and great for Beginners and any professional who wants to start their career in Blockchain technology can take this course.

By Raghavendra G H

May 5, 2019

The course is well designed to give you an overview of Blockchain and the basic concepts. What is Smart Contract and other various terminologies and how they play a role in the blockchain. Thanks

By Dasy L

Jul 31, 2020

This course gave me a lot of knowledge about BlockChain. Before this course, I didn't have any knowledge about BlockChain. I learned BitCoin and Ehereum. I knew, how they work, how to apply?

By Nitin N

Nov 7, 2019

The course was at a right pace for me and it introduced concepts at the right level of detail. Also provided lot of reading and watching material that was useful for such a evolving subject.

By Yolanda

Jul 26, 2018

Excelente, me ha servido para afianzar conceptos que ya tenía pero que no había visto materializados. El proyecto aunque asusta un poco es bastante sencillo y entiendes muchas cosas. Gracias

By Hồng T N

Aug 17, 2020

This course is definitely perfect for beginners who started studying blockchain. I am going to suggest this course to my friends who are also interested in blockchain. Thank you, lecturers.

By ARAMBAKAM S

Jul 28, 2020

the blockchain concept is gonna be a revolutionary one in every field.

this course is very helpful and easily understandable for every one irrespective of the background from which they came

By Vivekananda G

Jul 24, 2020

excellent course regarding blockchain and amazing practicals work included. thank you very much. I wish you create a complete practical course, and make us more eager to do that. Thank you.

By Bikash R

Jan 21, 2019

Thank you Bina mam for making this this course. My knowledge is so much expand to take this course.

If you live 100+ years don't be confused many peoples blessing with you.

Thank you so much.

By Abilio R D

Nov 27, 2019

Lovely course, with good materials and also good references for reading, I also love the last and final assignment. Nothing better than to have some hands-on to apply have we have learned.

By Gianvito P

Dec 2, 2018

The course provides a high-level overview of blockchains, mainly Bitcoin and Ethereum. A good introductory course, necessary to follow the other courses of the specialization effectively.

By zain m

Aug 15, 2019

I would like to say that it is the best course that explains 100% of major parts of a blockchain and its architecture. Dr. Bina's experience on blockchain take this course to next level.

By Leonardo D M

Aug 10, 2019

Excelent oportunity for undergraduates to understand all the technologies behind the blockchain concept. Also fit for IT Managers that might need to get a trend update with large detail.

By Yasith R S

Jul 15, 2020

A Really great course to understand the basic concepts of the the block chain. clearly explained.

This would be a good choice for the students who likes to learn about cryptocurrencies.

By Dinu A

Aug 16, 2020

This is the best course for beginners who like to explore decentralized networks and cryptocurrencies. I highly recommend to anyone with the intention to start learning about crypto.

By RAJIT N

Jun 2, 2020

Instructor is excellent , I become her big fan. Her teaching skill and lecture delivery was is superb even a non technical person can also easily understand the basics of blockchain.

By Scott P

Jul 8, 2018

Really enjoyed, the materials supplied were great and the videos enhanced my understanding of the material even after reading multiple books, articles on blockchain/bitcoin/ethereum.

By Nagendra N

Feb 27, 2019

The course material is really good for the beginners to start with. It starts with BitCoin blockchain to Etherum. Good Content. Practical Project helped to understand it in detail.

By Dennis K

Jul 28, 2019

I've taken course from major universities costing $$$ which were not as well done as this course from University of Buffalo. everything you need to succeed and understand is here.

By Elias K

Aug 25, 2019

A very good point to start. The final assignment is really very helpful. The fully configured environment that it is provided gives the ability to explore the protocol in action.

By Nadine S

Jul 31, 2018

Overall, the course was worth the time and I'd recommend it to anyone who is curious about or wants to learn more about blockchain. See full review here. https://goo.gl/RKQ59D