Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,507 ratings
1,130 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises. Continuing education units (CEUs) and professional development hours (PDHs) are available through the UB Center for Industrial Effectiveness (UB TCIE) for learners who earn a course certificate....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 19, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS

Jul 28, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,126 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Acyuta C

Nov 10, 2018

Excellent course. More technical than I expected; very complete and very well explained concepts and implementation of Bitcoin and Ethereum blockchains.

By Amitabh O

Oct 16, 2018

The course helps put together the pieces of the blockchain puzzle and build a solid foundation for understanding the working of blockchain applications.

By Karthikeyan V

Sep 24, 2018

Very Good beginner Course. The additional sections with links provided the required knowledge and reading is very important than just the video Lectures

By Aditya K

Jun 07, 2020

It is very great experience of having a knowledge about block chain a course certificate. A platform where we can learn so much from abroad professors.

By Narendra G

Mar 23, 2020

Great pace! Great explanation! Liked the 5-7 minute video lectures and then the great reading material provided that enhanced my understanding. Thanks!

By Rao N A

Jul 09, 2019

This course very Good for new learners having intermediate level of coding. It cleared my concepts and helped me visualize the logic behind Blockchain.

By Jagadeesh A

Jul 20, 2020

The Course was understandable, and the instructor was excellent. Understood all the points taught by the instructor. Motivating to study cryptography.

By Tejasvi S

Jun 23, 2020

I have learned a lot from your amazing course,at first i was so confuse and unclear ,but now i have basic fundamental knowledge .

Thank you so much!!!!

By kapil c

Sep 24, 2018

It was great course and I learned lot about blockchain and how it works internally and it was totally different from the way I was thinking blockchain

By harsh s

Aug 30, 2020

Had great Quizzes , but please dear coursera respond to feedbacks, issues from students isn't handled within minimum time please do take care of it

By PRAFUL P P

Jul 18, 2020

Very well explained by the Prof Bina Ramamurthy. It is recommend for everyone to have a basic knowledge of Blockchain through this valuable course.

By Bharath K S

Jun 03, 2020

Coolest Course,The references were just Awesome!!!

If you have to rate the references my score would be 11/10.

Great work by University of Buffalo!!!

By Jayashree A V

May 07, 2020

This course is very helpful for beginner and to understand the basic concepts of Blockchain. The project was interactive and easily understandable.

By Anant S

Apr 24, 2020

Indeed a great course! It would have been better if there were more in the last assignment and we knew what we were doing instead of just clicking.

By Omkar

Mar 04, 2020

Great course !!!

This is my first course on coursera and I learned a lot during this course. Once again thank you Bina Ramamurthy and team coursera.

By Mallicka G

Jul 20, 2020

Very nice course to learn the basics of Cryptocurrency. Those who don't have any idea, can start with this course. This will be very much helpful.

By Jay C

Nov 19, 2018

Easy to follow material, clearly presented, logical layout of the study concepts. I would recommend to anyone interested in blockchain technology.

By Chandramohan S

May 31, 2020

This course provides the fundamental concepts involved in the Bloc chain with real-time examples. I really liked the way the course is organised.

By Diogo S M

Jul 26, 2018

Great Course with clear and concise videos and many interesting links for reading. The Project at the end of course is interesting and practical.

By Nathchaya W

Aug 03, 2019

It's the best of my oppotunity to learn about this course because it's adventage to me and also the future carreer of my life.

thank you so much

By Heather M

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent comprehensive review of blockchain structure. Clear definition of key concepts. Thorough resources included in instruction modules.

By Luis G L G

Sep 04, 2018

Excellent course. If you want to learn about blockchain in a very easy way to understand, with practical exercises this is the course for you.

By Siddhant G

Jun 25, 2020

This is a great course and you can fairly have a nice idea of how the blockchain technology works and how you can use it for future purposes.

By Gabriel M

Sep 04, 2018

Excellent course, great material and resources to learn about different blockchains (ETH & BTC) ,you get to learn a lot. Highly recommended!.

By Shashank K

Jun 28, 2018

Really good!!!! I now feel very confident with blockchain basic. Thx to the expert faculty in this course. Highly recommend this to everyone.