Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
902 ratings
398 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
Feb 4, 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 395 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Jennifer M C

Jun 19, 2020

Really great course! Really interactive and well done and it taught me a lot about insects! I would definitely recommend.

By Sharon M

Oct 23, 2019

I enjoyed this course. There was so much to learn and appreciate of our small friends and some that were not so friendly.

By Sajna v

May 21, 2020

Most beneficial online course i ever attend during this lock down time..it is more interesting and informative at a time

By Florbela B d O T

May 11, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course, not only the contents were great, but people giving the lectures were amazing! Thanks

By Kimberly G

Nov 20, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. The information provided was always very interesting and I have learned a lot about insects.

By Cián D

Oct 8, 2019

I think insects are really cool and I want to try Entomophagy some day. Thanks Bugs 101 insect-human interactions team.

By Catherine L B

Jan 30, 2021

Great instructors, fascinating material. Really appreciated the typed video scripts, course notes and course glossary.

By Gabriela Q d M

Dec 1, 2020

Curso muito legal e diverso para quem se interessa pela entomologia. Sou bióloga e aprendi e relembrei muitas coisas!

By Jane W

Nov 20, 2020

This course was fun. I learned a great deal about arthropods, and it provided many resources for continuing to learn.

By Theresa C

Aug 26, 2020

This was a great course that I learned a lot more about bugs! Thank you for the free course, it is much appreciated.

By Amanda M

Mar 16, 2020

Loved the instructors and how nicely the presentation was put together. This has been my favorite Coursera course!!

By Carl B

Nov 12, 2019

Perfect course for introduction to bugs. Great instructors and such a wide range of topics covered. Thanks so much.

By Winnie C F

Sep 6, 2020

This course was wonderful. I greatly appreciate the opportunity to be able to learn more and more about insects.

By Kristine Z

Jan 9, 2021

Great course! Wonderful use of videos, graphs, interviews, and more. Engaging and knowledgeable instructors.

By William B

Jun 18, 2020

the teaching and student community did an amazing job at expanding my knowledge and appreciation for insects

By Susan M

Sep 4, 2019

Great course! Please do another focussing on invertebrate classification. Thanks for your excellent efforts!

By Blaine A S

Nov 9, 2019

What a great course! Very informative and interesting. Thank you for making it available!

Blaine Stockwell

By Judith H A

Mar 1, 2021

An absolute joy, a treat for insect enthusiasts as well as newcomers. Informative and fun. Thanks a lot!

By Keith U

Dec 7, 2020

Great Course, learned quite a bit and have an even more like for insects and what they do for the world.

By Deborah H

Oct 14, 2020

Not only were the modules informative, they were visually engaging and the professors were entertaining!

By FRANK A

Sep 7, 2020

An excellent course that opens ones eyes to the vital nature of insects in relation to human existence.

By Juan S H S

Sep 20, 2020

Execelente curso con información muy practica e interesante. excelente plataforma y material entregado

By Crystal I

Dec 6, 2019

It was an excellent course! I would highly recommend this to anyone with an interest in entomology

By Stephanie

Feb 16, 2021

Loved learning more about Insects and their importance in our world. Great course, I want more!

By Io K

Jan 2, 2021

Very interesting course,a fun way to learn about insects with accurate and useful information!