Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
1,009 ratings
448 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MH
Nov 19, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 445 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Deborah H

Oct 14, 2020

Not only were the modules informative, they were visually engaging and the professors were entertaining!

By FRANK A

Sep 7, 2020

An excellent course that opens ones eyes to the vital nature of insects in relation to human existence.

By Juan S H S

Sep 20, 2020

Execelente curso con información muy practica e interesante. excelente plataforma y material entregado

By Eric E

May 6, 2021

Really interesting. Part were a bit tough because of technical issues, but very useful and well done.

By Crystal I

Dec 6, 2019

It was an excellent course! I would highly recommend this to anyone with an interest in entomology

By Stella B

Aug 5, 2021

I really enjoyed this course; very dynamic and insightful. Thank you for all your great efforts!

By Stephanie

Feb 16, 2021

Loved learning more about Insects and their importance in our world. Great course, I want more!

By Io K

Jan 2, 2021

Very interesting course,a fun way to learn about insects with accurate and useful information!

By H H

Aug 3, 2020

U of A really dedicated their time and effort to create this excellent on-line course. Thanks!

By Ayesha F

Nov 9, 2020

Loved it.. All the quizzes were just awesome... 🔥❤👌 Informative to it's fullest...!! 💯😊

By Maria S

May 4, 2020

Best course I've ever taken on entomology! Amazing professors and delivery of information.

By Nikita M

Jan 26, 2021

Really fun and interesting, great lecturers, interactive components, and guest interviews.

By Surendra S S

May 25, 2020

It was an excellent course and everyone who interested in insects, should take this course

By Rodrigo M L

Nov 26, 2019

I am from Argentina and I found this course incredibly complete and clear. Thanks a lot!!

By Valentina P

Sep 27, 2021

m​e encato este curso, me encantaria que hubira una segunda parte,o uno parecido a esete

By E. C

Jul 9, 2021

Loved it! Learned that there's a lot more to insects and other inverts than I thought.

By Kimberly A D

Oct 1, 2020

Very informative and easy to understand. Recommended for people starting in entomology!

By Bárbara F F

Aug 30, 2020

Esse curso é incrível e mostra diferentes aspectos dos insetos tornando-os fascinantes.

By Sherif H A

Jan 15, 2020

one of the most challenged and fruitful courses. i have earned a lot of new information

By Genevieve b

Jul 29, 2020

Learned so much more than I expected to! Would highly recommend this course to others.

By Chelsea D

Jul 10, 2020

What a wonderful, free online course! So much information and really well structured!

By Muhammad A

Jan 28, 2020

It is very informative course. I really enjoy this take and teaching team is awesome.

By Camille T

Jul 11, 2020

I learned so much from this course. It was incredibly thorough and very interesting.

By THEODORE A

Sep 26, 2021

The videos were very informational and the outside resources heavily interested me.

By loren l

Jul 12, 2020

Well made course, kudos to the quality work and entomologists who made this course.