Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
826 ratings
366 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
Feb 4, 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 363 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Jeanne A C

Jun 16, 2020

This is an awesome course which examines the world of insects where it intersects with humans. I never thought that I would learn so much material that could be useful in my daily activities as a Master Gardner, especially about insect reproduction and IPM. Thanks so much to the instructors and to U of Alberta.

By Molly K

Jun 9, 2020

This course was extremely thorough. It covered so many aspects, some I was aware of, but most I wasn't. I really learned a lot and enjoyed it quite a bit. The instructors and special guest experts were very easy to understand and gave valuable information. Very thankful that it was available in this format.

By André M M S

Aug 3, 2020

De verdad me pareció un curso muy bueno porque soy un principiante en todo el mundo de los insectos y los instructores, actividades y vídeos hicieron muy digerible toda la información. Siento que todas las herramientas que me dieron serán de mucha ayuda en el futuro de mi carrera. Muchas gracias por este curso.

By Deb L

Dec 6, 2020

This is hands down the best online course I have ever taken, and I've been taking them for at least 5 years now. Am hoping I can take it again in the near future as I know there is plenty more to be learned from these amazing and enthusiastic instructors. Thank you so much for making this available to us!

By Barbara K

Oct 22, 2020

Excellent Course, enjoyed learning about these beautiful creatures and the role they play in our lives and ecosystem. Well balanced presentations, and very clear. Beautiful Photography and interesting people. Makes me want to visit!

I need to review the course again to fully benefit from the information.

By David G

Aug 14, 2020

Thanks so much for an outstanding class about insects and their valuable contribution to our well-being. All of the professors and guest speakers were outstanding, and genuinely made learning entomology fun. I really appreciate the great time and effort that went into making and presenting this class.

By Ricardo j m n

May 15, 2020

Great course, with very good lecturers. managed to compile so much information and keep it interesting and focused. the course is very well structured and allow to advance at our own pace. Really well done. it would be great if there are some more specific follow up courses and a bit more on arachnids.

By Mohammed S

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent!!! Glad i took this course. The subject was taught slowy and all four of the tutors made themeselves very interesting to listen to. Subject was quite expansive but really worth it. Could have gone little bit more into the different species as well. Appreciate the effort of the whole team.

By Ahn f

Oct 5, 2020

Thank you so much I am an aspiring entomologist (although only 13) and was finding difficulty discovering a course about insects that fit my age group as I am very passionate I had to wildly jump around things and self teach myself and it was really nice to be guided and learn a lot of new things!

By Anne-Lise D

Nov 29, 2020

After having taken multiple online courses, this one was the richest in term of provided knowledge. Its design and creation were taken very seriously. It offers strong support orally, visually and on paper. This must have been a real job to achieve for the team: very well done and thank you!

By Nancy M

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the lay out of the material and the freedom to complete each module through out an entire week. Makes it enjoyable and practical for anyone working while taking this course. The information was educational and up to date. Good Job delivering this course.

By Jessica B

Jan 2, 2020

I was hoping to develop a understanding of the little creepie crawlies and gain some appreciation for them which I did - still not a huge fan yet more gratefull we have them. A very insightful course and nicely spread out not overwhelming to digest. Thanks to those involved. very well done

By James B

Oct 25, 2019

Excellent and in-depth summary of the many ways in which insects impact our daily lives. I found the portion of their effects on crop management both as pests and biological controls particularly exciting! Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in expanding their knowledge base.

By Fran S

Aug 19, 2019

Although I've always rather liked bugs, after having taken BUGS 101, I have a much deeper appreciation for the value of insects in my daily life and for the importance of insect life in the entire ecosystem.

The course was well-organized, well-presented, and absolutely valuable.

By Shubham K

Jun 14, 2020

Thank you for this wonderful and informative course, I've learned a lot and i still am willing to learn more. Thanks to this course, now I'm more curious about what creeps and crawls around me and what benefits or harms it can cause and how I can manage them... Thank you....

By Winnifred W

Jun 27, 2020

This course was amazing! I recommend it to people with some background in biology. You do not just learn the benefits of insects and other arthropods. You learn how to preserve these tiny wonders. What you do not see or barely see in the wild, effects your life every day.

By Dorothy J

Sep 29, 2019

Very informative and interesting. I liked the topics from what bugs are, to how they are managed, and then cultural aspects. It is giving me a new way to look at what is in my backyard, where if I need to do a little pest management, I don’t need to use strong pesticides.

By Ana C T R

Jan 5, 2021

I really love insects and it was a really informative course, very concise and well structured. The concepts were very clear and the additional material was very helpful. Congratulations to the university of Alberta, it's academics and the team that produced this videos.

By Josh C

Nov 23, 2020

This was perfect for me as a side-course to take in the evening after my kids and work have been completed. I learned much more than I expected, and really enjoyed the lessons from the whole team! Would definitely recommend to anyone who's remotely interested in insects.

By Melanie d M

Dec 23, 2019

Thank you so much for such an informative and fascinatingly awesome course! I've learned so much and gained an even bigger appreciation for these amazing creatures! I would highly recommend this course to everyone, from beginners to professionals working in conservation.

By Aavash A

Jan 5, 2021

The course was really insightful. The conversation with different experts from their respective fields makes me aware of the scope of entomology. After completing the course I have developed much respect for insects and I aspire to be a good entomologist in the future.

By Mary C

Dec 2, 2020

I would recommend this course for everyone who cares about sustainability and the environment. It is an excellent course which is very well presented. Also, the visuals are fascinating. I've always liked insects, but now I have an even greater appreciation for them.

By Georgios K

Dec 20, 2019

I totally enjoyed this course! It was a great experience! All the instructors had done a great job and everything was understandable and clear. I learned a lot of new things and I am very happy that I had the opportunity to obtain this knowledge! Thank you very much!

By Mary J B

Nov 26, 2020

This was an enlightening, intriguing, thorough, challenging, balanced entomology course that was scientifically presented. The quantity and quality of supplementary readings was outstanding, and the course notes are absolute keepers for future reference and review.

By Raiyan M D

Jul 15, 2020

It's a great course for anyone who loves insects, and my gosh must I say that the prepared summary slides for each chapter is AMAZING! I am an environmental science uni student at James Cook University, and the quality of our slides do NOT even come close to these!