Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
755 ratings
333 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
Feb 4, 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 330 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Deborah H

Oct 14, 2020

Not only were the modules informative, they were visually engaging and the professors were entertaining!

By FRANK A

Sep 7, 2020

An excellent course that opens ones eyes to the vital nature of insects in relation to human existence.

By Juan S H S

Sep 20, 2020

Execelente curso con información muy practica e interesante. excelente plataforma y material entregado

By Crystal I

Dec 6, 2019

It was an excellent course! I would highly recommend this to anyone with an interest in entomology

By H H

Aug 3, 2020

U of A really dedicated their time and effort to create this excellent on-line course. Thanks!

By Ayesha F

Nov 9, 2020

Loved it.. All the quizzes were just awesome... 🔥❤👌 Informative to it's fullest...!! 💯😊

By Maria S

May 4, 2020

Best course I've ever taken on entomology! Amazing professors and delivery of information.

By Surendra S S

May 25, 2020

It was an excellent course and everyone who interested in insects, should take this course

By Rodrigo M L

Nov 26, 2019

I am from Argentina and I found this course incredibly complete and clear. Thanks a lot!!

By Kimberly A D

Oct 1, 2020

Very informative and easy to understand. Recommended for people starting in entomology!

By Bárbara F F

Aug 30, 2020

Esse curso é incrível e mostra diferentes aspectos dos insetos tornando-os fascinantes.

By Sherif H A

Jan 15, 2020

one of the most challenged and fruitful courses. i have earned a lot of new information

By Genevieve b

Jul 29, 2020

Learned so much more than I expected to! Would highly recommend this course to others.

By Chelsea D

Jul 10, 2020

What a wonderful, free online course! So much information and really well structured!

By Muhammad A

Jan 28, 2020

It is very informative course. I really enjoy this take and teaching team is awesome.

By Camille T

Jul 11, 2020

I learned so much from this course. It was incredibly thorough and very interesting.

By Loren L

Jul 12, 2020

Well made course, kudos to the quality work and entomologists who made this course.

By Diana C H

Nov 23, 2020

Es un curso muy completo, dinámico, interactivo y de gran interés, felicitaciones.

By Amelia W

Oct 30, 2019

Accessible and interesting. Increased my knowledge of and enthusiasm for insects.

By Carolin S

Nov 4, 2019

Both the material taught and the way of presenting the contents are outstanding.

By Kusum R T

May 29, 2020

Exceptionally crafted course. I am in love with theses professors and mentors.

By Terry K

Apr 10, 2020

Informative, entertaining and not overwhelming. Exactly what I was looking for.

By Matthieu O

Jul 1, 2020

Thank you very much for this class on the huge Insect world that surrounds us

By Tim G

Apr 24, 2020

What a great course. This was very well presented and I greatly enjoyed it.

By Toby-Anne R

Nov 7, 2019

Great course! Well laid out and presented with a good depth of the subject.