Chevron Left
Back to C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.5
stars
5,883 ratings

About the Course

This course is for everyone. In the new world we live in, coding is a universally valuable skill, whether you're a scientist, artist, or a humanist. Algorithms are everywhere, and we all have to understand how they work. The C language is particularly well suited as an introduction to coding: It's a tried-and-true language, and it allows you to understand computing processes at a deep level. No prior knowledge of coding is needed for this course. We'll start at the beginning. The time estimated time commitment for this course is five hours a week for five weeks....

Top reviews

MA

Jun 21, 2020

I am really happy I did this course. The instructor is a really experienced teacher. This course gave a good start for learning the fundamentals and moving onto complex programming languages like C++.

CN

Apr 21, 2020

Great course to gain a foundation in C programming! The video lectures, coding examples, and peer reviewing of assignments allows one to learn quick and in real time. Would definitely recommend it.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,640 Reviews for C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals

By khadeeja r

May 30, 2020

Can't get certificate

By Tony B

Sep 2, 2020

Before joining this course i hated programming,but now i am in love with it.

You may feel worse in the first two videos keep going you will be benefitted

This helped me understand what i have learned in my school(c++).

i recommend everyone to take this course as it truly benefits anyone aspiring to rise in the field of programming as c is the base and we have a very good mentor Ira Pohl and weekly exams, correcting your fellow mates answers and quizs.This course will help you answer any programming questions on c.

By Parth M P

Jun 16, 2020

I am very happy to learn this course and this stream is very helpful for everyone.

I like this course and thaks for Coursera team.

By Chinmay S J

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course!! We get to learn the overall C language from the basics .

By George C

May 28, 2020

Course is not very organized. Assignment has items that are not taught for the week and are taught the week after assignment is due. Lots of assignment included things that were never in the lecture and I had to google to learn how to do it. Instructor is just reading notes most of the time. Need to show us how to run the program on his computer more to see how everything works.

By Jeehan ( S

Sep 28, 2020

Warning: Only try this course if you enjoy searching extra stuff about C on the internet, and doing assignments that use knowledge that we are not taught in the course. Oh, by the way. You might want to speed up the videos to *1.25. The teacher talks a bit slowly.

By Arjun P

Oct 16, 2022

Audio was very bad in a number of videos and the instructor is quite dull

By Harshit K

Nov 1, 2022

The teaching style was not that effective and good. The teacher should write the code infront of the students instead of writing it from before.

By Lauren W

Nov 5, 2022

The price to value ratio for this course is not very good at all. The content was very good and the professor certainly has a high level of expertise in the subject, but the way the course was organized was not totally impressive. There were not many assignments or practice questions provided and those that were there were all peer graded assignments with no oversight. On the one side the peer graded assignments are great because you can learn from the different ways others tackled the project, on the other hand your peers have a lot of control over your grade. Additionally, I was unable to see the comments and the way that my assignments were marked, so I have no idea what I should have done differently or better. I felt the course left the learner with a lot of responsibility to figure things out on their own and from the perspective of someone who decided to pay for a course to be guided through the subject, it seems like there should be more assignments and examples given from the professor and a professional marking your assignments who can tell you what to do better. I think my time is better spent learning to code on my own and I honestly feel it was a major waste of money to take this course.

By Deleted A

Dec 27, 2021

Professor does not give all the information in order to be able to properly understand his videos. I had to search the internet to find answers to things he left out. Why pay for something I can get for free. It appears that the videos are snippets of his real class.

By EREN A

Nov 10, 2021

As a relatively experienced programmer in other languages, I have to say this is the worst course and the worst "instructor" I have come across so far.

By meftah

Apr 7, 2020

I can't run these code in my Codeblock compiler

By SAFAR A

Sep 27, 2022

This course not good.

By Yamina i

May 26, 2020

boring too much

By Marphy W K H

Aug 22, 2020

Initially I wasn't quite confident in the course quality as it seemed like the instructor didn't invest much in presenting the materials in the usually-expected manner, i.e. neatly typed-out codes and slides. However, as I followed the course in the first week, very quickly I realized that the instructor was really a veteran in teaching programming - he really knew his things and he knew how to share his knowledge with us! I am aware that there are comments on the 'poor' (really this means I suppose the look of materials but not referring to the content quality) materials, but I would like to encourage learners who are into learning programming to try this course out.

By Sarah C

Jun 17, 2020

As a complete newbie, I found this course very challenging but ultimately very satisfying. There is a lot of outside learning I had to do, so 5 hours a week which is printed on my certificate is not actually accurate. More like 20. That being said, I was able to work my way through the course and although my brain exploded many times, I received a good score. From someone who had to google what is Pi in the first week, I came away with a 92% score. Good introductory course.. don't be scared by the difficult subjects.

By Chirag N

Jan 19, 2022

Hello Everyone,

This course really helped me a lot as it gives me a well understanding of C programming language and made me understood various algorithms and also gave me a well experience of coding as I am a beginner.

I really appreciate the guidance teacher and looking forward to take my next course on this specialisation, I also want to thank all my peers for reviewing the assignments and also giving the right marks which, it deserves.

Thank You,

Chirag Narnolia

By Maria S

Jan 17, 2021

Very well structured course by an experienced professor. Needs an accompanying textbook and some serious studying if you're completely new to programming, like I am. The exercises and quizzes are challenging and help a lot in figuring out where your weak spots are, or what you haven't understood correctly. The code examples given are practical, can be tweaked relatively easily and will prove very useful in the future.

By Kalyana C

Aug 13, 2021

Dr. Pohl, sir has explained each concept with giving examples making the concept clear, and he also makes sure that the class never went boring, and made the course a fun and happy learning platform, i thank Dr. Pohl because of this course i am able to understand the concept of c programming, now i can execute codes with ease, thank you sir Dr. Pohl and thank you Coursera.

By 027 A S

Jun 28, 2020

Great opportunity to learn. It was not all served in a well garnished plate. We had to figure many things on our own, which compelled us to go through many things and learn many new and different things.

To understand what are we really looking for and how it is applicable in our task.

Thank you very much Dr. Ira Pohl or Dr.P as I remember

By A C Q C

Sep 27, 2020

This was an amazing course! I've learned so much about programming in C and the activities were very challenging for me. It made me search for as many concepts as I could and even interesting facts about the language itself! I totally recommend it to everyone who wants to get to know the C language. Go give it a try!

By Nikhil K

Jun 25, 2020

I thought it was an excellent introduction to the C language and its many intricacies. This course is suitable for any skill level although I think it caters more towards beginner programmers. Professor Pohl explains the concept thoroughly and gives examples for each one of them which shows what they do in a program.

By Ahmed E A

Dec 11, 2020

The major and most important point about "C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals" is the presentation of highly complex ideas in a simple and straight-forward way. The lecturer masterfully offers a good appetizer for early learners seeking a programming career or general knowledge about the language.

By Huda N S

Jul 2, 2020

This course is very helpful for students learning c language as it covers all basic and essential concepts.

Also many mathematical concepts are cleared and since lots of practice questions are provided int the end of videos it helps to understand many concepts .

Proper explaination is given in the course

By Cristiano R

Feb 1, 2021

Very interesting course! Professor Ira Pohl explains very well. The videos are well done and never boring. In the videos, a lot of pratical examples are explained. I recommend this course for everyone want to start to leanr C for the first time. It's interesting for experienced C programmes too.