Chevron Left
Back to C++ For C Programmers, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for C++ For C Programmers, Part A by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.4
658 ratings
153 reviews

About the Course

This course is for experienced C programmers who want to program in C++. The examples and exercises require a basic understanding of algorithms and object-oriented software....

Top reviews

RH

Oct 17, 2016

Just right for programmers seeking to update their skills to the new V11 C++. I recommend getting the book by the author that helps along with a text or Coursera course on Algorithms.

GD

Mar 23, 2016

A much needed course for all those students who have strong fundamentals in C Programming but lack the OOP skills in C++.\n\nStill there is a scope of improvement.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 152 Reviews for C++ For C Programmers, Part A

By Shivi B

Jun 23, 2019

Very good course for working professional. Will help you to write better course and assignments help you revise complete STL.

By Bolusani S

Jun 25, 2019

it was very useful

By Abhishek P

Jul 06, 2019

It was so much useful learning C++ .Implementation of algorithms learned me a lot .

By Ankit M

Jul 17, 2019

little bit hard

By Parag R

Jul 27, 2019

Amazing

By Parul A

Jul 31, 2019

Understandable lectures with challenging assignments

By Rahul k

Aug 02, 2019

I love c++ programming

By LOKESH M

Aug 07, 2019

machayenge

By Mudit G

Aug 14, 2019

Nice learning experience, got new things to learn.

By Shantala G K

Aug 26, 2019

The course is very well formulated through a series of videos which provide the essential tips, which you otherwise get from books only after reading a whole lot of pages.

The assignments are designed such that you have the freedom to do the coding, yet you have the opportunity to develop simplified code by figuring out better ways of coding using STL. So, for me, who knows C programming, it was through the assignments that I slowly upgraded from doing C programming to C++ programming by improvising on the same code I wrote for one homework by making use of STL in the next homework.

It's amazing that with a only a few hours of lectures, we're transformed into C++ programmers from C programmers. Grateful and keep up the great work!

By Simon D

Aug 26, 2019

It is a very good course.

By Sanjay K

Sep 05, 2019

Best course for beginners....

By kunal a

Sep 05, 2019

very nice coursera

By Daniel S

Sep 15, 2019

Helpful for someone like me who's studied C at the university level, but needs a quick introduction to the unique concepts added by C++.

By Anil T

Jul 16, 2018

Overall Good.Learnt many new concepts.Thank you .

By Sayan M

Jul 14, 2018

Excellent

By Javier A

Feb 17, 2018

I highly recommend this course, it provides a great introduction to C++ and some of its most interesting features. If you are an experienced programmer, you will probably have the feeling that it is a slow pace course, but it is still worth it.

By SAHAJ V

Dec 15, 2016

The course should have a more detailed analysis of c++

By Thiago P B

Mar 17, 2017

Great overall introduction to C++ for C programmers. It should be emphasized FOR C PROGRAMMERS.

Once you know your stuff and a little bit of Computer Science (data structures and algorithms), this course can benefit you if you never had a formal course or introduction on C++.

The instructor is well-versed in the topic and the examples are pretty interesting from a CS point of view.

By Andre C

Aug 22, 2016

Excellent course. It helps you transition to C++ by understanding the reasons, not just a simple recipe.

By Jim R

Apr 07, 2016

Very good course, the content is great and well organized. The slides with code are a bit of an embarrassment for the University of California. The code is presented on what looks like a power point slide with bullets so the formatting and alignment is totally messed up, and then there are no shortage of typo's and code errors. But, the material is very good and Ira Pohl does an excellent job presenting it.

All in all a great course and exactly what I was looking for.

By Kirill S

Jun 25, 2017

Good material but sometimes useful part are after homeworks. Interesting homeworks.

By Jerry C

Aug 01, 2017

It's a nice course for C programmers to get to know what C++ is all about. The homework assignments are challenging, forcing you to really understand and implement the new language. The peer-review mechanism is somewhat amazing. I actually learned 1/3 of my C++ skills from reviewing others work. However, the contents itself could still be further refined. The audio volume is somewhat too small, the speech rate is rather slow, and the wording could be further simplified for non-native speakers. All in all, its a nice and compact course, I would surely recommend this course to anyone who want to learn C++ as a C programmer.

By Apoorv R

Jun 24, 2018

Good introductory course to C++ basics.

By Debjyoti M

Apr 16, 2016

This course provides good overview graph algorithms. It is not an extensive C++ course though.