Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
8,756 ratings
3,457 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

EB
Jul 3, 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.\n\nI find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

R
Jul 20, 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

Filter by:

3126 - 3150 of 3,416 Reviews for English for Career Development

By Alessandro T

Apr 26, 2020

It is a well done course that gives usefull informations and advices about job seeking, and permit to practise with the language. Unfortunately, not all the "students" take it seriously

By Marcelle L

Nov 9, 2020

"English for Career Development " was an interesting course to take. It talked about simple topics on the job search and application process that added to my understanding of it.

By Naira G

Jul 3, 2020

I WOULD BE BETTER TO GET SOME FEEDBACK NOT ONLY FROM.MY COURSEMATES BUT ALSO FROM THE TUTORS. EVERYTHING WAS CLEARLY EXPLAINED AND PERFECTLY DONE. THANKS A LOT FOR THIS COURSE!

By WAJID A M

Nov 10, 2016

It awesome course with Sweet And Fabulous teachers i am thankful to Coursera And Penn for this Opportunity. thanks to Sir Brian McManus & Mem Robyn Turner.. Always keep Smile.

By M. J R

May 20, 2020

This is very useful and resourceful course for people aiming at career development and course covered almost all the essential issues and points related to career development.

By Rocio O

Oct 2, 2020

fácil, básico, ideal para quien no sepa casi nada de ingles o esté aprendiendo. Para aquellos que desean saber como postular a un trabajo en USA y otros países extranjeros.

By Myat T H

Jul 20, 2020

It is a good help for a new appliant like me.I like the instructors' discusions and I will try to apply the job soon.Thank you for your help both the teachers and coursera.

By Ana A

Dec 18, 2020

full of information of tips to excel in resume and cover letter writing as well as in the art of interviewing. Plenty of examples and resources as well as self study.

By Irma R

Nov 8, 2020

Thank you. Very good course, I learn different tips to improve my resume and also I catch the importance to create the cover letter an de make successful interviews.

By Sharnette B

May 28, 2020

A very practical course. I enjoyed the exercises though some caused me to think deeply before responding. It would do participants well to take the course seriously.

By EULOGIO B V P

Aug 24, 2020

This course is very informative and contains useful information. I did this course because I wanted to brush up my Resume, Cover letter and Interview techniques.

By Nguyễn H T T

Jul 9, 2020

This course is helpful. I've read 2-3 books about career development before taking this course. Some useful information from the lecture was not in those books.

By Kelly R

Jun 15, 2020

Course is great. It could give more examples for the job interview. Unfortunately, some peers do not understand grading assignments so well and give low grades.

By Quoc H L

May 27, 2018

A very informative and practical course for people who are going to graduate from university and are about to enter the hectic, competitive workforce like me.

By Liah T

Apr 16, 2020

it is good coz this activity can help anyone to know how to make resume and cover letter. But so far i didn't receive a email that i finsih the activities.

By Sarthak D

Mar 29, 2020

Course was very easy with videos, readings and frequent exercises. Tone and speed of delivery and the content was enough to grasp the subject in less time.

By RAYIPALLI P

Apr 6, 2020

I am really happy to be a part of this course.It really helped me a lot in preparing for the interviews and realizing my areas of interests and my skills.

By Yesri G

May 26, 2020

Very helpful course! The instructors delivered the course very clear, the assessments and quizzes are fun and deepening my understanding to the contents.

By Carmen M Z Z

Dec 12, 2020

Me encantaria un curso donde pueda reforzar mi pronunciacion y poder hablar, realmente aprendi mucho sobre como mejorar en mi carrera como profesional,

By Pablo M C R

May 30, 2020

It was a very interesting experience, this course taught me and opened my mind about how to look for a job both in my country and in the United States.

By Oscar T

Aug 26, 2019

Ce cours était plus tôt bon dans l'ensemble. Les exemples et les cas d'explications nous ont permis d'apprendre de façon plus ales différents modules

By Mostafa M

Oct 25, 2019

very beneficial which is rich in very good information for any fresh or entry level graduates and need to improve their language and business skills

By Pedaprolu R

Feb 1, 2018

It is very good course and because of it i can understand and what to do in getting job and how to prepare resume and how to attempt the interview

By javier c

Sep 1, 2020

Great course! I recommend it for people who has low-medium level of english and want to improve it and/or want to learn about job search fase.

By vijaya r

Aug 1, 2020

A GREAT AND ENJOYABLE COURSE BUT THEY COULD'VE INCLUDED MORE OF REAL-LIFE DRAMAS LIKE IN THE LAST 3 VIDEOS :) TO MAKE IT MORE ENTERTAINING...