Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
11,064 ratings
4,272 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

R
Jul 20, 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

EB
Jul 3, 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.\n\nI find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

Filter by:

3851 - 3875 of 4,272 Reviews for English for Career Development

By Rachna

Apr 12, 2020

prepare person properly before applying job . I m Undergraduate and have no plans of joining job before completing my graduation but i think it was very important to learn all these things at this point of time so that we could also work on resume building.

I deducted one star because price of this certificate is high according to me.

By Yasunori S

Aug 15, 2020

Teachers speak slow. Scripts for all videos could be seen (I found this function after I had passed the half). So, it is ideal for learners of basic English. The initial course looks start early, but some materials have added until recently. If you are interested in career development in the States, why not take this?

By Juan R V C

Jul 13, 2020

It was an interesting experience overall. Even though I knew most of the topics, there was always something new I didn’t know about. I feel better equipped and more confident when preparing my resume, networking or coping with a job interview. Thanks to the instructors, very well articulated and professionals.

By Rupali S

Sep 8, 2020

I am really happy and updated after completing this course. This course taught me to how to upgrade your self while looking for jobs, how to write Resume and cover letter. It also taught me how to prepare for facing the interview and prepare interview questions.

Thank you Iam really oblige

By Vytautas L

May 4, 2021

Great course. Several language learning disciplines combined into one main topic. Also specific areas covered provided in deep aspects. Few minor shortfalls while attending course on mobile device. Great teaching techniques used. Informative as well. Overall grade would be 4.6 out of 5.

By HILAL I K

May 5, 2020

Thank you for teaching me what I do and don't in interviewing. I gained lots of new experiences and abilities in this course. Teachers are really helpful and their videos are understandable and clear. Videos, readings, quizzes, and practices are useful to learn for career development.

By jyoti p

May 7, 2020

It is a wonderful course for every one who really want to do something different in their life and for those who are worried about there jobs and career.

We all have potential to do something special in life but there is need of some step to take those steps are here.

Great job!😊

By Franziska H

Nov 13, 2018

After first steps in the course (Problems with the peer) I got along very good. I found out that I didn't need always that much time as optionally supposed. So I was glad to finish a bit earlier. Anyway a great possibility online learning - this was my first experiance. Thank you.

By Heba S

May 2, 2021

Actually, the course is very interesting and informative; it serves the key elements for starting your career. Also, the teachers are very friendly, enthusiasm and perfect. Literally, I got the most from this course, and I recommend it for who loves to develop their career life.

By Amina G

May 4, 2020

This course helps us how to write Resume in proper way,and how to talk with people when we meet other peoples specially in gatherings /meetings.Learn about Verbs,past present and perfect tense.Lots of learning in Day to day life,got confidence.Thanks for everything.

By Ramón G G

Mar 24, 2019

I have learned so much, about how to develop a resumen, cover letter... in USA, it is very similar in my country, and is very interesting the using media to let you know. Personaly, I wanted to learn English and above all listening to undestand beter.

By André L B d F

May 5, 2020

A good course for people without professional experience or few years of experience. For experient workers is a perfect opportunity to practice english, if you are an experient worker with advanced level in english, the course could be a little weak.

By Syed S

May 22, 2021

the course good , the instructors were much talented and always clear with their words and their way of convey is better and easy to understand.This course literally increased my confidence level. I will surely recommend this course to job seekers.

By Naomi H

May 30, 2021

This course is for job seekers and also people who feel necessity to review their job experience. Though I am not a native speaker, two instructors leads me politely and kindly so I got a lot of knowledge and realization. Thank you very much.

By Kawaiisquishy • 9 y a

Oct 26, 2016

This course give me a lot of information about how to make beter resume, also teach me to learn about how to show our skill. Nice and thank you for Brian and Turner , you are great teacher. Thank you to AE and University of Pennsylvania.

By Sandeep K

Feb 18, 2021

why are you asking for buying certificate if course is free ? certificate is more impotent than skill ? i won't buy the certificate this would totally disappointed me

apart from that the course is good and very supportive for career.

By Luis E

May 3, 2021

This is a practical course, I'd like to recommend this.Especially for people who want to improve in personal skills, language skills and your career development of course,

Thanks a lot to teachers for this good experience !

By Ashlee E

Jul 29, 2021

This course is super interesting, apart from that it helps you a lot with your learning about the language, grammar and other things, you can see that it is very easy to understand and good to want to continue studying.

By Kerin P

Jun 28, 2020

This course is crucial for anyone who wishes to seek employment in the US. I learned to design my resume and cover letter in accordance with the job description. This course also covered job interview do's and don'ts.

By Sujan A

May 5, 2020

I became very excited that i learned . It is very useful course for those peoples who have English is a second language. I hope it will change our career. I would like to recommend to join and get the full advantage.

By Arti r

May 21, 2020

It is a beneficial course for people who are new to job search and wanted to make a good impression through a resume. It gives all information from where to look for job to how to apply and interview for the job.

By José A B G

Sep 17, 2021

The course is very interesting, since through it you learn to make your resume, the cover letter, the elevator speech and to prepare the interviews. The only downside is that the level of English is a bit low.

By Priya R

Apr 13, 2021

i am so proud that i have completed this course and also wants to thanks the teachersss and coursera that i am able to know such a wast information about the interviewing and how to make the interveiw look good

By Amal S

Dec 13, 2018

It is a n excellent courese . It gives us the ability to write an outstanding resume and cover letter . This course paved the way for us to achieve the career we applied in , and be one of the best candidates .

By Osaweze O

Jun 12, 2020

It was quite an exception course, so many learnings along the five weeks. I took so many things for granted interms of writing a resume and a cover letter. Special thanks to the intrustors for opening my mind.