Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,786 ratings
4,198 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

KA
May 3, 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

R
Jul 20, 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 4,193 Reviews for English for Career Development

By Zuhran A

Nov 9, 2020

It was such a woderful experience having this course. This course is full of knowledge for professional development. I learned a lot and I'm sure that this knowledge will help me a lot in future. Lastly a huge thanks to both instructors. Cheers🎉

By Gautam J

Aug 29, 2020

Thanks to Coursera team

And provide me best opportunity to learn English skill

In this course I learnt Resume writing, cover letter writing, Networking elevator speech writing , Interviewing and Entering the job market.

Again Ithank to Coursera team

By Deleted A

Jul 20, 2020

English for Career Development is a well organized career development course. I would recommend this course to everyone, including those, who have completed their education in the English medium and also to those, who are good at learning English.

By LOTIS M S P

Nov 24, 2016

This course has taught me very well about developing my career skills. I highly encourage everyone to also take this course and learn what I've learned. To my teachers and classmates, thank you so much. I couldn't have done this without your help.

By Vanessa D H

Oct 2, 2021

This was a very good course fpr me to fresh my skills and learn to write a resume in a professional way and learn what questions to ask doing a interview. Which sometimes I get nerves when I do them. Thank you for all you have put in this course.

By Jair L S C

Sep 2, 2021

Dear Coursera

Thank you so much to let me took this course, I really feel excited for improving my english skills. I hope use all the tools that you taught us.

Sincerely

Jair Salazar

Post: I'll send some resumes to try find job in the United States.

By Nasik A

May 22, 2020

A must attend course ever on coursera. It covers almost all essentials of job related credentials. no matter at what level you are, you should join and go through it. Because it covers a vast area of job related learning. Found it very effective.

By Katarzyna Z

Mar 28, 2021

I like this course. I learned a lot of ne world in English language. I could also write professional resume and cover letter. This course is perfect for people who looking job or want change job - a lot advisory how to prepared do job interview.

By Areej M H A

Aug 8, 2020

Very good course and useful i learned how to search for job and how to write resume and cover latter to the interviewer and how to prepar to the interview and this course given me more vocablery about job terminology and give me more confidanc.

By JANE K

Mar 13, 2020

I learned a lot and acquired great knowledge

it was a nice experience to do this course English for Career Development

I have more knowledge, wisdom, and understanding than before

great instructors throughout the course.

it was a nice experience

By عبدالله ا

Mar 16, 2017

I will post about this course in social media and send it to my friends and people like me who are interested in this course and many courses in cousrea and i know that most people will accept my idea and love to get Certificates from coursera.

By Abhinandan B

Jul 30, 2020

Thanks a lot maam and sir really it was a great lesson to study. i have learned a lot regarding job seekers , hoe they can upgrade themselves while finding jobs , hoe they can write coverletter and resumes

to express their skils and many more

By Adam

Jun 7, 2017

Hello I'm Adam Ben Yousef from Libya I'd like to thank you all for everything you did for me and helping me it was very helpful from me and my family now I have finding good job using everything I have learned from this course.

Thank You again

By Monica K F

Aug 8, 2021

the explanation is very easy to understand and provides a lot of new knowledge and experience on how to develop a carrierthe explanation is very easy to understand and provides a lot of new knowledge and experience on how to develop a carrier

By Ricardo C L

Aug 12, 2020

Thanks to all of you!

It is the first time I have completed an online course. I appreciate the way coursera delivers the course and the motivation of the instructors. This week I will take another English course

Once again, thank you very much!

By Jagat B S

Apr 8, 2020

I really get a quality information from this course and recommend for everyone who's searching for a job. This course helps for the job seeker in writing a quality resume and an awesome cover letter. This course provide important information.

By Gabino C

Apr 4, 2018

This course is very help full, due to it is focused on Process Development for some one who is looking for a New Job. All the videos and explanations are very clear and understandable.

Thanks to Robyn and Brian by their dedication and effort.

By Lygia C

Jul 1, 2020

The course English for Career Development is excellent. I think the teachers were very helpful, I understood the exercises and I could share my work experience with other students. Thanks for the opportunity to join the course. Best, Lygia H

By Marcus V R O

Jun 9, 2020

Very good, great learning, good to navigate, good instructors, excellent videos, reports that were presented.

Very good tests, ways to evaluate, evaluate colleagues and receive their evaluation. Very well programmed and prepared this course.

By Naomi D

May 14, 2020

Cours très intéressant qui m'a permis de comprendre comment se mettre sur le marché de l'emploi américain. Cela est très diffèrant du marché de l'emploi français. Pour tout ceux qui aimeraient postuler aux US je vous recommande cette leçon !

By MATHEWS A E

Apr 22, 2020

It has been a rare opportunity undertaking an online English for Career Development Course at the University of Pennsylvania. A lot of skills have been impacted on me through tutorials. I thank my teachers, Mr. Brian and colleague. Thank you

By Jaco v H

May 30, 2020

I really enjoyed going through the modules. I think it would help my career if I would have being issued with a certificate of completion as evidence. I cannot afford payment for the course. I enrolled because it was pitch as a free course.

By Jovana L

May 3, 2020

The course is very well designed, the instructors are clear, fun, and engaging. The animations add up to keeping the student interested while simultaneously explaining facts that will hardly be forgotten after such presentation. I loved it!

By Bini S

Sep 29, 2020

Hello everyone,

Good morning I have just successfully completed this course but I would love to have my certificate could anyone help me to get my certificate please.

Thank you so much for this great opportunity.

Best Regards

Bini Shrestha

By Pooja

May 18, 2020

This course is so wonderful . I have learned so many things from this course like how to write a resume and cover letter and also I have learned that how we should prepare for an interview thank you so much for organizing this course🙂😇