Chevron Left
Back to The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Truth About Cats and Dogs by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
2,183 ratings

About the Course

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

UK

Apr 25, 2020

Very useful,many new insights about cats and allowing me to get rid of many wrong and overcome ideas about dogs! Interesting and gripping, almost effortless for me because of the fun I had! Thanks!

HR

Mar 26, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 610 Reviews for The Truth About Cats and Dogs

By Verna K

Dec 14, 2020

This course was excellent! It contained a plethora of current information, research-based, about the dogs and cats that have been part of my household for decades. The professors and other presenters explained well -- clearly in a straightforward way. I feel better-equipped, now, to take care of our animals appropriately.

By Alyssa A

Nov 7, 2020

This course took only a few days to complete and was a great use of my time! I came to learn more about our feline friends but learnt a lot more about dogs than I had expected and intended on learning. I greatly recommend this course for all animal lovers, whether you have a pet, intend on getting one, or just love animals.

By Hanna B

Mar 25, 2018

That was my first completed online course. It was extremely useful, thank you! Now there are more rational things rather than intuitive. I started to understand my friends better. It is sad that I can't improve everything, but this course gave me lots of practical information that can and should be applied. Thanks again!

By Zeljka T

Feb 15, 2018

I would heartily recommend this course to any person who loves animals, owns them or wants to own them. It will give you a deep insight into the cat and the dog behaviour. It will instruct you wisely about pet owner's responsibilities, all in the effort to provide a better quality of life to a pet and an owner likewise.

By Jessie

Jul 12, 2017

Although the course was mostly review for me, I found it very easy to follow and understand. It provided a lot of internet links to awesome information. If you are thinking about taking this course, whether you are a seasoned professional or green to the industry, it is a good informative course to take. Thank you!

By Loreta M

May 16, 2018

A brilliant course! Full of useful information - some already known and some new. The course talks a lot about our perception of our pets - dogs and cats, and gives us more understanding of what they're really about. Cat and dog natural behavior and welfare needs are discussed in more detail. Definitely recommend!

By Shelamay M

Nov 16, 2020

My favorite course of all time! I learned so much from all of you! I'm a dog lover and here I am thinking I already know everything, but you proved me wrong. It's an amazing course to take for all animal care practitioners and pet lovers like myself. Thank you, University of Edinburgh for this opportunity!

By Kathryn T

Jun 14, 2020

I have utterly enjoyed the course and have learnt so much from the instructors. The course also corrected certain notions I had about the animals, most significantly that there is no "alpha dog". So much of what is being shared by the instructors, the trainers etc. make a lot of sense. Thank you so much!

By Trịnh T N H

Aug 5, 2021

I am really grateful for the course and the veterinary doctors and nurses who taught and shared very useful knowledge about dogs and cats. After the course I had a more in-depth look at the behavior of dogs and cats, I hope to become a good veterinarian in the future.

Thank you very much !

_Ashley Trinh_

By Aygul Y

Jan 27, 2018

I think anyone who is a pet owner should complete this mooc. It will help anyone to be a better friend and a more responsible owner to your cat or dog. It will help you built a better and healthier relationshis with your pet. I highly recomend this course to those who have or considering to have a pet.

By Fabian R

Aug 19, 2020

This is an exceptional course, especially for those who are wondering whether they have been treating their pets well or not. There are some Mythbusters inside and additional tips of taking care of your pets in several conditions which will bring significant understanding towards your pets' behavior.

By Marianne T

Aug 13, 2017

Without a doubt, a course for anyone with a cat and / or dog. Very professional, understandable, motivational and educational. One of the many rewards you get is a better friendship. Another better health. A third you will feel that you can communicate, understand, help and even learn from your pet.

By chryssa m

Aug 6, 2020

Thanks for this very useful and interesting course. I am happy about what I have learned and sorry for learning all this so late. I hope I will correct certain things regarding correctly handling my puppy and kitten, I would like to believe my love and care can compensate for some misconceptions.

By Divya N

Mar 25, 2018

This course is a must for anyone who has pets , planning to adopt or would like to just enhance their knowledge of dogs and cats. I have learnt so much from every week and would highly recommend this to friends and family. From the course content to the teachers , learning was an absolute joy !

By Natalia M M C

Jul 7, 2017

I think the course improved my knowledge about the pets, not only about the behavior, I learned about de signs of my cats.

The course is well designed but I think the part of " ask to the expert" had a long durection, this part will can be divided in small fragments.

Thank you for this course.

By Rijita M

Nov 8, 2020

This is an essential course for all animal behaviorists, vets as well as pet owners. As a researcher in the field of human and animal dyad, I found this course very informative and would like to give my hearty thanks to Coursera and the wonder faculty from the University of Edinburgh

By Nat M

Feb 12, 2021

Excellent course, it has increased my understanding of cat and dog behaviour, I have learnt new ideas on meeting my pets needs and the it raised ethical questions on how modern cats and dogs are bred and the ramifications/impacts on their welfare that should be discussed more often.

By Nicola J

Jun 2, 2019

A hugely enjoyable and informative course for anyone that owns a cat or dog, or is thinking of getting one. Even though I have been a pet owner for decades, I learnt many new things that will help me understand my pets even better. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

By Bellah N

Jun 14, 2018

I was mainly a dog person and I am glad I'm starting understand cats more. I didn't know many things in cat's area which was confusing for both sides. I am giving 5 stars because I can easily use everything what was said here and apply it in every day encounters with feline friends.

By Lisa W

Jun 24, 2020

Loved it! Who doesn't love a good video!? Wide variety of material, easy to follow short videos and reading blocks. Instant note saver - great for not having to write everything out and quiz reviews. Presented by professional, knowlegeable, experienced, genuine and likable people.

By Laura D

Sep 21, 2022

This is a grrat course and learnt so much and had me made me so much more obervant about what my pet is telling me. And the great importance of the proper socialisation & training is and ensuring all the five welfare needs are met so my pet can lesd a happy and fulfilling life

By Alison W

May 5, 2020

A great course! Very interesting and informative about both cat and dog behaviour. I have learnt a lot about how my dog thinks and behaves which in tern will make me a much better owner.

I would recommend it for any cat or dog lover who would like to understand their pet better.

By Chiara A

Jun 18, 2020

Full of interesting information, lots of videos where you actually get to see what the instructors are talking about, useful information for pet owners or those thinking of getting a pet. Overall, a very interesting and engaging course for those interested in animal behavior.

By Jodie L K

Mar 12, 2018

What a wonderful way to learn about caring well for your cat or dog! This simple course is packed FULL of useful information. I was able to take this information and run with it - making use of it immediately. I will recommend this course to everyone who has a cat or dog!

By Ratanon H

Apr 18, 2020

The course is fun to learn and has many facts about cats and dogs, what they need, what human expect them to be, common behavioral problem problems, root of the problems and how to manage it. And the quiz here is quite comphrehensive and catch up in the must-know contents.