Chevron Left
Back to The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Truth About Cats and Dogs by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
1,605 ratings
460 reviews

About the Course

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

HR
Mar 26, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

LD
Apr 5, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 456 Reviews for The Truth About Cats and Dogs

By Dagmar K ( n B )

Jun 14, 2018

I was mainly a dog person and I am glad I'm starting understand cats more. I didn't know many things in cat's area which was confusing for both sides. I am giving 5 stars because I can easily use everything what was said here and apply it in every day encounters with feline friends.

By Lisa W

Jun 24, 2020

Loved it! Who doesn't love a good video!? Wide variety of material, easy to follow short videos and reading blocks. Instant note saver - great for not having to write everything out and quiz reviews. Presented by professional, knowlegeable, experienced, genuine and likable people.

By Alison W

May 5, 2020

A great course! Very interesting and informative about both cat and dog behaviour. I have learnt a lot about how my dog thinks and behaves which in tern will make me a much better owner.

I would recommend it for any cat or dog lover who would like to understand their pet better.

By Chiara A

Jun 18, 2020

Full of interesting information, lots of videos where you actually get to see what the instructors are talking about, useful information for pet owners or those thinking of getting a pet. Overall, a very interesting and engaging course for those interested in animal behavior.

By Jodie L K

Mar 12, 2018

What a wonderful way to learn about caring well for your cat or dog! This simple course is packed FULL of useful information. I was able to take this information and run with it - making use of it immediately. I will recommend this course to everyone who has a cat or dog!

By Ratanon H

Apr 18, 2020

The course is fun to learn and has many facts about cats and dogs, what they need, what human expect them to be, common behavioral problem problems, root of the problems and how to manage it. And the quiz here is quite comphrehensive and catch up in the must-know contents.

By ADRIENNE H

Aug 9, 2020

This is my second University of Edinburgh MOOC through Coursera and like the first it was excellent. I really enjoyed it and learned so much. I was astounded by the plight of the metro dogs and the survival techniques they had learned. Congratulations to all involved.

By Jennifer S

Jul 19, 2017

Very insightful, especially the myths of the alpha dog theory. The lecturers were very engaging as well as the videos where we see examples and reinforces what you learn before taking the assessments. The resources were also really interesting and I checked out a few.

By Sarah C R

May 31, 2018

Very interesting course with a lot of great insight into the world of our pet cats and dogs, and well as street cats and dogs that we should be responsible for within our communities. This is a great foundation class for anyone who owns or wants to own a pet.

By Marco M

Aug 17, 2020

Really enjoyable mook, rich in notions and clarifying explanations of many common challenges and myths about cats and dogs. I truly recommend it to anyone who wants to broaden their way of thinking and bring his/her relationship with their pet to next level.

By AMEER H

Apr 30, 2020

awesome learning course to know about canine and feline behavior. Before this course, I don't know anything about how to entertain a pet but after completing this course I have that much knowledge that I can easily understood the dog or cat body language.

By Ya H C L

Mar 24, 2019

I have great time while watching all the videos with very cute dogs / cats there, and surely i had 5 cats before, they were family, but i didn't know we should give each one food container and even spread apart, so now I learn and really very informative!

By Emily L R

May 25, 2020

really enjoyed this course, found out somethings I didn't know. this would be such a useful resource for someone thinking of getting a cat or dog as it provides the basic information on care and up to date research on the animals cognition and behaviour

By Gabriela M

May 30, 2020

Es un curso excelente que te da una visión bastante amplia para lo poco que dura sobre cómo podemos ser mejores humanos para nuestros perros y gatos y qué comportamientos y medidas podemos adoptar para mejorar la calidad de vida humana-canina-felina.

By LaTonia W

Jul 15, 2019

This was a great course full of valuable information about cats and dogs. It includes lots of truth dispelling the myths about them. I'd recommend this course to anyone wanting to know more about these creatures we chose as our companion animals.

By Sophie P K

May 28, 2018

I loved The Truth About Cats and Dogs and I want to take this course again sometime! It was a very inspiring course and I can say my dog will now love my company! I highly recommend this course to people who want to improve their pets' welfare!

By Mrs L B

May 12, 2020

I found this course was really helpful in reinforcing some of the knowledge I already have but also I have learnt so much more. I would definitely recommend this course for anyone who is working with animals or looking to work with animals.

By Lucia G

Dec 1, 2019

It is really helpful to learn and understand our dogs and cats physical and emotional needs, which often are different from ours, and understand their verbal and non verbal communication to build a healthy and happy relationship with them.

By Lyliah H

Jun 28, 2020

This was a very enjoyable MOOC. It was easy to understand and very engaging. I have had animals my entire life and I still learned a number of things. If this group was to do another MOOC I would certainly take it. Thank you to all.

By Cheryl H

Aug 11, 2017

Really great course! I learned a lot and I feel like a lot of what I have learned can be used in my career. It was great to hear everything put into a clear and understandable way and the additional resources/websites were very helpful!

By Vanessa M C

Oct 8, 2019

Excellent introductory course to learn more about ethology and continue learning. Updated, practical and very, very interesting, that has refreshed my previous knowledge and added others that I did not know (I love the acronym PETS!)

By Tony S

Nov 27, 2017

Very well structured and easy to follow with key issues consistently emphasised and opportunities for discussion. Quiz assessments were a great way of checking understanding of the materaisl and videos were clear and well presented.

By Daniela A C L

Apr 29, 2020

I really had a good time learning dogs and cats. This course helps me to understand more my pet. I totally recommend to you. Also, I like that in this course they teach you to be more aware of your pets and with animals in general!

By Patricia J

Apr 24, 2020

Loved the course, lots of beneficial info from experts. Learned importance of ignoring bad behaviour in dogs. Better understanding of what stresses cats eg other adult cats. Excellent videos and would love to do more about animals.

By Muhammad F A

Aug 25, 2019

This course helped me acquire a basic understanding of cat and dog behaviour, a topic I'm very interested in exploring. Thanks to all the instructors who put in their effort to deliver this course. It was easy and interesting both.