Chevron Left
Back to The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Truth About Cats and Dogs by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
1,477 ratings
427 reviews

About the Course

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

JJ

May 02, 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 422 Reviews for The Truth About Cats and Dogs

By Pimpimon M

Jun 21, 2020

This course help me to understand their behaviors, nature of cats and dogs. direct me to take care my pet right way.

By Alexandra

May 21, 2020

A lot of useful information to people who’d like to make their pet’s life better, to understand their pet’s behavior.

By Napamon N

May 06, 2020

Thank you for making this wonderful course! This course provides me lots of useful information for being a pet owner.

By Bishwaksen B

Feb 01, 2018

Loving this course, getting to know so much about our best friends, their wants, needs, behaviours and DOs and Don'ts

By Bára K

Jun 24, 2017

An informative and fun course. Take this course if you're a pet owner, even if you think you already know everything.

By Piper H

Jun 22, 2017

The course was very informative and helpful, and I believe it will improve my relationship with the pets around me.

By Stefanía P M

Aug 14, 2020

love it! it´s very full of knowledge and it really teaches us how to understand and take a better care of our pets

By S E

Jun 29, 2020

An excellent, well structured, very informative and totally engaging MOOC. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

By Charlotte H

Apr 28, 2020

Very informative, factual and relates well to pet owners and their animals in this day and age. Enjoyed very much.

By Serena F

Jul 30, 2020

Muy bueno, aunque sería ideal un curso para hablar de las técnicas para reducir la sobrepoblación canina y felina

By RASHED S M M A

Jun 21, 2020

دوره ممتازة جدا لمحبين تربية الحيوانات القطط و الكلاب تزيدهم معرفه اكثر عن حيواناتهم الأليفة و كيفية الاعتناء بها

By Ruby B

Jul 03, 2020

Really interesting and enjoyable course that was engaging and well-structured, with useful additional resources

By karen l b r

May 17, 2020

muy buen curso, abre los ojos sobre como debemos tratar a nuestras mascotas y como entender sus comportamientos

By Patricia A W

Sep 22, 2017

Thank you very much, very well organize and also helpfull information. Continue doing it...more courses please

By akbara

Aug 28, 2017

Great MOOC for pet lovers and professional. As a dog/cat behavior consultant, I find this course highly useful.

By Sally A

Feb 26, 2019

Useful overview of dog and cat communication, of their lifetime needs and rationale for reward based training.

By William A

May 03, 2019

Really great stuff, valuable material to scientifically support what 'gentle-trainers' have known all along!

By Natashia J

Sep 11, 2017

It's an excellent course! Packed full of great information. Outline and format of course is very well done.

By Aradhya B

Jul 07, 2020

This was really useful I learned a lot, I also could make connections with my cat after doing this course.

By Cortés F d A N

May 16, 2020

I like this course and I hope you have many more, I would love a training based on the behavior of the dog

By Malekith D

Jun 19, 2017

An excellent course, well-fitted for those who take animal wellfare and care close to heart, thank you!

By Deanna K H

Aug 08, 2017

This course gave me much insight into my cats and dogs in my life, and I thought I knew a lot already!

By Carrie D V

Jan 09, 2019

I have a greater appreciation for dogs and what we as humans mean to them and what they mean to us.

By MR. P J

Jun 16, 2020

very good information and knowledge is gained and you will come to know very much about your pet.

By Victoria F

May 27, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I found it interesting how we can impact the behaviors of our pets.